On average, your neighbors pay $87 a month.See Your Rates
Connecticut is known as the Constitution State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Connecticuters can use to find the best car insurance rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Connecticut, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide you with both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Connecticut, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Connecticut? Drivers here pay more for car insurance than the national average. On average, auto insurance in Connecticut costs $1,048.56 a year. The national average cost is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your driving record, type of car, zip code and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,048.56|
|Price Per Month||$87.38|
The graph below shows the change in average Connecticut insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Connecticut car insurance rates increased from $969 in 2011 to $1,031 in 2015, a jump of $79 dollars, or 8.16 percent.
When it comes to buying car insurance in Connecticut, finding a policy that fits your needs and budget can be tough. Comparing companies and rates makes things a lot easier.
With QuoteWizard, you can compare quotes from top car insurance companies and discover which one is best for you. All it takes is a few clicks, and you’ll have all the information and help you need!
Last year, 26,989 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Connecticut from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Connecticut drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Connecticut. Out of the 26,989 Connecticut drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 2,303 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Connecticut, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/25. This means your insurance must cover at least:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
All drivers in Connecticut must be prepared to show proof of car insurance to law enforcement upon request. Proof of insurance will be required when registering or renewing the registration of motor vehicles.
Proof of insurance cards must have the following information:
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor. If you drop your car insurance, your insurance carrier is required to report it to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Then the DMV will mail you a Warning Notice, and give you the opportunity to obtain insurance and pay a $200 fine. If you do so, no further action will be taken against you. Fail to comply and the DMV will send you a Suspension Notice, informing you that your car registration has been suspended as has your privilege to renew or register ANY motor vehicle until you comply.
If you can’t prove that you meet the minimum Connecticut insurance requirements, you could face the following penalties:
Connecticut residents that have had their driver’s licenses suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
In Connecticut, the minimum amount required to prove financial responsibility is:
Connecticut state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for a minimum of three (3) years. If you fail to renew your policy before it expires, a letter is sent to the state and your license will be suspended until you can prove that you meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements.
To combat rising numbers of distracted drivers on state roadways, the state of Connecticut regulates how drivers use communication devices. The state prohibits all drivers from using handheld devices while operating a motor vehicle on its roadways. This is a primary law, meaning law enforcement can pull you over and issue a citation if they see you driving with a cell phone in your hand. Drivers may, however, use hands-free devices to make calls while driving.
Bus drivers, though, may not use either handheld or hands-free devices. This is also a primary law.
Novice drivers aged 16 and 17 are also prohibited from using both handheld and hands-free devices. This too is a primary law. If a novice driver is convicted of violating this law, their driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. Drivers with other violations could be required to attend operator retraining classes.
There is a statewide ban on texting while driving. This is also a primary law. This regulation makes it illegal for anyone to write, send, or read text messages when operating a motor vehicle.
If a police officer sees you using your phone illegally, they can pull you over and ticket you $100 for the first violation, $150 for the second violation, and $200 for each subsequent violation.
Connecticut’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their urine, breath, or blood when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties on top of those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Connecticut with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you're guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Connecticut requires that children under 1 year of age or weighing less than 20 pounds be restrained in rear-facing infant seats in the front or back seat of your car. Children who are between the ages of 1 and 6, or who weigh less than 60 pounds are required to ride in appropriate child safety seats. Children older than 6 are required to use booster seats until they outgrow them and can use adult seat belts and safety harnesses. The minimum penalty for failing to properly restrain children is $92 for a first offense.
Connecticut has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they’re 16 years old. The learner’s permit stage lasts for 4 months if a driver’s education course is taken. Otherwise the learner’s stage last 6 months. During the learner’s stage, teens are required to complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving. Once these conditions are satisfied, the driving test can be taken. If the driving test is passed, a license is issued and the driver enters the intermediate stage.
Young drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 must abide by the following rules:
Drivers receive full passenger privileges when they’re 17 years and 4 months of age and full nighttime privileges on their 18th birthday.
Connecticut allows drivers to choose between a 4 or 6-year license renewal cycle. When drivers turn 65, they must renew their license every 2 years. Renewals must be in person unless the driver can prove hardship.
Connecticut requires that anyone riding in the front seat of a moving vehicle who is 7 years of age or older wear a seat belt at all times. Passengers riding in the back seat of moving vehicles are not required to wear seat belts, but child safety regulations still apply to all passengers. The maximum seat belt violation fine is $92 for a first offense. Failure to comply is punishable by a fine of $120.
When you drive a vehicle in Connecticut that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Connecticut in 2015 was $1,048.56 compared to a national average of $889.01. Connecticut is ranked the 10th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Connecticut taxes gasoline at 37.50 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Connecticut can expect to pay a total of 55.91 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill up at the gas station. Connecticut taxes diesel fuel at 50.30 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Connecticuters will pay a total of 74.70 cents in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2012 it was estimated that 8% of all drivers on Connecticut roads had no car insurance. This number is significantly below the national average of 12.6% and ranks Connecticut 41st in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2013, there were 276 traffic fatalities in Connecticut, a 5% increase from the 264 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Connecticut had 6,110 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.1% decrease compared to 2013 when 6,241 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 169.9 per 100,000, a decrease of 2% from the 2013 rate of 173.4 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Connecticut is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|1||16.2%||Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (Geico)|
|5||6.2%||Travelers Companies Inc.|
|6||4.7%||Nationwide Mutual Group|
|7||4.3%||Hartford Financial Services|
|8||4.0%||USAA Insurance Group|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.