On average, your neighbors pay $73 a month.See Your Rates
Drivers in the Keystone State should know the rules of the road and the insurance they need. Read on and you’ll find everything you need from average cost of insurance to state auto laws.
How much is car insurance in Pennsylvania? If you’re a driver in the state of Pennsylvania, you know how much at insurance can cost. But did you know that Pennsylvania car insurance premiums are the same as the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Pennsylvania is $878.18 per year. The national annual average cost is $889.01.
Your own rate will depend on your coverage, driving history, and other factors.
|Total Cost Per Year||$878.18|
|Price Per Month||$73.18|
The graph below shows the change in average Pennsylvania insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Pennsylvania car insurance rates increased from $812 in 2011 to $878 in 2015, a jump of $65, or 8.05 percent.
If you’re like most Pennsylvania drivers, you think it's important to have the right kinds of car insurance coverage, not to mention the right amounts. That doesn’t mean you should go with the first policy that comes your way.
You want car insurance that’s reliable and fits your needs while also being affordable. To get that, you have to compare auto insurance quotes.
That can take some time if you do it yourself. With QuoteWizard, you can do it in seconds. Fill out our form and we’ll connect you to multiple top car insurance companies so you can compare rates and get the best coverage.
Last year, 98,196 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Pennsylvania from top companies, and find the cheapest rates.
Out of over 98,000 PA drivers that used QuoteWizard to find quotes last year, 9,688 didn’t have insurance. These are the main insurers Pennsylvania-based QuoteWizard users had last year:
This is a list of the most commonly owned cars of Pennsylvania drivers using QuoteWizard this year:
If you have a poor driving record or insurance history, insurers may consider you high-risk. It’s pricey for insurance companies to cover high-risk drivers. Some refuse a high-risk policy altogether. However, the Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan can help you find basic coverage.
These other companies offer high-risk policies in Pennsylvania:
Insurers see teens as high-risk drivers due to lack of experience. They're more likely to cause a car accident or get a speeding ticket, for example. As such, teens pay more for auto insurance.
Our data shows that teens pay an average of $438 a month for car insurance for an individual policy. This amount drops to $278 if they’re on a parent's plan. Compared to other age groups, this is still pricey. But there are many companies that give discounts for teens with good grades.
These insurance companies offer good coverage for Pennsylvania teens:
By the most current III data, only 7.6 percent of Pennsylvania's drivers are uninsured. That's great news for PA drivers. A low rate of uninsured drivers helps keep car insurance rates down for all drivers.
Every Pennsylvania driver needs minimum 15/30/5 coverage. This means that every driver must carry:
In addition, all PA auto insurance policies must have $5,000 medical benefit coverage.
Minimum coverage is cheaper short term, but not after an accident. Minimum coverage doesn’t include collision or comprehensive coverage. A minimum coverage policy pays for damages to others and their property. However, it won’t cover you, your injuries, or your property. If you only have minimum coverage and you cause an accident, you're responsible for all your expenses.
Collision coverage takes care of damages after accidents. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages that only involve your car. This includes events like disasters, theft, and vandalism.
Given that, if you can afford it, we recommend the following coverage:
Better coverage means peace of mind. And even though it comes with a higher monthly rate, it can save you money in the long run. If your finances permit, get comprehensive and collision coverage. Also get a deductible that works with your budget. To protect against drivers with low or no insurance, consider uninsured/uninsured coverage. Also, look at medical payment coverage and personal injury protection. They cover medical costs after an accident.
All Pennsylvania drivers need to show proof of insurance upon request. Proof of insurance is also required to register or renew registration with the DMV.
The following are considered acceptable proof of insurance in PA:
If you cannot provide proof of insurance, you face a three-month suspension. There's also a $300 fine, plus $176 in fees to get your license and registration back.
Pennsylvania is one of the few states that doesn't require drivers to file an SR-22 to prove that they have the legal minimum car insurance.
If your car is damaged and the cost to repair it is greater than the car’s actual value, your insurer will deem it a total loss. A total loss vehicle comes with a salvage title. Once it's repaired, it gets a rebuilt title.
In Pennsylvania, total loss is calculated by a total loss formula. Add the repair costs to the car's salvage value. If that number is greater than the car's actual cash value, your insurer will consider it a total loss.
Buying insurance for a rebuilt or salvage vehicle in Pennsylvania is hard. Some insurance companies won't cover such vehicles. Expect to pay higher rates if your car has a rebuilt or salvage title - if you can get coverage.
Pennsylvania has laws in place to cut down on distracted driving accidents. The state prohibits all drivers from texting while driving.
Pennsylvania does not prohibit the use of cellphones while driving. But if the police see you driving while texting, you can receive a $50 fine.
PA has a three-tiered system for enforcing driving under the influence (DUI) laws. The three tiers are:
Depending on the tier you fall into, fines range from $300 to $10,000 and jail time from six months to five years. Conviction also includes misdemeanors on your record, license suspension, and mandatory treatment.
In any case, a DUI will affect your premiums. Our research shows that drivers with DUIs pay an extra $830 per year for car insurance.
Car insurance rates start to increase when a driver turns 65. As you get older, these rates increase further. In Pennsylvania all drivers must renew their license every four years. Otherwise there are no provisions just for senior citizens.
When driving a vehicle registered to another state in PA, you need the insurance required by that state. You also need proof of insurance.
Our study on the best and worst driving states shows that Pennsylvania is the 33rd worst driving state. According to our city study, Pittsburgh, Allentown, and Philadelphia rank respectively as the 49th, 61st, and 63rd worst drivers in the country. This ranking is based on accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, and citations.
In 2017, there were 1,137 traffic fatalities in Pennsylvania, 51 less than the 1,188 fatalities reported in 2016. Living in an area with a high rate of car fatalities can boost insurance rates.
According to the National Insurance Crime Bureau, nearly 17,000 vehicles were stolen in PA last year. If your car is a theft risk in PA, it can affect your policy rates. Expect to pay higher rates if you drive one of these cars:
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.