On average, your neighbors pay $95 a month.See Your Rates
Delaware is known as the First State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Delawareans can use to find the best car insurance rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Delaware, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Delaware, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Delaware? Auto insurance is much more expensive than it is in most of the country. On average, Delaware drivers pay 30% more for auto insurance than the average American. The average cost of car insurance in Delaware is $1,145.66 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,145.66|
|Price Per Month||$95.47|
The graph below shows the change in average Delaware insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Delaware car insurance rates increased from $1,048 in 2011 to $1,125 in 2015, a jump of $97 dollars, or 9.32 percent.
If you’re like most people, car insurance is a must-have. But that doesn’t mean you should go with the first policy that comes your way.
You want car insurance that’s reliable and fits your needs while also being affordable. To get that, you have to compare quotes.
That can take some time if you do it yourself. With QuoteWizard, you can do it in seconds. Fill out our form and we’ll connect you to multiple top car insurance companies so you can compare rates and get the best coverage in Delaware.
Last year, 10,581 people used QuoteWizard to compare quotes from top companies and find the cheapest car insurance rates in Delaware.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Delaware. Out of the 10,581 Delaware drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 972 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Delaware drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Legally nearly all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but those levels actually do vary from state to state. In Delaware drivers need to follow what is known as the 15/30/10 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
All drivers in Delaware must be prepared to show proof of car insurance upon request to law enforcement or any other party involved in an accident. Proof of insurance can be in the form of a card provided by your insurer or a digital image of the insurance card on your smartphone.
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a serious traffic infraction.
If you can't prove that you meet the minimum Delaware insurance requirements, you could face a fine of $1,500 for the first offense and $3,000 for the second and subsequent offenses as well as a 6-month suspension of driving privileges.
Delaware residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other violations are not required to carry an SR-22 to prove they meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements.
However, if you reside in Delaware but were convicted of drunk driving in another state, you may need to file an SR-22 where the violation occurred. If you were convicted of drunk driving in Delaware and then move to another state, you may be required to file an SR-22.
To have your license reinstated after a DUI conviction, you must perform the following:
To combat rising numbers of distracted drivers on state roadways, the state of Delaware regulates drivers' use of communication devices. Delaware prohibits all drivers from using handheld devices while operating a motor vehicle on its roadways. This is a primary law, meaning law enforcement can pull you over and issue a citation if they see you driving with a cell phone in your hand. Drivers may, however, use hands-free devices to make and receive calls while driving.
Bus drivers may not use either handheld or hands-free devices. This is also a primary law.
Young drivers ages 16 and 17 are also prohibited from using both handheld and hands-free devices. This too is a primary law. If a novice driver is convicted of violating this law, their driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. Drivers with other violations could be required to attend operator retraining classes.
There is a statewide ban on texting while driving. This is also a primary law. This regulation makes it illegal for anyone to write, send, or read text messages when operating a motor vehicle.
If a police officer sees you using your phone illegally, they can pull you over and write you a $106 ticket. Since this law went into effect, over 35,000 cell phone citations have been issued.
Delaware’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Delaware with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
After a fourth DUI conviction the penalties are raised to:
5th DUI Offense: For a fifth DUI occurring any time after 4 previous offenses, a driver will be fined not less than $3,500 nor more than $10,000 and imprisoned not less than 3 years nor more than 5 years.
6th DUI Offense: For a sixth DUI occurring any time after 5 previous offenses, a driver will be fined not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000 and imprisoned not less than 5 years nor more than 8 years.
7th DUI Offense: For a seventh DUI occurring any time after 6 previous offenses, or for any subsequent offense, a driver will be fined not less than $10,000 nor more than $15,000 and imprisoned not less than 10 years nor greater than 15 years.
Infants must remain in federally approved rear-facing child safety seats until they are 1-year-old and weigh 20 pounds.
Children must ride in a federally approved child safety seat or booster seat until they are 7 years old and weigh 66 pounds.
Children who ride in a booster seat must use a lap and shoulder belt.
The first offense for failing to secure your child in accordance with Delaware State child restraint law carries a maximum fine of $25 for the first offense.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Delaware has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they’re 16 years old. The learner’s permit stage lasts for a minimum of 6 months. During the learner’s stage, teens are required to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving, with at least 10 these hours occurring at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16 ½, the driving test can be taken. If the driving test is passed a license is issued and the driver enters the intermediate stage.
Young drivers must abide by the following rules until their 17th birthday:
Drivers receive full passenger privileges when they’re 17 years of age if all other conditions have been met.
Delaware has no special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their licenses every 8 years.
Delaware requires that passengers 16 years of age and older wear seat belts at all times. The maximum seat belt violation fine is $25 for a first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Delaware that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Delaware in 2015 was $1,145.66 compared to a national average of $889.01. Delaware is ranked the 8th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Delaware taxes gasoline at 23 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Delaware can expect to pay a total of 41.4 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill up at the gas station. Delaware taxes diesel fuel at 22 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Delawareans will pay a total of 46.4 cents per gallon in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2013, there were 99 traffic fatalities in Delaware, a 13% decrease from the 114 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Delaware had 1,267 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 6.5% decrease compared to 2013 when 1,355 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 135.4 per 100,000, a decrease of 7.5% from the 2013 rate of 146.4 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Delaware is significantly less than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at risk.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012, it was estimated that 11.5% of all drivers on Delaware roads had no car insurance. This number is very close to the national average of 12.6% and ranks Delaware 27th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|1||16.6%||Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co.|
|5||6.8%||USAA Insurance Group|
|7||3%||Hartford Financial Services|
|8||2.6%||Farmers Insurance Group of Companies|
|9||2.2%||Travelers Companies Inc.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.