On average, your neighbors pay $73 a month.See Your Rates
West Virginia may be the Mountain State, but the useful insurance information that QuoteWizard has compiled from industry and regulatory sources, can help you keep your rates from being sky-high.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in West Virginia, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in West Virginia? Average insurance premiums here are almost identical to the national average. Prices may vary depending on your limits, urban conditions, coverage, and zip code.
On average, the cost of auto insurance in West Virginia is $855.25 a year. The national average price is $889.01.
|Total Annual Cost||$855.25|
|Price Per Month||$73.77|
The graph below shows the change in average West Virginia rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, West Virginia car insurance rates increased from $834 in 2011 to $855 in 2015, a jump of $21 dollars, or 2.54 percent.
Car insurance is a must-have for most people, whether they live in West Virginia or somewhere else in the US. But that doesn’t mean you should go with the first policy that comes your way.
You want a policy that’s reliable and fits your needs while also being affordable. To get that, you have to compare auto insurance quotes.
That can take some time if you do it yourself. With QuoteWizard, you can do it in seconds. Fill out our form and we’ll connect you to multiple top car insurance companies in West Virginia so you can compare rates and get the best coverage.
Last year, 20,834 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in West Virginia from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by West Virginia drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of West Virginia. Out of the 20,834 West Virginia drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 2,341 were uninsured.
Legally, almost all drivers in the US are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but those levels vary significantly from state to state. In West Virginia, drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/25 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include at least the following:
Uninsured motorist coverage is not required in West Virginia, but it will be automatically added to your policy unless you reject it in writing.
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that offer more coverage, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above coverage.
Any time you drive in West Virginia, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Operating a vehicle without the required coverage is a misdemeanor, and is punishable by both a fine of up to $5,000 and the suspension of your driver’s license and registration.
West Virginia residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
West Virginia law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Drivers under the age of 18 may not use cell phones at any time while driving. West Virginia prohibits all drivers from hand-held cell phone use while driving, but they may use a hands-free headset system. All drivers are also banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in West Virginia.
West Virginia’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested for suspicion of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of West Virginia with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Children must be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they reach 8 years of age or four feet nine inches in height, whichever comes first. Once children reach this threshold, they may use a vehicle’s regular seat belts. The maximum fine for failing to properly restrain children in West Virginia is $20 for a first offense.
West Virginia has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with an instruction permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
New drivers must pass a written test and be 15 years old in order to get an instruction permit. Once a driver has an instruction permit, they are required to drive 50 hours under supervision. Ten of those hours must be at night. If a new driver completes an approved driver’s education class, the requirement of 50 hours of supervised driving is waived. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, an intermediate license is issued.
Drivers in the intermediate stage cannot drive between the hours of 10 pm and 5 am. During their first six months of driving with their intermediate license, drivers may not have any passenger in the car under age 20 (excluding family). After they have been driving with an intermediate license for six months, they may have a maximum of one passenger under age 20 (excluding family). Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 17.
West Virginia has no special provisions for senior drivers. All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 8 years.
The driver and all passengers between age 8 and 18 must wear seat belts. Any front seat passengers over age 18 must also wear a seat belt. A first offense for not wearing one’s seat belt can result in a fine of up to $25.
When you drive a vehicle in West Virginia that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in West Virginia in 2015 was $855.25 compared to a national average of $889.01. West Virginia is the 19th most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of West Virginia taxes gasoline at 33.20, and diesel fuel at 34.60 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on gasoline is 51.60 cents per gallon. For diesel fuel, the total tax adds up to 59 cents per gallon.
West Virginia archives crash statistics, and a wide variety of other types of vehicle safety data here: West Virginia Safety Data
In 2014, there were 272 traffic fatalities in West Virginia, a 18% decrease from the state’s 332 traffic fatalities in 2013.
West Virginia had 1,896 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 3.6% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 102.5 per 100,000, a slight increase from the 2013 rate of 106.1 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in West Virginia is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of West Virginia residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 8.4%. That ranks West Virginia as #40 among US states and the District of Columbia, significantly better than average.
|2||13%||Erie Insurance Property & Casualty|
|3||8%||Berkshire Hathaway Inc.|
|4||7.7||Allstate Property & Casualty|
|7||3.7%||Hartford Financial Services|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.