How long a speeding ticket stays on your record depends on how much you were going over the speed limit and where you live.

Keep in mind, the driving or motor vehicle record your state keeps track of is different from your car insurance record. So, a speeding ticket might stay on your state’s driver record for up to or over three years, but your insurance company may not penalize you for it during that time — especially if it’s your first offense.

In this article, you’ll also find answers to these questions:

How long does a speeding ticket affect your driving record?

A speeding ticket usually stays on your record for three to five years. Most states have a penalty system that assigns demerits to drivers for traffic violations. Every state differs in the amount of points assigned for each violation.

Your car insurance rates are affected as long as a ticket is on your record; that is, if they affect your rates at all. If you’ve been driving for a long time and you have a good driving history, your insurance rates may not go up at all after a first speeding ticket or citation. If a speeding ticket does cause your insurance rates to increase, expect the increase to be highest during the first year.

When do speeding tickets fall off your driving record?

Although some insurance companies will overlook your first speeding ticket, your state will not.

Most states add one to 11 driver’s license points — sometimes called demerit points — to your record if you’re caught going over the posted speed limit, even if it’s your first offense. The number of points added to your state driving record and how long those points stay there often depends on where you live and how far over the speed limit you were driving when you were caught.

State How long a speeding ticket stays on your driving record
Alabama 2 years
Alaska 1 year
Arizona 1 year
Arkansas 3 years
California 3 years
Colorado Permanent
Connecticut 3 years
Delaware 2 years
District of Columbia 2 years
Florida 5 years
Georgia 2 years
Hawaii 10 years
Idaho 3 years
Illinois Up to 5 years
Indiana 2 years
Iowa 5 years
Kansas 3 years
Kentucky 5 years
Louisiana 3 years
Maine 1 year
Maryland 3 years
Massachusetts 6 years
Michigan 7 years
Minnesota 5 to 10 years
Mississippi 1 year
Missouri 3 years
Montana 3 years
Nebraska 5 years
Nevada 1 year
New Hampshire 3 years
New Jersey 5 years
New Mexico 1 year
New York 1.5 years
North Carolina 3 years
North Dakota 3 years
Ohio 2 years
Oklahoma Up to 3 years
Oregon 2 years
Pennsylvania 1 year
Rhode Island 3 years
South Carolina 2 years
Tennessee 2 years
Texas 3 years
Utah 3 years
Vermont 2 years
Virginia 5 years
Washington 5 years
West Virginia 5 years
Wisconsin 5 years
Wyoming 1 year
Note: Average rates are based on non-binding estimates provided by Quadrant Information Services. Your rates may vary.

So, if you live in California, the state will add just one point to your driving record after you get a speeding ticket. That point stays on your record for 39 months — or three years and three months.

In Nevada, however, you’ll have between one and five points added to your record after a speeding ticket. You get one point if you’re caught driving up to 10 miles per hour over the posted limit, two points if you’re caught driving 11 to 20 miles per hour over the limit and so on.

New York’s driver point system is similar to Nevada’s, though the lowest number of points you get for speeding in New York is three, and the most is 11. Regardless, those points stay on your record for 18 months.

And in Virginia, you get three points added to your record or license if you’re caught driving up to nine miles per hour over the posted limit. You get four points if you drive 10 to 19 miles per hour over the limit and six points if you drive 20 miles per hour or more over the limit.

Something to keep in mind: The length of time a speeding ticket stays on your state driver record isn’t always the same as the length of time points stay on your record.

How much does insurance increase after a speeding ticket?

Speeding tickets can increase your insurance premiums for the duration they're on your record. This means that if your rates increase after receiving a ticket, you can see the financial effects lasting for the three to five years it stays on your record.

Your car insurance rates could go up as much as 95% after getting a speeding ticket, according to our research. This makes it imperative to compare rates from multiple companies.

Compare Auto Insurance Rates

See how much you could save with a new policy

Car insurance rate increases after a single speeding ticket

Coverage Rate Before Rate After Percentage Increase
Erie $1,300 $1,425 10
USAA $1,256 $1,539 23
State Farm $1,549 $1,698 10
Farm Bureau $1,835 $2,194 20
Mid-Century $1,960 $2,604 33
American Family $1,832 $2,210 21
Progressive $1,981 $2,574 30
Note: Average rates are based on non-binding estimates provided by Quadrant Information Services. Your rates may vary.

How to get a speeding ticket off your record

There are a couple of things you can do besides wait a year or more for a speeding ticket to drop off your driving record:

  • Fight the traffic ticket in court, especially if it’s your first one.
  • Take a defensive driving course. Some states will drop or reduce your driver’s license points if you complete one of these classes. It might help you save money on car insurance, too.

Although these tactics may not clear your motor vehicle record completely, they could help.

No matter what, make sure you don’t get a second ticket for speeding or another moving violation in the near future. If you do, both your state and your insurance company may hit you with even harsher penalties than the ones discussed here.

References: LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.