On average, your neighbors pay $65 a month.See Your Rates
The long, cold winters in Minnesota produce a lot of treacherous driving conditions. With drivers at an elevated risk of a car insurance claim due to snowy and icy roads, it pays to be knowledgeable about Minnesota car insurance.
We’ll show you which types of coverage are legally required in Minnesota, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Minnesota? Drivers here are very safe drivers and insurance companies have taken notice. Minnesota car insurance rates are much lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Minnesota is $787.74, compared to the national average price of $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your zip code, limits, and coverage.
|Total Cost Per Year||$787.74|
|Price Per Month||$65.64|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in average Minnesota rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Minnesota car insurance rates increased from $696 in 2011 to $787 in 2015, a jump of $91 dollars, or 13.18 percent.
Shopping for car insurance in Minnesota can seem like a lot of work. From researching companies to comparing rates, it’s easy to get overwhelmed.
Let QuoteWizard help. Fill out our easy to use (and understand) form and you’ll be well on your way to finding cheap car insurance in Minnesota. How? We’ll put you in touch with top insurance companies so you can compare quotes and get the best rates.
Last year, 40,680 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quotes comparison in Minnesota from multiple companies.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Minnesota. Out of the 40,680 Minnesota drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 5,170 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Minnesota drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Legally, all Minnesota drivers are required to maintain a minimum amount of coverage for all vehicles registered in their name. While companies may offer different pricing and additional coverage options, all policies must follow the 30/60/10 rule.
That means that all drivers in Minnesota must have at least the following car insurance coverage:
Minnesota is one of the 12 US states that have a no-fault insurance system. In no-fault states, accident victims can collect benefits from their own insurance companies, regardless of whether the other party is insured. Liability coverage is meant to help pay for other peoples’ medical and repair bills if you're found at fault in a car accident. Personal Injury Protection coverage is intended to pay for your medical expenses and lost wages after an accident, regardless of who was at fault.
Be sure to have proof of your insurance policy on hand at all times while driving. All Minnesota drivers are required by law to be able to provide proof of insurance, whether on paper or electronically, at any request by an officer of the law. The following information should be included.
Driving without insurance in Minnesota is carries a minimum fine of $200 and may ultimately result in your driver’s license being suspended.
The state of Minnesota doesn't require an SR-22 from drivers convicted of DUIs or other offenses. However, if you've moved to Minnesota from another state where you had filed an SR-22, you must maintain it in that state for as long as required by that state's law.
While operating a motor vehicle, all drivers are banned from sending or receiving a text message while on the road. Drivers under the age of 18 must refrain from using a cell phone at all. School bus drivers are also banned from using cell phones in any way while driving.
Minnesota’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of Driving While Impaired (DWI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Minnesota with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Impaired (DWI).
The penalties for a first offense DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a fourth offense DWI conviction are:
All children under age 8 are required to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat designed for their age range, unless they are 4 feet 9 inches or taller. In that case, they may use the vehicle's seat belts. Any passenger between the ages of 8 and 17 are required to be secured with a seat belt at all times. The penalty for this violation is $25 (plus an approximately $75 court surcharge).
Before young drivers are granted full rights on the road, they must complete the Minnesota graduated driver's license process. Starting at the age of 15 they can apply for a learner's permit, and must hold that learners permit for 6 months and log 50 supervised hours, with 15 of these hours taking place at night. If young drivers parent completes a 90 min. instructor class, then driver only has to log 40 hours of supervised driving, with 15 of those hours taking place at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test.
If they pass the test, a provisional license is issued. Drivers with provisional licenses cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am. During their first six months of driving with their provisional license, drivers may have a maximum of one passenger in the car under age 20 (excluding family). After they've been driving with a provisional license for six months, they may have a maximum of three passengers under age 20 (excluding family).
Once a driver turns 17 and passes the final driving exam, full driving privileges are granted.
For all drivers in Minnesota, the regular renewal cycle is every 4 years. There are no special provisions for senior drivers.
All vehicle occupants are required to be securely fastened with an appropriate safety device. For children under age 8, that means car seats or booster seats. For occupants over age 8, that means seat belts. Failure to comply with this law results in a $25 fine (plus an approximately $75 court surcharge).
Until your car is registered in the state of Minnesota, you must carry the required minimum levels of insurance designated by your state of origin.
Minnesota ranks 28th out of the 50 states for car insurance expense. With the average cost of coverage coming in at $787.74 in 2015, car insurance in Minnesota is significantly less expensive than the national average of $889.01.
The state of Minnesota taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 28.6 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel fuel. The total tax on a gallon of regular gasoline is 47 cents. The total tax on a gallon of diesel fuel works out to 53 cents.
In 2012 it was estimated that 10.8% of all drivers on Minnesota roads had no car insurance. This number is slightly below the national average of 12.6%, and ranks Minnesota 28th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2014 Minnesota recorded 361 traffic-related deaths, a 7% decrease from the 387 in 2013.
In Minnesota 8,367 cars were reported stolen in 2014, a 5% increase compared to the 7,966 vehicles reported stolen in 2013.
In 2014, Minnesota’s vehicle theft rate was 153.3 per 100,000, an increase of 4.4% from the 2011 rate of 146.9 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Minnesota is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Below is a list of the most frequently stolen vehicles in the State.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|6||2.9%||Berkshire Hathaway Inc.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.