On average, your neighbors pay $47 a month.See Your Rates
Idaho is known as the Gem State because of its abundance of natural resources. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Idahoans can use to save money on a gem of an insurance policy.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Idaho, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide you with both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Idaho, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Idaho? When it comes to car insurance, Idahoans must be doing something right. Drivers here pay less for car insurance than those in any other state. The low number of uninsured motorists could have something to do with it. Only 6.7 percent of the drivers on Idaho roadways are uninsured.
On average, Idaho drivers pay 35 percent less for auto insurance than the average American. The average cost of car insurance in Idaho is $573.83 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
How much you pay may vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$573.83|
|Price Per Month||$47.82|
The graph below shows the change in average Idaho insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Idaho car insurance rates increased from $535 in 2011 to $573 in 2015, a jump of $38 dollars, or 7.24 percent.
Finding a reliable auto insurance provider is important these days. But how do you determine which insurer is right for you?
One way is to compare rates from a number of different car insurance companies. Let QuoteWizard help you do that. We’ll get you all the info you need, and connect you to a handful of agents who serve Idaho drivers, so you can find a policy that you, your vehicle, and your wallet will love.
Last year, 13,992 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Idaho from top companies.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Idaho drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Idaho. Out of the 13,992 Idaho drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 1,794 were uninsured.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Idaho, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/15. This means that you must have at least:
Idaho also requires insurance companies to include both uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage on the policies of its residents to financially protect them if they’re involved in accidents with drivers that have either no insurance or too little coverage. Drivers can opt out of this coverage if they prefer but must do so in writing.
All drivers in Idaho must be prepared to show proof of car insurance in the form of a car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request.
Failure to show valid proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is a misdemeanor.
If you can't prove that you meet the minimum Idaho insurance requirements before conviction, you could face the following penalties for a first offense:
If you are caught a second time within 5 years of the first offense, the penalties become more severe. The penalties for a second offense or subsequent offenses are:
If you’ve had your license revoked or suspended by the state of Idaho, you will need to apply to the Idaho Transportation Department and pay a reinstatement fee of between $25 and $285 (depending on the seriousness of your offense) when the revocation ends. Generally, reckless driving and DUI convictions will cost you the most.
In addition, you may also be required to file an SR-22, which is a way of proving financial responsibility. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law. Idaho state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 3 years following a first offense.
The state of Idaho reports that in 2014 there were 4,781 total accidents involving distracted drivers in which 39 people lost their lives. There were 761 accidents involving distracted drivers, which caused 364 serious injuries during the same period. These statistics represent 22% of all fatalities and 30% of all serious injuries from accidents on Idaho’s roadways.
Idaho has made it a primary law that drivers cannot text while driving. Because it’s a primary law, law enforcement can pull you over and issue a citation if they see you texting behind the wheel.
Idaho has a "Distraction in/on Vehicle (List)" attribute as part of its contributing circumstances element, meaning that officers are called upon to list any and all distractions in the narrative of the accident report.
Idaho’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for a DUI:
A restricted driver’s license is available if you install an ignition-interlock system in your car. If granted, this license allows you to drive to and from work or school.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Idaho with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Idaho’s Child Passenger Safety Law requires that all children younger than 7 years of age use appropriate child safety restraints. Children up to 40 pounds should use child safety seats and all other children under 7 years old should use belt-positioning booster seats.
If you are pulled over by law enforcement and it’s discovered that children are not legally secured, you will be fined $79 for a first offense. Because this is a primary law, law enforcement may pull you over and issue a citation without any other cause.
Idaho has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license system beginning with a supervised instruction permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a supervised instruction permit (SIP) when they have reached 14 ½ years of age. Before being issued a driver’s license, teens will need to complete an approved driver’s education program, comply with the requirements of Idaho’s GDL program, and complete a 6 month supervised instructional period without acquiring any violations.
During this period, young drivers are also required to:
If a driver receives a citation while operating under the Supervised Instruction Permit, violates any restrictions, or has their driving privileges suspended, the SIP will be canceled and a new one must be applied for. In addition, the 6 month supervised driving period will start over on the day a new SIP is issued.
Drivers that meet the requirements of the GDL program, and are at least 15 years of age, may take both the knowledge and skills tests. If a driver passes both tests, they will be issued a driver's license. If a driver fails either test, they must wait 3 days before retaking the test.
Even with a driver's license, some restrictions remain for young drivers:
The license renewal cycle for drivers in Idaho is every 8 years through their 62nd year. When Idahoans reach the age of 63, they are required to renew their license every 4 years.
Idaho requires that all passengers 8 years of age and older wear seat belts in both the front and back seats. Failure to comply will result in a fine of $10 plus administrative fees. Drivers under 18 years of age are required to pay $51.50 plus court costs.
When you drive a vehicle in Idaho that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Idaho in 2015 was $573.83 compared to a national average of $889.01. Idaho is the least most expensive state (51st including Washington D.C.) for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Idaho taxes gasoline a 32 cents per gallon. Federal fuel taxes of 18.4 cents per gallon brings the total tax Idahoans pay at the pump to 50.40 cents per gallon. Idaho also taxes diesel fuel at 32 cents per gallon and, when the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon is applied, the total tax on a gallon of diesel fuel in Idaho is 56.40 cents.
In 2012 it was estimated that 6.7% of all drivers on Idaho roads had no car insurance. This number is much lower than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Idaho 45th in the nation for uninsured motorists. This makes sense given that car insurance in Idaho is cheaper than any other state.
In 2014, there were 22,134 car accidents, a 1% decrease from the 22,347 crashes reported in 2013.
In 2014, there were 186 traffic fatalities in Idaho, a 13.1% decrease from the 214 traffic fatalities reported in 2013.
Idaho had 1,661 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 8% increase compared to 2013 when 1,538 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 101.6 per 100,000, an increase of 6% over the 2013 rate of 95.4 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Idaho is significantly lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.