On average, your neighbors pay $61 a month.See Your Rates
The motto of the state of Arkansas is "regnat populus", which means “The people rule” in Latin. The people do rule at QuoteWizard. With the useful insurance information that we’ve compiled from industry and government sources, the people can have a better understanding of the factors that influence their car insurance rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Arkansas, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Arkansas? Natural State drivers pay less for car insurance than the national average. On average, auto insurance in Arkansas costs $736.43 a year. The national average cost is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your driving record, zip code, your car, and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$736.43|
|Price Per Month||$61.36|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in average Arkansas insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Arkansas car insurance rates increased from $665 in 2011 to $736 in 2015, a jump of $71 dollars, or 10.66 percent.
Buying car insurance in Arkansas should be easy. Unfortunately, it can be the opposite when you shop for it on your own.
Instead of spending hours researching insurers by yourself, let QuoteWizard lend a helping hand. We’ll connect you to the top car insurance companies in the country so you can compare rates. In the end, you’ll not only save time, but also money!
Last year, 32,210 people used QuoteWizard to get a car insurance quote comparison in Arkansas from top insurance companies to find the best rates.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Arkansas. Out of the 32,210 Arkansas drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 4,280 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Arkansas drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Legally, all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but those levels actually do vary from state to state. In Arkansas drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/25 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include at least the following:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that offer more coverage, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan.
Any time you drive in Arkansas, you must be prepared to show your proof of insurance card to law enforcement upon request. You'll get this card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
Failure to provide valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor.
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) maintains an electronic database to verify a driver’s car insurance status. When you register your vehicle, you must show proof of insurance or you won’t be able to complete the registration until you can prove that you meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements.
The DFA also conducts a monthly check of all registered vehicles to make sure they're insured. If your car is found to be uninsured, you'll be asked to provide proof of insurance.
Operating a vehicle without the required coverage is a traffic infraction punishable by a fine and possible suspension of your vehicle registration.
Arkansas residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to DUI convictions or failure to provide proof of insurance to the police must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility. And it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Arkansas State law requires that an SR-22 be carried 3 years for a first offense. Second offenses require an SR-22 to be carried for 5 years. Each additional offense doubles the length of the previous requirement. A third offense, for example, would require an SR-22 to be carried for 10 years and a fourth offense would extend this requirement to 20 years.
To curb the number of distracted drivers on Arkansas roadways, the state regulates the use of both hands-free and handheld communication devices while operating a motor vehicle.
Arkansas’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or controlled substances.
Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Arkansas with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI/DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI/DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI/DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a fourth offense or subsequent DUI/DWI conviction are:
Another thing you can be sure of is that your car insurance rates will increase significantly, that is, if you can even find someone willing to insure you.
Arkansas requires that children ride in appropriate child safety seats until they're at least 6 years old or weigh at least 60 pounds. All children less than 15 years old must use seat belts whether they ride in the front or back seats of vehicles.
The primary seat belt law of Arkansas mandates that drivers and front passengers use seat belts at all times.
Act 811 prohibits smoking in vehicles with children less than 14 years of age.
Teen drivers must be at least 14 years old to get a learners permit. Intermediate drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 can’t drive alone between the hours of 11 pm and 4 am. Until reaching 18 years of age, young drivers can only have one passenger in the car with them. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they pass the driver’s test and turn 18.
Arkansas has no special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their driver license every 4 years.
Arkansas requires that drivers and passengers in the front seats of moving vehicles wear seat belts. The maximum penalty for failing to comply is $25 for the first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Arkansas that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Arkansas in 2015, was $736.43 compared to a national average of $889.01. Arkansas is the 36th most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Arkansas taxes gasoline at 21.8 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, meaning that the total gas tax Arkansans pay is 40.2 cents per gallon. Arkansas taxes diesel fuel at 22.8 cents a gallon. Federal taxes tack on another 24.4 cents per gallon bringing the total tax to 47.2 cents a gallon.
In 2014, there were 466 traffic fatalities in Arkansas, which was a .6% decrease from the state’s 498 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Arkansas had 5,601 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 1.4% decrease compared to 2013 when 5,678 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 188.8 per 100,000, a decrease of 1.6% from the 2013 rate of 191.9 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Arkansas is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Arkansas residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 15.9%. That ranks Arkansas as #11 among US states and the District of Columbia, much higher than average.
|1||5.5%||Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. Of AR Inc.|
|2||5.4%||Shelter Mutual Insurance Co.|
|3||5.2%||Southern Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company|
|4||2.5%||Allstate Prop & Casualty Insurance Co.|
|5||2.3%||Farmers Insurance Company|
|6||1.6%||Continental Cas. Co.|
|7||1.5%||Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co.|
|8||1.3%||Cincinnati Insurance Co.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.