On average, your neighbors pay $100 a month.See Your Rates
Wyoming is known as the Cowboy State. The handy insurance information that QuoteWizard has compiled about Wyoming from industry and regulatory sources will make you yell "Yee-haw!"
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Wyoming, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
Average car insurance rates in Wyoming are well below the national average. Prices may vary depending on your limits, urban conditions, coverage, and zip code.
On average, the cost of auto insurance in Wyoming is $668.81 a year. The national average annual price is $866.31.
|Total Annual Cost||$668.81|
|Price Per Month||$55.73|
If you want car insurance in Wyoming that offers reliable coverage at an affordable price, you have to shop around. To do this, you have to compare quotes from multiple insurance companies. But that can be a hassle if you do it on your own. Thankfully, QuoteWizard makes it a lot easier.
We’ll help you by introducing you to a number of top insurance companies. Then you can compare rates and decide which coverage options are the best for your situation. That means less legwork and, better yet, lower costs.
Last year, 4,822 people used QuoteWizard to compare insurance quotes in Wyoming from top companies and find the cheapest rates.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Wyoming drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Wyoming last year. Out of the 4,822 Wyoming drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 486 had no car insurance.
Legally, almost all drivers in the US are required to carry a minimum level of car insurance. The amount of required coverage varies from state to state. In Wyoming, drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/20 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include at least the following:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that offer more coverage, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above coverage.
Wyoming also requires its residents to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This additional mandatory coverage protects you and your passengers from injuries sustained in crashes involving:
Wyoming requires residents to maintain uninsured motorist coverage levels equal to the minimum liability requirements:
This coverage only pays for medical expenses related to accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists. It will not help you recover losses from property damages.
Wyoming does allow you the option of requesting uninsured motorist coverage levels lower than your liability insurance coverage. Just ask your insurer for a rejection form then sign and return it to them before your policy goes into effect.
In 2012, it was estimated that 8.7% of Wyoming drivers had no car insurance.
Any time you drive in Wyoming, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You'll get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Operating a vehicle without the required proof of insurance is punishable by a fine of up to $750, and up to six months in jail. You may also have your license and registration suspended until you're able to show proof of insurance.
Wyoming residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Wyoming law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Drivers under the age of 18 may not use cell phones at any time while driving. Adult drivers with full driving privileges are banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in Wyoming.
Wyoming’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested for suspicion of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Wyoming with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you're guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a fourth offense DUI conviction are:
Children under 9 years old must be restrained by an approved child safety restraint system (in the vehicle’s rear seat if possible). If a child can only be restrained in a front seat, they must not be placed in front of an active airbag. The fine for failing to properly restrain a child in Wyoming is $50 for a first offense.
Wyoming has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
New drivers must be 15 years old to get a learners permit, and are required to drive 50 hours under supervision. Ten of those hours must be at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, the driver enters the intermediate permit stage.
Drivers in the intermediate permit stage cannot drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am, nor have more than one other person in the car under 18 years of age (excluding immediate family). Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 16 ½.
Wyoming has no special provisions for senior drivers. All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 4 years.
Wyoming requires that all passengers in moving vehicles wear seat belts. Children are required to use an approved child safety restraint system as described above. The minimum fine for a first offense is $25 for the driver and $10 per passenger.
When you drive a vehicle in Wyoming that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Wyoming in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $668.81, well below the national average of $866.31. Wyoming is the 41st most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Wyoming taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 24 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. So, total taxes on a gallon of gasoline are 42.4 cents per gallon. Diesel fuel is taxed at a total of 48.4 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 150 traffic fatalities in Wyoming, a 72% increase from the state’s 87 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Wyoming had 603 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 4.3% increase compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 103.2 per 100,000, an increase of 4.2% over the 2013 rate of 99.1 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Wyoming is less than half of the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your vehicle is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 16.2% of drivers on Wyoming roads had no car insurance. This number is well above the national average of 12.6% and ranks Wyoming 9th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.