On average, your neighbors pay $73 a month.See Your Rates
This pages is for anyone looking for new ways to save money on car insurance in the Last Frontier. The useful information that QuoteWizard has compiled from industry and regulatory sources will help you discover how to find the best deals and the cheapest rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage Alaskans are legally required to carry, provide information about the cost of driving in Alaska including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help protect you and your family.
How much does car insurance cost in Alaska? Alaska drivers pay slightly more for car insurance than the national average. On average, auto insurance in Alaska costs $872.39 a year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your driving record, zip code and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$872.3|
|Price Per Month||$72.70|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in average Alaska insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Alaska car insurance rates actually decreased from $873 in 2011 to $872 in 2015, a $1 dollar improvement, or 0.08 percent.
Having a reliable auto insurance provider is important nowadays. But how do you determine which insurer in Alaska is right for you?
One way is to compare auto insurance rates in Alaska from a number of different companies. Let us help you do that. We’ll get you all the info you need, and connect you to a handful of agents, so you can find a policy that you, your vehicle, and your wallet will love.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Alaska, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 50/100/25 plus uninsured/underinsured coverage.
This means that your policy must have at least the following minimum coverages:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Alaska, you must be prepared to show your proof of insurance card to law enforcement upon request. You’ll get this card from your auto insurance company when you buy a policy.
Alaska residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to DWI or Refusal convictions must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
If you’re required to show proof of filing an SR-22 to have your driver’s license reinstated, you must obtain a copy of the SR-22 binder dated within the last 30 days or an application for the binder that has been dated within the last 30 days.
Alaska State law requires that anyone convicted of a DWI or Refusal carry an SR-22 for 5 years from the ending date of a first conviction, 10 years from the ending date of a second offense, and 20 years from the ending date of a third offense.
An SR-22 must be carried for life after a fourth DWI or Refusal conviction (AS 28.20.230) or in the event of an Unsatisfied Judgment (AS 28.20.330).
Alaska has some of the strongest penalties for driving and texting. If you’re caught texting while operating a motor vehicle in the state of Alaska, you can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor that includes a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 1 year in prison. If you injure someone, you can be: charged with a Class C Felony, fined up to $50,000 and spend up to 5 years in prison. If you seriously injure someone, you may be: charged with a Class B Felony, fined up to $100,000 and spend up to 10 years in prison. If you kill someone while texting you'll be: charged with a Class A Felony, fined up to $250,000 and spend up to 20 years in prison.
Alaska has no laws restricting the use of cell phones to make or receive calls while driving.
Alaska’s Implied Consent law requires that anyone operating a motor vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft submit to testing to determine the drug and alcohol content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, inhalants, or other controlled substances.
If you refuse the test, you will face the following penalties on top of those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Alaska with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
The penalties for a fourth DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a fifth and subsequent DUI convictions are:
In addition to the above penalties, you can be sure your car insurance rates will skyrocket if you can find someone willing to insure you.
For the protection and safety of young passengers, Alaska requires that:
Each violation of the Alaskan child passenger safety law will face a maximum fine of $50 for the first offense.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
New drivers in Alaska must be at least 14 years old to obtain a learners permit. New drivers are required to drive for at least 40 hours while under supervision before they can obtain a full driver’s license. Ten of those hours must be at night. For their first 6 months of driving, new drivers can’t have any passengers under the age of 21. New drivers are also restricted from driving between the hours of 1 am and 5 am.
Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements, pass their driving test, and turn 16 ½ years old.
Alaska requires drivers 69 years of age and older to renew their license in-person. They can no longer renew by mail. Alaska also requires all drivers to renew their license every 5 years.
Alaska requires that everyone in a vehicle who is 16 years of age or older wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described in the state’s child restraint law. The maximum penalty for failing to comply is $15 for the first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Alaska that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must also be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Alaska in 2015, was $872.39 compared to a national average of $889.01. Alaska is the 17th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Alaska taxes gasoline at 12.25 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Alaska can expect to pay a total of 30.65 cents per gallon in taxes at the gas station. Alaska taxes diesel fuel at 12.75 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Alaskans will pay 37.15 cents per gallon in taxes at the pump for diesel fuel.
Compared to most Americans, Alaskans pay the nation’s lowest gas and diesel fuel taxes. The state of Alaska taxes gasoline at 12.2 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 12.7 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel.
In 2014, there were 73 traffic fatalities in Alaska, a large 43% increase from the state’s 51 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Alaska had 1,739 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 3% increase compared to 2013 when 1,695 cars were stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 236 per 100,000, an increase of 2.7% over the 2013 rate of 229 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Alaska is slightly higher than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2013
The percentage of Alaska residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 13.2%. That ranks Alaska as #21 among US states and the District of Columbia, slightly worse than average.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.