On average, your neighbors pay $102 a month.See Your Rates
Louisiana’s unique culture and geography is unlike any other state in the Union. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which you can use to find the car insurance that meets your unique needs.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Louisiana and inform you about important insurance laws. And it has both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Louisiana. All to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Louisiana ? Residents shouldn't be surprised that average car insurance rates here are higher than the national average. New Orleans, LA is the second most expensive city in the country in terms of car insurance. The rest of the state doesn't fare much better. On average, auto insurance in Louisiana costs $1,231.77 per year compared to the national average of $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,231.77|
|Price Per Month||$102.64|
The graph below shows the change in average Louisiana rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Louisiana car insurance rates increased from $1,110 in 2011 to $1,231 in 2015, a jump of $121 dollars, or 10.91 percent.
If you’re like most people in Louisiana, car insurance is a must-have. But that doesn’t mean you should go with the first policy you come across.
You want insurance that’s reliable and fits your needs while also being affordable. To get that, you have to compare auto insurance quotes.
That can take some time if you do it yourself. With QuoteWizard, you can do it in seconds. Fill out our form and we’ll connect you to multiple top car insurance companies so you can compare rates and get the best coverage.
Last year, 58,583 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Louisiana from multiple companies.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Louisiana. Out of the 58,583 Louisiana drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 6,820 had no car insurance.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Louisiana drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Louisiana, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 15/30/25. This means you’re required to have:
If you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Louisiana, you must be prepared to show proof of insurance to law enforcement upon request. You’ll need to have at least the minimum liability coverage required by the state to register your vehicle or renew registration. The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) verifies insurance electronically when you buy a car from a dealer or renew your registration online. If you buy a car from a private party, renew your license in person at the OMV, or transfer an out-of-state title you’ll need to provide proof of insurance. You'll get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
Proof of insurance may include any of the following:
Failure to provide proof of insurance to law enforcement can result in any of the following:
The state of Louisiana has enacted legislation known as the “No Pay, No Play” law. This law limits what uninsured drivers can collect for damages sustained in accidents regardless of who was at fault.
This law prohibits uninsured motorists from receiving:
Passengers aren’t subject to this law and can collect full damages unless they were riding in an uninsured vehicle they owned.
This law does not apply if the other driver:
Louisiana residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other violations may be required to file an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver can prove future responsibility.
Louisiana state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 3 years. Subsequent violations could result in additional penalties.
To combat distracted driving on state roadways, Louisiana has enacted legislation that limits driver use of cell phones and electronic communication devices.
These limitations include:
Louisiana’s Implied Consent law requires drivers to submit to tests when arrested for suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI). These tests determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood, breath, or urine. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DWI:
It’s illegal to drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Louisiana if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. The BAC limits are even lower for minors under 21 and commercial drivers. This law also makes it illegal to drive when you’re under the influence of drugs like marijuana, barbiturates, amphetamines, or tranquilizers.
The penalties for a first offense DWI conviction in Louisiana are:
The penalties for a second offense DWI conviction in Louisiana are:
The penalties for a third offense DWI conviction in Louisiana are:
The penalties for a fourth offense DWI conviction in Louisiana are:
If you kill someone while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you could face up to 20 years in prison.
In 2014, Louisiana reported 7,977 arrests for driving under the influence.
For the protection and safety of young passengers the state of Louisiana requires that:
The maximum penalty for failing to properly restrain children is $100 for a first offense.
Child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Louisiana has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver license (GDL) program for teen drivers. The first step is a learner’s permit phase. It ends with full driver privileges once all conditions are met. Teens can begin the process and apply for a learner’s permit on their 15th birthday if they meet the following conditions:
A learner’s permit allows minors to drive when supervised by a parent or guardian. Any licensed adult at least 21 years of age is also permitted. So is a licensed sibling at least 18 years of age. The only other passengers allowed in the vehicle are immediate family members. Learner’s permits must be held for at least 6 months before applying for an intermediate driver’s license. Applicants for intermediate licenses are also required to have a minimum of 50 hours of driving practice, with at least 15 hours taking place at night.
A teen may may apply for an intermediate driver’s License once:
These licenses allow teens to operate motor vehicles on state roadways with the following restrictions:
May not drive between the hours of 11: 00 pm and 5: 00 am unless they're with:
Must have more than one passenger under 21 years old that's not an immediate family member from of 6:00 pm to 5:00 am unless with:
intermediate licenses can have other passengers in the vehicle with them if one of them is:
But these passengers must be immediate family members. When accompanied by a driver’s education instructor, one or more fellow students may ride in the car, too.
Once a driver turns 17, they can convert their intermediate license into a full Louisiana driver’s license after passing a mandatory road skills test.
Louisiana has few special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their driver license every 4 years. Once a driver turns 70 they must renew their license in person and can no longer renew their licenses by mail.
Louisiana requires the use of seat belts for all drivers and passengers 13 years of age and older riding in motor vehicles. Passengers younger than 13 are required to be restrained according to the state’s child restraint law. The maximum fine for seat belt violations is $25.
In 2012, Louisiana reported that 54 percent of drivers killed in crashes were not wearing seat belts.
When you drive a vehicle in Louisiana that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Louisiana in 2015, was $1,231.77 compared to a national average of $889.01. Louisiana is ranked the 3rd most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Louisiana taxes gasoline at 20.01 cents per gallon. The Federal fuel tax is 18.4 cents per gallon. So, Louisiana residents pay 38.41 cents per gallon in gas taxes. Louisiana taxes diesel fuel at 20.01 cents per gallon. The Federal diesel tax is 24.4 cents per gallon. So Louisianans pay 44.41 cents per gallon in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2012 it was estimated that 13.9% of drivers on Louisiana roads had no car insurance. This number is just above the national average of 12.6% and ranks Louisiana 16th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2014, there were 737 traffic fatalities in Louisiana, a 5% increase from the state’s 703 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Louisiana had 9,891 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 7.9% increase compared to 2013 when 9,165 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 212.7 per 100,000, a increase of 7.4% from the 2013 rate of 198 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Louisiana is identical to the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|3||8.6%||Geico (Berkshire Hathaway)|
|5||5.2%||Southern Farm Bureau|
|9||1.6%||Integon National Group|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.