On average, your neighbors pay $63 a month.See Your Rates
Hawaii is known as the Aloha State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Hawaiians can use to say “hello” to savings and “goodbye” to high premiums.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Hawaii, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Hawaii, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Hawaii? Premiums here are slightly cheaper than in most of the country. On average, Hawaii drivers pay 13% less for auto insurance than the average American. The average cost of car insurance in Hawaii is $764.72 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$764.72|
|Price Per Month||$63.72|
The graph below shows the change in average Hawaii insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Hawaii car insurance rates increased from $748 in 2011 to $764 in 2015, a jump of $16 dollars, or 2.17 percent.
Finding the right car insurance in Hawaii for your needs and budget doesn’t have to be stressful. Then again, you want to make sure that whichever company you choose is the right fit, and that means comparing car insurance rates!
Comparing auto quotes can be time-consuming. But with a little help from QuoteWizard, you’ll have a policy in no time. We’ll connect you with top auto insurance companies so you can find the best coverage at the best price.
Last year, 11,273 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quote comparison in Hawaii from multiple companies.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Hawaii drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Hawaii. Out of the 11,273 Hawaii drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 1,026 were uninsured.
Hawaii is a no-fault state, meaning if you are involved in an accident, you and your passengers will be covered up to the limits of your policy regardless of who was at fault. This is usually called Personal Injury Protection and the state minimum requirement is $10,000. PIP does not cover damages to vehicles, only injuries.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Hawaii, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 20/40/10. This means that any policy must also include the following coverage, in addition to PIP:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll typically require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
All drivers in Hawaii must be prepared to show proof of car insurance in the form of a car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request.
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor.
If you can’t prove that you meet the minimum Hawaii insurance requirements, you could face the following penalties for a first offense:
If you are caught a second time, the penalties become more severe. The penalties for a second offense are:
Drivers caught driving without insurance a third time will face still stiffer penalties:
In Hawaii, you will not need to file an SR-22 for a first time offense.
Your first DUI conviction will result in the following penalties:
In addition, you may also be required to file an SR-22, which is a way of proving financial responsibility. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law. You may also need to fill an SR-22 if you:
Hawaii state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months following a first offense.
Hawaii has banned the use of handheld communication devices for all drivers and made it a primary law. Primary driving laws are those for which law enforcement can pull you over and issue citations without another infraction taking place. Hawaii has also banned all cell phone use for novice drivers. This too is a primary law.
There is a statewide ban on texting while driving for all drivers.
Hawaii’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for a DUI:
It’s possible to continue driving with a suspended license if you install an ignition-interlock device in your car and apply for a permit. You may also apply for a work exemption if driving is part of your occupation.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Hawaii with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08%, you are guilty of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
Beginning on January 1, 2011, drivers convicted of a DUI will be required to pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device in their vehicle, as well as monthly rental costs.
Hawaii requires that all children less than 4 years of age be secured in approved child safety seats. For children between the ages of 4 and 8 are required to use booster seats or car seats unless they're 4 feet 9 inches or taller. Children over 8 years old are required to use seat belts at all times.
If you are pulled over by law enforcement and it’s discovered that children are not legally secured, you will be fined $100 for a first offense.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Hawaii has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver license program beginning with an instruction permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit when they have reached 15 ½ years of age. The learner stage lasts for a minimum of 6 months. During the learner stage, teens are required to complete 50 hours of supervised driving, at least 10 of these hours must be at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, a provisional license may be issued. Once the driver has held a provisional license for at least 6 months, they can take the driver's test and be issued a driver's license if they pass.
Young drivers between the ages of 15 ½ and 17 must abide by the following rules until they turn 18:
The license renewal cycle in Hawaii is 8 years. Drivers must renew their licenses in person and pass a vision test. When Hawaiians reach the age of 72, they're required to renew their license every 2 years.
Hawaii requires that all passengers 8 years of age and older wear seat belts in both the front and back seats. Failure to comply will result in a fine of $112 plus administrative fees.
When you drive a vehicle in Hawaii that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Hawaii in 2015 was $764.72 compared to a national average of $889.0. Hawaii is ranked the 31st most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Hawaii taxes gasoline at 42.35 cents per gallon. When the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon is added, residents of Hawaii pay a total of 60.75 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill their tanks. Hawaii taxes diesel fuel at 39.55 cents per gallon. When the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon is added, Hawaiians will pay 63.95 cents per gallon in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2013, there were 102traffic fatalities in Hawaii, a 18% decrease from the 126 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Hawaii had 3,879 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 15% decrease compared to 2013 when 4,561 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 273.3 per 100,000, a decrease of 15.6% over the 2013 rate of 323.7 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Hawaii is significantly higher than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at a high risk of being stolen.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 8.9% of all drivers on Hawaii roads had no car insurance. This number is slightly lower than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Hawaii 37th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
Residents on the neighbor islands may call the following numbers followed by 6-2790 or 6-2799 and the # sign:
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.