On average, your neighbors pay $98 a month.See Your Rates
Florida is known as the Sunshine State. QuoteWizard has compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources to help Floridians shine some light on their car insurance policies.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Florida, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Florida, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Florida? On average, auto insurance in Florida costs $1,185.25 per year. The national average cost is $889.01. The average cost of car insurance in Florida is much higher than what most Americans pay.
Prices will vary depending on your driving history and the points on your driver's license, limits, age, gender, coverage (liability or comprehensive, and total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,185.25|
|Price Per Month||$98.77|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in Florida's rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Florida car insurance rates increased from $1,090 in 2011 to $1,140 in 2015, a jump of $94, or 8.68 percent.
Finding the right car insurance company and policy in Florida just got easier. Say goodbye to countless hours of researching offerings and comparing rates. With QuoteWizard’s help, you can do both in a matter of minutes--even seconds.
We’ll connect you to a number of top auto insurance companies so you can quickly compare quotes and find the coverage you need for a price you can afford.
Last year, 228,724 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Florida from multiple companies to get the cheapest rates.
These were the top most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Florida last year. Out of the 228,724 Florida drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 19,009 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Florida drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Florida, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 10//10. This means that you must have:
Florida is one of the only states that doesn't require drivers to carry any amount of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage on their auto insurance policies.
Minimum auto insurance coverage gives you basic protection, but it’s a mistake to think it’s all you need. If you get in a crash, liability doesn’t cover your costs. It only covers damage you do to other people and their cars. And minimum liability tends to have a low threshold amount for what it covers. If you don’t have enough liability after a crash, the rest comes out of your pocket.
According to the Insurance Research Council, over 25 percent of Florida’s drivers are uninsured. That’s the highest rate of uninsured drivers in the country. This is bad for insured drivers in Florida on a couple fronts. First off, car insurance rates go up for all in areas with a high number of uninsured drivers. Second, if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, you’re left holding the bag for your repairs. To protect yourself against this happening to you, definitely get uninsured/underinsured insurance.
For your own protection, we recommend increasing your liability levels:
Florida is one of the few states that does not require Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage unless you get a DUI. But if it’s in your budget, consider increasing your BIL to $300,000. Should you get a DUI, you’re required to have BIL through an FR-44 form explained below.
In Florida, if you're in a car accident involving property damage or bodily injuries, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will send an inquiry notice requesting proof that the state’s minimum insurance requirements were met when the incident occurred.
If you can't prove that you had the required minimum coverage, you must purchase it from an insurer and have it certified on form SR-22 for 3 years. You must also obtain a release from each accident victim indicating they were compensated in full for their injuries and property damage.
Failure to comply before the suspension date on the inquiry notice will result in the suspension of your tags, vehicle registration, and driver's license for 3 years. You'll also be required to pay a $15 reinstatement fee to regain your driving privileges.
Florida requires an FR-44 from anyone caught driving with a suspended license or after being convicted of a DUI. The FR-44 is a form that certifies a driver has the following minimum insurance coverages:
Florida state law requires drivers to carry an FR-44 for 3 consecutive years after their first offense. If your insurance lapses for any reason during this period, your insurer is required to notify the state. For this reason, some insurance companies require that the policy be paid in advance for its full term.
Florida has few restrictions on driver use of cell phones. Both handheld and hands-free devices are allowed for all drivers, including teens and bus drivers. There is, however, a statewide ban on texting while driving for everyone.
Florida’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the Florida with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Florida has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they're 15 years old. The learner’s permit stage lasts for a minimum of 12 months. During the learner’s stage, teens are required to complete 50 hours of supervised driving. At least 10 hours of this driving must be at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached the age of 16, the driving test can be taken. If the driving test is passed, a license is issued and the driver enters the intermediate stage.
Young drivers must abide by the following rules until they turn 17:
Young drivers must abide by the following rules until they turn 18:
Florida does not restrict either the number or age of passengers an intermediate driver can have in the vehicle with them.
Drivers receive full passenger privileges when they turn 18 if all other conditions have been met.
Florida requires all drivers to renew their licenses every 8 years. Once a driver reaches their 80th birthday they must renew their license every 6 years, and pass a vision test.
Florida requires that passengers 16 years of age and older wear seat belts at all times. The maximum seat belt violation fine is $30 for a first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Florida that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Florida in 2015, the most recent year for which data was available, was $1,185.25 compared to a national average of $889.01. Florida is ranked the 6th most expensive state for car insurance.
According to our nationwide study we found that Florida is one of the best driving states coming in at no.49. To find out which Florida cities had the best drivers we ranked the most populous cities in Florida using data from our quote tool to compare drivers in each city based on accidents, speeding tickets, DUI's and citations.
In 2012 it was estimated that 23.8% of all drivers on Florida roads had no car insurance. This number is much, much higher than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Florida 2nd in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2013, there were 2,407 traffic fatalities in Florida, a 1% decrease from the 2,431 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Florida had 42,579 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 22% increase compared to 2013 when 34,911 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 214 per 100,000, a 20% increase from the 2013 rate of 178.1 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Florida is almost equal to the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.