On average, your neighbors pay $100 a month.See Your Rates
How much is car insurance in Ohio? Most drivers in the state of Ohio pay significantly less for auto insurance than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Ohio is $682.70 a year. The national average cost of auto coverage is $866.31.
|Total Cost Per Year||$682.70|
|Price Per Month||$56.89|
Shopping around and comparing auto insurance quotes in Ohio is important, but who has the time and energy for it? Well, if you use QuoteWizard, you won’t have to worry about either.
That’s because QuoteWizard will connect you to multiple companies so you can compare car insurance rates and get coverage that fits your needs.
Last year, 116,334 people used QuoteWizard to get a car insurance quotes comparison in Ohio from top companies and find the cheapest rates.
The law requires that all Ohio drivers retain minimum coverage standards across all vehicles registered in their names. While policies vary from company to company, Ohio has a minimum coverage requirement called the 25/50/25 rule. That means driver policies must include the following:
Remember that these are the minimum levels. Work with your policy provider to ensure you have at least the required coverage before adding on additional elements to your policy.
Make sure you carry proof of insurance with you when you're behind the wheel. It's against the law not to. Your proof of insurance car must contain the following:
Since 1998, Ohio has used a computerized system that selects drivers to provide verification of their insurance policies. The system chooses 5% of the registered drivers in the state at random, and mails them a notice to provide proof of coverage. Drivers then have 21 days to mail a copy of their insurance card or the declaration page of their policies directly to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Insurance Processing Center.
If the driver does not provide acceptable proof of insurance within the given timeframe, the state may then suspend licenses, impound vehicles, and take additional action if necessary.
Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in a variety of legal actions including: Loss of driving privileges (up to two years), suspension of license and registration, a $150 fee for first offenders, and your car will be impounded for at least 30 days.
Multiple infractions will result in more severe punishments and fines for any driver.
For Ohio drivers that have had their licenses revoked or suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other traffic infractions, they must file an SR-22 to provide proof of financial responsibility. This documentation certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Ohio law mandates that you hold an SR-22 for 3 - 5 years, depending on the severity of the offense. If required, an individual must contact an insurance agent or company to apply for an SR-22, who will then submit the documentation to the Ohio BMV.
These are the top 10 vehicles owned by Ohio drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard last year.
Last year, these were the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Ohio. Out of the 116,334 Ohio drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 15,977 had no car insurance.
In order to curb the increase of accidents caused by distracted drivers over the years, Ohio legislation has implemented a number of laws to help keep drivers safe. In 2012, Ohio passed a statewide ban on texting or using a phone to write a message while driving. Failure to conform to this law will result in a $15 fine.
In addition to the ban on texting, it's illegal for any driver under the age of 18 to use any handheld device while driving in Ohio.
Protecting young passengers is important, which is why Ohio has implemented a number of rules and requirements for securing young children in a vehicle:
Before young Buckeye drivers are let loose to roam the streets, they're required to go through a three-step graduated driver's license program. After passing an initial test, drivers at the age of fifteen and a half are able to apply for a learner's permit. After obtaining a learner's permit, they must accrue 6 months of experience and 50 hours of driving supervised by a parent or guardian (with 10 of those hours coming at night), before moving on to the next stage of the program.
Once these requirements are complete, and the driver passes a driver's education course, they're eligible for a probationary license. These drivers no longer require supervision, but they're limited to no more than one passenger, with the exception of immediate family. At the age of 16, they're restricted from driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m., and at the age of 17, they're restricted from driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
The passenger restriction remains until the age of 17. The night driving restriction remains until age 18. That's when drivers can get an unrestricted license with full driving privileges are granted.
Ohio has no special laws or regulations pertaining to senior drivers. All Ohio drivers must renew their license every four years.
Since seat belts are the best way to prevent injury and protect passengers in the event of a crash, Ohio enforces a number of laws to keep its citizens safe on the road. Any child under the age of 14 must wear a safety belt at all times, as well as comply with any booster seat requirements. Passengers aged 15 and older are required to wear seat belts if they're riding in the front seats of a vehicle.
First time offenders will receive a $30 ticket. Passenger caught not wearing seatbelts will receive a $20 ticket.
Whether you're just visiting or moving into town, you must have the mandatory insurance levels from the state your car is registered in. Until you change your registration and become an Ohio native, make sure your insurance is up to date with whatever state is on your plates.
Ohio drivers pay some of the lowest car insurance rates in the nation. On the national scale, Ohio is the 10th most affordable state for car insurance.
The most recent 2014 data indicates that Ohio drivers pay an average of $682.70 per year for car insurance, compared to a national average of $866.31.
Every state is subject to federal fuel taxes, which in 2016 were set at 18.4 cents per gallon of regular gasoline and 24.4 cents per gallon of diesel fuel. In addition, Ohio imposes an additional state level tax of 28 cents per gallon on both regular gasoline and diesel fuel. This means when you hit the pump expect to see a tax of 46.4 cents per gallon of gas, as well as 52.4 cents per gallon when of diesel fuel.
The State of Ohio recorded 1,006 traffic related fatalities in 2014. This was a 1.7% increase from the 989 seen in 2013. Remember that obeying laws and wearing a seatbelt can go a long way in protecting you and your passengers from serious injury.
While the odds of it happening to you are relatively low, the reality is that car theft does happen in Ohio. Ohio reported 18,015 vehicle thefts in 2014. This is a 7.7% decrease from the 19,525 thefts in 2013. The nationwide vehicle theft rate in 2014 was 216 thefts per 100,000 cars. Ohio only saw 155.4 thefts per 100,000 cars.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Ohio residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 13.5%. That ranks Ohio 17th among US states and the District of Columbia.
|4||5.9%||Berkshire Hathaway (Geico)|
|8||2.8%||American Family Insurance|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.