On average, your neighbors pay $71 a month.See Your Rates
The elevation in Colorado is high, but your insurance rates don’t have to be. This useful insurance information can help Coloradans find the best car insurance rates.
Find out how your rates stack up, how to get better rates, and more.
How much is car insurance in Colorado? On average, insurance in Colorado costs $857.44 per year. The national average annual cost is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on policy limits, coverage, and local claim rates. On average, Coloradans pay a bit less for car insurance than most Americans.
|Total Cost Per Year||$857.44|
|Price Per Month||$71.45|
The graph below shows the change in Colorado's average auto insurance rate from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Colorado car insurance rates increased from $728 in 2011 to $855 in 2015, a jump of $127, or 17.45 percent.
Looking for car insurance in Colorado with the best coverage for an affordable rate? Shop around. Compare rates from a number of insurance companies.
QuoteWizard can help. We’ll connect you to top auto insurance companies. You can find a great policy without breaking the bank.
Last year, 42,046 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Colorado from multiple companies.
These are the most common cars owned by Colorado-based QuoteWizard users:
These are the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users in Colorado. Out of the 42,046 Coloradans that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 5,056 had no car insurance.
What company suits your needs best? You can study them side by side on our compare page. We've compiled guidelines for the 30 biggest insurance companies in America. Getting educated is the first step to getting the right policy.
Are you a Colorado resident in search of high-risk insurance? You can find coverage through the Colorado Motor Vehicle Insurance Plan (CO AIP). This is a state-sponsored plan that helps high-risk drivers get a policy.
CO AIP requires insurance companies to cover a set amount of high-risk drivers. Insurers must cover a percentage of high-risk drivers that is equal to their market sure. So, for example, if GEICO covers 10 percent of all Colorado drivers, they must also cover 10 percent of the state's high-risk drivers.
Insurers may balk at covering high-risk drivers because it can cost them money. But Colorado's approach means the risk of covering such drivers is shared by every company. It also means that Coloradans can usually buy high-risk insurance from any company, rather than a high-risk insurer.
With that in mind, these companies offer high-risk insurance policies:
Colorado was the first state to formally authorize rideshare companies. That legislation includes insurance requirements. Under state law, drivers must have minimum liability coverage while working for Uber or Lyft.
Uber and Lyft cover drivers when they have a passenger in the car. But when drivers are en route to a passenger, they aren't covered by Uber or Lyft's insurance. Since they're technically working, their personal insurance policy probably won't cover them, either. That leaves rideshare drivers unprotected during part of their day.
That's where rideshare insurance comes in. It bridges the gap between personal insurance and Uber and Lyft's company insurance. And fortunately, it's pretty cheap.
These companies offer rideshare insurance in Colorado:
|Allstate||$20 / Year|
|Farmers||$15 / month|
|GEICO||$13 / month|
|American Family||$23 / month|
|Metlife||Cost Per Mile|
|State Farm||$20 / Month|
|USAA||$6 / Month|
|Safeco||$10 / Month|
|Travelers||Get A Quote|
|Cost/Rates: "The rates displayed are estimated costs. Drivers rates can vary based on location, driving record and vehicle"|
Teenage drivers pay the highest insurance rates of any age group. Why? Simply put, they make mistakes behind the wheel. Between car accidents and citations, teens are a big liability for insurance companies.
Our research shows that teen drivers pay an average of $438 a month for an individual policy. That number drops to $278 to add a teen to their parent's policy. Even then, that's a substantial amount.
These insurance companies offer great policies for Colorado teen drivers:
US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance. Those levels vary from state to state. Colorado drivers must follow the 25/50/15 rule with their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include at least:
These coverage levels are required by state law. Remember, you can purchase plans that offer more coverage. If you're financing your car, your lender may require you to add collision and comprehensive coverage.
Though Colorado only requires 25/50/15 coverage, it's not a great idea to have minimum coverage.
While minimum coverage is cheaper in Colorado, it becomes more expensive if you file a claim. Why? Minimum coverage does not include comprehensive or collision coverage. It's easy to exceed minimum coverage levels after an accident. You can end up with substantial out-of-pocket costs if you exceed your coverage.
