On average, your neighbors pay $56 a month.See Your Rates
Vermont’s name comes from the French words for “green” and “mountain”. We can’t promise that QuoteWizard will save Vermont drivers a mountain of green, but it certainly won’t hurt.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Vermont, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Vermont? Average premiums here are far lower than the national average. On average, the cost of auto insurance in Vermont is $680.18 a year. The national average annual price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your limits, urban conditions, coverage, and zip code.
|Total Annual Cost||$680.18|
|Price Per Month||$56.68|
The graph below shows the change in average Vermont rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Vermont car insurance rates increased from $633 in 2011 to $680 in 2015, a jump of $46 dollars, or 7.37 percent.
Shopping around and comparing auto insurance quotes is important, but who has the time and energy for it? Well, if you use QuoteWizard, you won’t have to worry about time or energy.
That’s because QuoteWizard will connect you to multiple companies that serve Vermont drivers so you can compare car insurance rates and get coverage that fits your needs.
Last year, 3,779 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Vermont from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Vermont drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Vermont. Out of the 3,779 Vermont drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 397 were uninsured.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Vermont, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10 plus uninsured/underinsured coverage. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above coverage. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll probably require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Get a free quote for Vermont minimum coverage car insurance.
Any time you drive in Vermont, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Failure to show valid proof of insurance at an accident or traffic stop will result in a fine, two points on your Vermont driving record, and may result in your license being suspended for up to two years.
Vermont residents that have had their driver’s licenses suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Vermont State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Vermont has banned the use of hand-held cell phones while driving in the state. Drivers ages 18 and up may use a cell phone while driving provided they have a hands-free headset. Drivers under the age of 18 may not use a cell phone while driving at all. All drivers are banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in Vermont.
Vermont’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood or breath when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Vermont with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
Children less than 1-year-old and children weighing less than 20 pounds regardless of age, must be restrained in an approved rear-facing infant car seat, not installed in front of an active air bag. Children between the ages of 1 and 7, and who weigh more than 20 pounds must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 shall be restrained by a vehicle’s seat belt, or by a seat belt and booster seat.
Vermont has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license system beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
New drivers must be at least 15 years old to obtain a learner's permit. New drivers are required to drive for 40 hours under supervision before they can obtain a driver’s license. Ten of those hours must take place at night.
Once those requirements are met, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, and completed an approved driver's education class, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a junior driver's license is issued.
For their first three months of driving after receiving a junior license, drivers cannot have any passengers in their vehicle except for one of the following:
During their second three months of driving, new drivers may not drive with any passengers except for family members. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 16 ½.
Vermont has no special provisions for senior drivers. All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 4 years.
Vermont requires that everyone in a vehicle age 18 or older wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The maximum penalty for failing to comply is $25 for the first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Vermont that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Vermont in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $680.18, well below the national average of $889.01. Vermont is the 42nd most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Vermont taxes gasoline at 30.46 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 32 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on gasoline is 48.86 cents per gallon; the total tax on diesel fuel is 56.4 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 44 traffic fatalities in Vermont, a whopping 36% decrease from the state’s 69 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Vermont had 244 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 27.6% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 38.9 per 100,000, a decrease of 27.6% from the 2013 rate of 53.8 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Vermont is much lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Vermont residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 8.5%. That ranks Vermont as #39 among US states and the District of Columbia, significantly better than the US average of 12.6%.
The Vermont Department of Public Safety maintains a website with vehicle crash data and annual vehicle safety reports here: Vermont Crash Data
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.