Washington is known as the Evergreen State, and with the useful insurance information that QuoteWizard has compiled from industry and regulatory sources, you can save some green.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Washington, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Washington State? Drivers here pay slightly less for car insurance than most Americans. On average, auto insurance in Washington State costs $838.30 a year. The national annual average cost is $841.23.
|Total Cost Per Year||$838.30|
|Price Per Month||$69.86|
When it comes to car insurance in Washington, finding a policy that fits your needs and budget can be tough. Comparing companies and rates makes things a lot easier.
With QuoteWizard, you can compare quotes from top car insurance companies in Washington and discover which one is best for you. All it takes is a few clicks, and you’ll have all the information and help you need.
Last year, 51,592 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quotes comparison in Washington State from top companies and find the cheapest rates.
These are the top 10 vehicles owned by Washington State drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Washington last year. Out of the 51,592 Washington drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 10,213 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Washington, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following limits:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Washington, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
Operating a vehicle without the required insurance coverage is a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of at least $450, and may ultimately result in your driver’s license being suspended.
Washington residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Washington State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
To combat ever-increasing numbers of distracted drivers on the roadway, Washington State has enacted legislation known as the Hands-Free Law. This law makes it illegal to talk or text while holding a cell phone when you are operating a motor vehicle. If a police officer sees you with a cell phone in your hand while driving, they can pull you over and ticket you for $124. Drivers can use hands-free devices if they wish to talk or text. New drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate driver’s licenses may not use cell phones at all except in an emergency.
Children must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system, until the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches or reaches age 8, whichever comes first. After that, children must be properly restrained with a vehicle's safety belt, or, if this is not possible, a booster seat. Children under thirteen years old must be transported in rear seats when practical.
Washington has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they’re 15 years old and have completed an approved drivers' education course. Drivers with learner's permits are required to drive at least 50 hours under supervision. Ten of those hours must be at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, an intermediate license is issued.
Drivers with an intermediate license cannot drive between the hours of 1 am and 5 am. For the first six months of driving, intermediate drivers also cannot have more than one other person in the car under 20 years of age (excluding family). After that, and until they are 18, they may carry no more than 3 passengers under 20 in their vehicle. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 18.
Washington State has no special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 5 years.
Washington State requires that all passengers in moving vehicles wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The minimum penalty for failing to comply is $124 for the first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Washington that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Washington in 2013, the most recent year for which data was available, was $838.30 compared to a national average of $841.23. Washington is the 17th most expensive state for Car Insurance.
The State of Washington taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 44.5 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total taxes on gasoline are 62.9 cents per gallon, and the total taxes on diesel fuel are 68.9 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 462 traffic fatalities in Washington, a 6% increase from the state’s 436 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Washington had 30,647 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 7.8% increase compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 434 per 100,000, an increase of 6.5% over the 2013 rate of 407.6 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Washington is well above the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
|5||2000||Ford Pickup (Full Size)|
|7||1998||Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)|
|10||1999||Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)|
The percentage of Washington residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 16.1%. That ranks Washington as #10 among US states and the District of Columbia, much higher than average.
The Washington Traffic Safety Commission maintains a website with a variety of different types of crash data for the state: Washington State Crash Data
|6||4.15%||Berkshire Hathaway (Includes GEICO)|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.