On average, your neighbors pay $67 a month.See Your Rates
Illinois is officially nicknamed “The Land of Lincoln.” Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information, from industry and government sources that Honest Abe would have been proud of, to help Illinoisans save money on their car insurance.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Illinois and inform you about insurance laws. It also has information about the cost of driving and insights about insurance risk in Illinois.
How much is car insurance in Illinois? Depending on where you live, many Illinois drivers pay less for car insurance than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in the state of Illinois is $803.64 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your zip code and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$803.64|
|Price Per Month||$66.97|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in Illinois's average auto insurance rate from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Illinois car insurance rates increased from $727 in 2011 to $803 in 2015, a jump of $76, or 10.49 percent.
Shopping for car insurance in Illinois can seem like a lot of work. From researching companies to comparing rates, it’s easy to get overwhelmed.
Let QuoteWizard help. Fill out our easy to use (and understand) form and you’ll be well on your way to finding affordable car insurance. How? We’ll put you in touch with top insurance companies so you can compare quotes and get the best rates.
Last year, 94,266 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Illinois from top companies.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Illinois. Out of the 94,266 Illinois drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 11,674 were uninsured.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Illinois drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Illinois, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/20. This means you must have:
The state of Illinois requires your signature on the Vehicle Renewal Registration Application, indicating a promise to maintain the minimum insurance requirements for the full term of your registration period.
All drivers in Illinois must be prepared to show proof of car insurance, in the form of a car insurance identification card, to law enforcement upon request.
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor.
Illinois conducts random checks of registered drivers to find out if they are carrying the required insurance minimums. This check is done randomly in the form of a questionnaire asking the name of your insurance company and policy number. If you don’t have insurance or don’t return the questionnaire, your license plates will be suspended.
If you are stopped by law enforcement or get into an accident and cannot prove that you meet the minimum Illinois insurance requirements, you will face the following penalties:
Illinois requires Financial Responsibility Insurance (SR-22) for anyone with safety responsibility suspensions, unsatisfied judgment suspensions, revocations, mandatory insurance supervisions and anyone with 3 or more convictions for failing to maintain the state’s minimum insurance requirements. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
An SR-22 can only be obtained from an insurance company that's both authorized to write SR-22 policies in Illinois and has a power of attorney on file with the state. An SR-22 must be submitted on a Financial Responsibility certificate from the insurer’s home office and will be issued via one of the following forms:
Illinois State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 3 years for a first offense.
To regain your driving privileges without an SR-22, you have a few options. You can: deposit $55,000 in cash or securities with the Illinois State Treasurer, or file a surety bond. You may also file a real estate bond approved by a court of record.
The state of Illinois reports that in 2013, the use of cell phones (talking or texting) was the primary cause of at least 1,400 car accidents.
To address the problem of distracted driving in Illinois, the state legislature has enacted some of the strongest cell phone restrictions in the nation. These cell phone restrictions include:
These laws were designated primary. This means troopers and police can pull you over and issue a citation even if no other infraction occurred.
This law requires that any driver submit to blood, breath, or urine testing. These tests check for alcohol or drugs when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for a DUI:
Illinois law also says that drivers consent to a pre-arrest preliminary breath test. You’re not required to take this test, but if you refuse and law enforcement has some other reason to suspect that you’ve been driving under the influence, you can still be arrested. And then you will be required to consent to testing.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Illinois with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Illinois’s Child Passenger Protection Act requires that all children younger than 8 years of age use appropriate child safety seats. Children weighing more than 40 pounds may ride in the back seat as long as they are wearing at least a lap belt, if no shoulder belt is available.
If you’re pulled over by law enforcement and it’s discovered that children are not legally secured, you will be subject to a fine. However, you will be eligible for court supervision if you can prove both the installation of an approved child restraint system, and the completion of a course on the installation and use of that restraint system. Second offenses and subsequent violations will be subject to a $200 fine without the possibility of court supervision.
In 2011, 5,180 drivers in Illinois were cited and convicted of failing to use appropriate child restraint systems.
Illinois has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license program beginning with a Permit Phase and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for an instruction permit when they have reached 15 years of age if:
The permit phase must last at least 9 months, but the permit is valid for up to 2 years. During the Permit Phase new drivers are required to practice driving a minimum of 50 hours, 10 of them at night, all while supervised by a parent or someone at least 21 years of age with a valid driver’s license. Teen drivers must also obey the following nighttime driving restrictions:
Young drivers with instruction permits must also obey the following rules:
If all prerequisites and conditions have been met, young drivers 16 or 17 years of age may move on to the Initial Licensing Phase. During this phase, new drivers must follow the same nighttime restrictions as drivers in the permit phase and:
Young drivers between the ages of 18 and 20 that have satisfied all prerequisites and conditions can move to the Full Licensing Phase which has only the following conditions:
The license renewal cycle for drivers in Illinois is every 4 years until their 81st birthday. Drivers between the ages of 81 and 86 are required to renew their licenses every 2 years. Drivers 87 and older must renew their licenses every year. In addition, when Illinoisans reach the age of 75, they must take and pass a driving test to renew their driver's licenses.
Illinois requires that all passengers 8 years of age and older wear seat belts in both the front and back seats of moving vehicles. Failure to comply will result in a fine of $25 plus court costs.
In 2011, over 84,017 people were cited and convicted of failing to wear seat belts in the State of Illinois.
When you drive a vehicle in Illinois that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Illinois in 2015, was $803.64 compared to a national average of $889.01. Illinois is ranked the 26th most expensive state, including the District of Columbia, for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Illinois taxes gasoline at 30.18 cents per gallon. Federal fuel taxes add another 18.4 cents per gallon bringing the total tax that Illinoisans pay at the pump to 48.58 cents per gallon. Illinois taxes diesel fuel at 33.40 cents per gallon and, when the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon is applied, the total tax for diesel fuel in Illinois is 57.80 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 924 traffic fatalities in Illinois, a 6% decrease from the 991 traffic fatalities reported in 2013.
Illinois had 17,451 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 16.5% decrease compared to 2013 when 20,896 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 135.5 per 100,000, a decrease of 16.4% from the 2013 rate of 162.1 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Illinois is lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2012.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 13.3% of all drivers on Illinois roads had no car insurance. This number is slightly higher than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Illinois 20th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|1||5.58%||Allstate (Fire & Casualty)|
|2||4.26%||Illinois Farmers Insurance Co.|
|4||4.13%||American Family Mutual|
|6||2.66%||Progressive Northern Ins.|
|7||2.35%||Country Mutual Ins.|
|8||2.04%||Progressive Universal Ins.|
|9||1.82%||American Access Cas|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.