On average, your neighbors pay $82 a month.See Your Rates
The mix of neon lights and mountains in the distance make Nevada one of the best states to cruise across on a hot summer night. Whether you are heading out for a night on the strip or one under the stars, there is never a dull moment in Nevada.
Drivers know not to gamble with their auto insurance, so we’ve got all the answers below. From average cost of insurance and average rates to the laws you have to follow on the road, we bet you’ll find what you need.
Car insurance in Nevada is more expensive than it is in most of the country. You can thank the high number of uninsured motorists, drunk drivers, car prowlers, and lawyers the next time you're writing a check to your insurance company. The average cost of car insurance in Nevada is $985.39 per year. The national average annual cost is $889.01. On average, Nevada drivers pay 11% more for auto insurance than the average American.
Your prices may vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$985.39|
|Price Per Month||$82.11|
The graph below shows the change in Nevada's average auto insurance rate from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Nevada's car insurance rates increased from $904 in 2011 to $985 in 2015, a jump of $80, or 8.89 percent.
If you’re like most Nevada drivers, car insurance is a must-have. But that doesn’t mean you should go with the first policy that comes your way.
You want car insurance that’s reliable and fits your needs while also being affordable. To get that, you have to compare auto insurance quotes.
That can take some time if you do it yourself. With QuoteWizard, you can do it in seconds. Fill out our form and we’ll connect you to multiple top car insurance companies so you can compare rates and get the best coverage.
Last year, 30,729 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Nevada from top companies, and find the cheapest rates.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Nevada. Out of the 30,729 Nevada drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 3,442 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Nevada drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Legally, almost all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of car insurance, but this minimum amount varies from state to state. In Nevada, drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/20 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection.
Just like your driver's license, it is important to always carry proof of insurance for your car. Nevada law requires you to have proof of insurance at hand at all times while operating a motor vehicle. It must include the following information:
Whether you are caught on the side of the road, or the Nevada LIVE system does its job, you are subject to punishment for operating a vehicle without insurance. If this occurs, your registration will immediately be suspended. For first offenders, the cost of reinstating your registration varies depending on how long your insurance had lapsed. If it was within 30 days, the fee is $250. Between 31 and 90 days, it is $500. Between 91 and 180 days, the cost is $750… and if you fail to cover your vehicle within that 180-day window, the cost is $1,250.
The price continues to escalate for second offenses, and by your third offense you will be required to file a SR-22 and have your license suspended for a minimum of 30 days.
Nevada drivers who have infractions such as DUIs on their records, or who have been caught driving without insurance, will need to file an SR-22. This indicates proof of financial responsibility and mandates that the minimum coverage is carried on your car. This is to be carried on your record for three years, and any lapse in renewal will start the three-year cycle over again.
More and more accidents are being caused by inattentive drivers using their phones. In order to protect drivers, Nevada has a statewide ban against using handheld devices for making or receiving calls, or texting while driving.
Nevada's Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs.
Refuse the test and the arresting officer may direct that reasonable force be used to the extent necessary to obtain samples of blood from the person to be tested.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Nevada with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
In order to protect children on its roadways, Nevada follows strict rules for protecting kids while they are in a moving vehicle. Any child under the age of 6 or weighing less than 60 pounds must be placed in an appropriate child safety seat. Fines for failing to comply with this law range from $100 to $500.
Nevada has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner's permit and ending with a driver's license with full driver privileges. Nevada requires all drivers to go through a testing process to procure their licenses. At the age of fifteen and a half years old, drivers can take a test to obtain their instruction permit. Once they enter the instruction permit stage, they must accrue a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving, with 10 of the 50 hours taking place at night.
At the age of 16, drivers are able to take a test to obtain their driver's license. If they pass, they'll be able to drive unsupervised. However, they will be forbidden to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. They're also unable to have passengers under the age of 18 in their vehicle for six months after getting their license. After that, all passenger restrictions are lifted.
It is important to note that it is not until 18 when the driving hour restriction is lifted and full privileges are granted.
Every driver in the state is required by law to renew their driver's license every 4 years, which can be done through the mail. If you are over the age of 70, your mail renewal must include a medical report for assessment as well.
Be sure to buckle it up when driving through Nevada to remain safe and avoid fines. All drivers operating a vehicle in the state are required to wear a seatbelt at all times, or they will be facing a $25 fine.
The average cost of car insurance in Nevada in 2015 was $985.39 compared to a national average of $889.01. Nevada is ranked the 12th most expensive state for car insurance.
All drivers are subject to both a federal and state gas tax every time they visit the pump. The national tax is 18.4 cents per unleaded gallon and 24.4 cents per diesel gallon. On top of that drivers will see an extra 33.85 cents per unleaded gallon and 28.56 cents per diesel gallon courtesy of the state tax. That’s a total of 52.25 cents in taxes per unleaded gallon and 52.96 cents in taxes per diesel gallon that every driver must pay when filling up.
In 2014, 290 traffic-related deaths were on record in Nevada. That number was actually on the rise from 2013, where the state reported 266 traffic-related deaths.
In 2014, 10,185 vehicles were reported stolen in Nevada, a 1.9 percent increase from 9,998 in 2013. With the national average sitting at 216.2 thefts per 100,000 cars, Nevada is high above that average with 358.7 thefts per 100,000 cars on record. Be sure to lock your doors and keep any valuables out of sight so you don’t give any passing criminals an incentive to act.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at risk.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012, it was estimated that 12.2% of all drivers on Nevada roads had no car insurance. This number is nearly equal to the national average of 12.6% and ranks Nevada 23rd in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|1||9.65%%||Mid Century Insurance|
|3||5.81%||Western United Insurance|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.