On average, your neighbors pay $60 a month.See Your Rates
Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and governmental sources you can use to have the lowest car insurance rates between Mobile and Huntsville.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Alabama, inform you about important insurance laws, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and some insights about insurance risk in Alabama to help protect you and your family.
How much does car insurance cost in Alabama? Depending on where you live, many Alabama drivers pay far less for car insurance than the national average. On average, auto insurance in Alabama costs $722.89 a year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your driving record, zip code and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$722.89|
|Price Per Month||$60.24|
The graph below shows the change in average Alabama insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Alabama car insurance rates increased from $653 in 2011 to $695 in 2015, a jump of $69 dollars, or 10.64 percent.
Finding the right car insurance in Alabama for your needs and budget doesn’t have to be stressful. Then again, you want to make sure the company you choose is the right fit, and that means comparing car insurance rates!
Comparing auto quotes can be time-consuming. With a little help from QuoteWizard, you’ll have a policy in no time. We’ll connect you with top auto insurance companies so you can find the best coverage at the best price.
Last year, 62,639 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Alabama from multiple companies.
This is our list of the 10 most common vehicles owned by Alabama drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Alabama last year. Out of the 62,639 Alabama drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 7,980 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Alabama, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/25.
This means your insurance policy must have at least the following coverages:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above coverage. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Alabama, you must be prepared to show your proof of insurance card to law enforcement upon request. You’ll get this card from your insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor.
Operating a vehicle without the required coverage is subject to a Class C misdemeanor which carries a fine of $500 for the first conviction and $1000 and/or suspension of the driver’s license for up to 6 months for each subsequent conviction.
Alabama residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
In Alabama, the minimum amount required to prove financial responsibility is:
Alabama State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for a minimum of 36 consecutive months but could be required for up to 5 years. If a driver fails to renew their policy before expiration, a letter is sent to the state which could result in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
To combat rising numbers of distracted drivers on state roadways, Alabama has enacted legislation to protect its residents. This law makes it illegal to write, send, or read text messages when operating a motor vehicle. If a police officer sees you texting while driving, they can pull you over and ticket you $25 for the first violation, $50 for the second, and $75 for the third or subsequent violations. New drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 who have learner’s permits or have had intermediate driver’s licenses for less than 6 months, may not use cell phones or hands-free technology at all except in an emergency. Experienced Alabama drivers with full driver's licenses are only restricted from texting while driving and are allowed to use cell phones to make and receive phone calls while driving.
Alabama’s Implied Consent law requires that all drivers submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Alabama with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a fourth or subsequent DUI conviction within 5 years are - Class C Felony (§32-5A-191):
In addition to the above penalties, you can be sure your car insurance rates will skyrocket if you can find someone willing to insure you.
Alabama requires that children less than 1-year old or weighing less than 20 pounds must be restrained in rear-facing infant seats. Children between the ages of 1 and 4 or who weigh between 20 and 40 pounds are required to be restrained in front-facing safety seats. Children between the ages of 5 and 6 are required to use booster seats while riding in motor vehicles. All other children are required to use seat belts or other safety harnesses. The minimum penalty for failing to properly restrain children is $25 per child.
No driver should be behind the wheel without a solid foundation and thorough understanding of the rules of the road, which is why Alabama requires all drivers to go through a testing process to procure their licenses. New drivers must be 15 years old to get a six month learners permit. Young drivers are required to drive at least 50 hours while under supervision. Intermediate drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 can’t drive alone between the hours of 12 am and 6 am unless:
For the first six months after being issued a driver’s license, new drivers can’t have more than one non-family member under the age of 21 in the vehicle. New drivers are also prohibited from using non-essential handheld communication devices. If they have passed their driving test, teens will receive full driving privileges on their 17th birthday.
Violations will result in an extension of the graduated license period and possible suspension of the license.
Alabama has no special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their driver's license every 4 years.
Alabama requires the use of seat belts for all passengers riding in the front seat of motor vehicles. Passengers riding in the back seat of moving vehicles are not required to wear seat belts unless they are 15 years old or younger. The maximum fine for seat belt violations is $25.
In 2012, 59% of the people who died in car accidents on Alabama roadways were not wearing seatbelts.
When you drive a vehicle in Alabama that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Alabama in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $722.89 compared to a national average of $889.01 Alabama is ranked the 37th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Alabama taxes gasoline at 20.87 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Alabama can expect to pay a total of 39.27 cents per gallon at the gas station. Alabama taxes diesel fuel at 21.85 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Alabamians will pay 46.25 cents per gallon in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2012 it was estimated that 19.6% of drivers on Alabama roads had no car insurance. This number is far above the national average of 12.6% and ranks Alabama 7th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2013, there were 852 traffic fatalities in Alabama, a 1% decrease from the state’s 865 traffic fatalities in 2012.
|Year||Total Crashes||Total Injuries||Total Fatalities|
Walking outside and seeing your car gone is every driver's worst nightmare. In 2014, 10,141 vehicles were reported stolen, down from 10,563 in 2013. With the national average sitting at 216 thefts per 100,000 cars, Alabama is almost equal to that average with 209 thefts per 100,000 cars on record. Be sure to lock your doors and keep any valuables out of sight so you don’t give any passing criminals an incentive to act.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at an above average risk of being stolen.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|1||14.6%||ALFA Insurance Group|
|7||3.5%||Farmers Insurance Group|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.