Minimum coverage pays for damages to other people, their car, and their property. Minimum coverage does not cover you, your injuries, or your property. If you have minimum coverage and you cause an accident, you're on the hook for your expenses.
Collision coverage pays for damages to your car after an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages that don't involve another car. That includes natural disasters, falling tree branches, theft, and vandalism. With Colorado's snowy winters, collision and comprehensive coverage are a good bet.
With that in mind, we recommend that Colorado drivers buy the following coverage:
If you can afford it, buy comprehensive and collision coverage. You should choose a reasonable deductible. Also consider uninsured/underinsured coverage. This covers damages caused by drivers who have little or no insurance. Finally, medical payment coverage and personal injury protection covers medical costs after an accident.
All drivers in Colorado must be prepared have proof of car insurance. Proof of insurance is also required when registering your car. There are many acceptable forms of proof of insurance in Colorado.
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Traffic infractions can cause your insurance rates to rise. In Colorado, penalties for failing to show proof of insurance include adding four points to your license. Getting points on your license correlates with insurance rate hikes.
Colorado residents with driving violations may need an SR-22. What's an SR-22? This document that proves you have liability coverage. It's often required after these charges:
“SR” stands for safety responsibility, and it proves that a driver has the legally required amount of insurance. In Colorado, the minimum amount required for an SR-22 is 25/50/15. An SR-22 requirement almost guarantees an insurance rates raise.
Colorado law requires drivers to maintain an SR-22 for at least 36 months. If a driver fails to renew their policy before expiration, it can lead to a license suspension. An SR-22 is costly and time-consuming.
Distracted driving is increasingly common. According to the NHTSA, 391,000 people were injured due to distracted driving accidents in 2015. In Colorado, it's illegal to text while driving. Citation fees are $56 for the first violation and $106 for the second. These citations go on your driving record. That, in turn, raises your insurance rates.
Colorado drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 may not use cell phones at all except in an emergency. Drivers with full licenses in Colorado can make and receive calls while driving -- but no texting.
This law says that drivers suspected of impaired driving must consent to a blood test. Refuse the test and you’ll face license suspension.
If you drive in Colorado with a BAC of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of DUI. If your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.08%, you can be charged with Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI).
Colorado legalized marijuana in 2012. Police in the state are trained to test drivers for marijuana impairment. If you have five nanograms of THC in your system, you can be charged with a DUI.
The penalties for a first offense DUI or DWAI are:
Punishment increases with each subsequent infraction. In addition to court fines, jail time, and lawyer fees, your insurance rates are going to skyrocket. Our research shows that drivers can expect to pay $830 more per year for car insurance after a DUI.
Car insurance rates often increase around the time drivers turn 65. It's a small increase for drivers with clean records.
Colorado requires drivers to renew their driver's licenses every 10 years. Drivers 61 years of age and older must renew their licenses every 5 years. Drivers 66 years of age and older may no longer renew their licenses online. They must also show proof of a successful vision exam within the last 6 months.
Do you drive a car in Colorado that's registered in another state? If so, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement.
Colorado traffic fatalities have risen by 24 percent since 2014. Colorado's Department of Transportation attributes the spike in driving deaths to a larger trend. This trend has national fatality rates up 8 percent.
Colorado's vehicle theft rate rose by nearly 30 percent from 2014 to 2015. 14,859 car thefts were reported in the state 2015. That amounts to about $88.7 million in losses.
According to the RMIIA, these were the areas in Colorado with the highest car theft rates in 2015:
If you live in one of these areas, you may face higher insurance rates.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others. So be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
According to the NICB 2016 Hot Wheels Report, these are the most commonly stolen cars in Colorado:
According to a 2015 study by the III, 13.3 percent of Colorado drivers were uninsured. That’s the 19th worst percentage in the country. Colorado drivers may face higher rates because of this fact.
The average cost of car insurance in Colorado is $857.44. The national average is $889.01. Colorado is ranked the 18th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of July 2017, Colorado taxes gasoline at 22 cents per gallon. The Federal fuel tax is 18.4 cents per gallon. Coloradans pay 40.4 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill their tanks.
Want cheaper car insurance? There are many auto insurance discounts Colorado drivers can use. Get a quote and find potential discounts.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.