On average, your neighbors pay $100 a month.See Your Rates
North Carolinians are no stranger to cars or driving -- after all, North Carolina is home to the NASCAR Hall of Fame. However, even a big time motorhead might not know the ins and outs of their state’s insurance laws. That’s where QuoteWizard comes in.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in North Carolina, provide information about the cost of driving, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect you and your family.
North Carolina residents should be pleased to learn that for many drivers, average car insurance rates here are lower than the national average. Premiums will vary depending on your zip code, local crime, and the number of claims filed.
The average cost of auto insurance in North Carolina is $643.84 a year. The national average annual cost of auto coverage is $866.31.
|Total Cost Per Year||$643.84|
|Price Per Month||$53.65|
Shopping for car insurance in North Carolina can seem like a lot of work. From researching companies to comparing rates, it’s easy to get overwhelmed.
Let QuoteWizard help. Fill out our easy to use (and understand) form and you’ll be well on your way to finding affordable car insurance. How? We’ll put you in touch with top insurance companies so you can compare quotes and get the best rates.
Last year, 94,418 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quote comparison in North Carolina from top auto insurance companies and find the cheapest rates.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by North Carolina drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of North Carolina. Out of the 94,418 North Carolina drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 8,549 had no car insurance.
Legally, almost all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of car insurance, but the minimum required coverage varies from state to state. In North Carolina, drivers need to follow what is known as the 30/60/25 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare required minimum to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection.
Any time you drive in North Carolina, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Failing to maintain proof of insurance is punishable by a fine and/or jail time. You will also likely have your driver’s license suspended.
North Carolina is unusual in that doesn't require drivers convicted of DWIs or other major traffic violations to file an SR-22 to prove that they have legally adequate car insurance. However, moving to North Carolina does not end your requirement to file an SR-22 in your previous state of residence.
North Carolina prohibits drivers under the age of 18 as well as school bus drivers from using cell phones while driving. All drivers are prohibited from using cell phones to send or receive text messages while driving.
North Carolina's Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood or breath when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while impaired (DWI) by alcohol or drugs.
Refuse to take the test, and you will lose your driver license for 1 year.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of North Carolina with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Impaired (DWI).
In order to protect children on its roadways, North Carolina follows strict rules for protecting kids while they are in a moving vehicle:
The maximum fine for failing to properly restrain a child is $25 + $188 in court costs and points on your driving record.
North Carolina has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they’re 15 years old. Drivers in the learner’s permit stage are required to drive 60 hours under supervision, with 10 of those hours being at night. Drivers with a learner's permit are only allowed to drive under the supervision of a parent or guardian with a valid driver's license, and are forbidden to drive between 9:00 pm and 5:00 am for their first six months. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a limited provisional license is issued.
Once a driver has a limited provisional license, they are required to drive a further 12 hours under supervision, with 6 of those hours being at night. They are still not allowed to drive between the hours of 9 pm and 5 am. They are also not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 21 in their vehicle during the intermediate stage. If the under-21 passenger is a family member, no other under-21 passengers are permitted in the vehicle. Drivers are eligible for their full provisional license, and may drive without restrictions once they complete the above requirements and turn 16 1/2.
All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 8 years, except for drivers aged 66 or older, who must renew their license every five years. Drivers age 60 or older are not required to complete the parallel parking portion of the road test.
North Carolina requires everyone age 16 or older in a vehicle to wear a seat belt. Children are required to use approved child seats as mentioned above. The maximum penalty for failing to wear a seat belt is $25.50 + $135.50 in court costs ($10 + no court costs for rear seats).
When you drive a vehicle in North Carolina that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in North Carolina in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $643.84 compared to a national average of $866.31. North Carolina ranks 45th among US states for car insurance expense, far below the national average.
All drivers are subject to both a federal and state gas tax every time they visit the pump. The state of North Carolina taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 35.25 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on regular gasoline is 53.65 cents per gallon; the total tax on diesel is 59.65 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 1,284 traffic fatalities in North Carolina, a 5% decrease from the state’s 1,290 traffic fatalities in 2013.
North Carolina had 13,630 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 5.4% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 137.1 per 100,000, a 6.3% decrease from 2013.
The vehicle theft rate in North Carolina is significantly lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of North Carolina residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 9.1%. That ranks North Carolina as #35 among US states and the District of Columbia, significantly better than average.
|1||16.6%||Nationwide Mutual Group|
|2||9.5%||NC Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co.|
|3||9%||Berkshire Hathaway Inc.|
|5||7.4%||Integon National Insurance Company|
|6||7.3%||United Services Automobile Association (USAA)|
|9||3.4%||Erie Insurance Group|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.