On average, your neighbors pay $50 a month.See Your Rates
Iowa is known as the Hawkeye State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Iowans can use to analyze their car insurance policies like a hawk.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Iowa, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Iowa, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Iowa? Drivers here pay less for car insurance than those in every state but Idaho. On average, Iowa drivers pay 32% less for auto insurance than the average American. The average cost of car insurance in Iowa is $599.03 per year. The national average annual cost is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$599.03|
|Price Per Month||$49.91|
The graph below shows the change in average Iowa insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Iowa car insurance rates increased from $551 in 2011 to $599 in 2015, a jump of $47 dollars, or 8.58 percent.
Shopping around and comparing auto insurance quotes is important, but who has the time and energy for it? Well, if you use QuoteWizard, you won’t have to worry about time or energy.
That’s because QuoteWizard will connect you to multiple companies that serve Iowa drivers so you can compare car insurance rates and get coverage that fits your needs.
Last year, 27,115 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Iowa from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Iowa drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Iowa. Out of the 27,115 Iowa drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 4,002 had no car insurance.
Iowa is one of the few states in the US that doesn’t require drivers to carry car insurance. That said, if you are involved in an accident, the state of Iowa requires that you show proof of financial responsibility. If you can’t produce this proof immediately, your driving privileges will be suspended. And if your license has been revoked or suspended, Iowa will require proof of financial responsibility for any possible future damages or injuries.
Unlike most states, drivers in Iowa are not required to carry proof of insurance. If, however, you are involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury, death, or property damages of $1,500 or more, you must file an accident report with the Iowa Department of Transportation within 72 hours, even if you weren’t at fault. If law enforcement files a report at the scene, a personal accident report is not required. If a report is not filed and you have not proved financial responsibility, your license and all driving privileges will be suspended.
Proof of financial responsibility can be any of the following:
You won’t have to prove financial responsibility following an accident if:
If you get into an accident and can’t immediately show financial responsibility, your driving privileges will be revoked and suspended.
If your license has been revoked or suspended because of a conviction, unsatisfied judgment or violating Iowa's Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) statute, you must obtain Future Proof of Financial Responsibility immediately and maintain it for 2 years. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your driver's license and all vehicle registrations.
Any of the following are accepted forms of future proof:
Iowa has banned novice drivers from the use of cell phones, both handheld and hands-free, while operating a moving vehicle. Iowa has also made it illegal for any driver to text while driving, but this is a secondary law which means law enforcement can only cite you for it if they’ve pulled you over for another reason.
Iowa’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of operating while intoxicated (OWI) by drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for an OWI
Iowa state law also says that you consent to a pre-arrest preliminary breath test. You’re not required to take this test, but if you refuse and law enforcement has some other reason to suspect that you’ve been driving while intoxicated, you can still be arrested. And then you will be required to consent to testing.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Iowa with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI).
The penalties for a first offense OWI conviction are:
The penalties for a second OWI conviction are more severe:
After a third OWI conviction the penalties increase to:
Iowa’s Child Restraint law requires that:
If you are pulled over by law enforcement and it’s discovered that children are not legally secured in your vehicle, you will be subject to a fine of $100 plus administrative costs of at least $195. First offenses will not result in conviction if you can prove you acquired a child restraint.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Iowa has implemented a multi-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with an instruction permit phase and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met. The use of cell phones, smartphones, tablets, electronic communication devices, or entertainment devices is prohibited until drivers turn 18.
Young drivers can apply for an instruction permit on their 14th birthday if they have written consent from a parent or guardian and can pass the written and vision tests. A primary form of identification is also required, as well as proof of residency, and proof of a Social Security Number.
An instruction permit allows young drivers to:
Teens at least 14 ¼ years old can apply for a minor school license if they have:
In addition, both the teen’s school superintendent, principal, or school board chair and a parent or guardian must sign the Affidavit for School License (Form 30021). Passing a driving test may also be required.
A minor school license allows teens to drive without adult supervision between the hours of 5 am and 10 pm while traveling to and from school or school-related activities. Stopping for gas along the way is also allowed.
When teens turn 16 they can apply for an intermediate license if they have:
An intermediate license allows teen drivers to:
Teens that are at least 17 years old can apply for a full driver’s license if they have:
Residents of Iowa 18 years of age and older can apply for a full driver’s license even if they don’t meet any of the GDL requirements.
The license renewal cycle for drivers in Iowa is every 5 years but when drivers reach the age of 70, renewals are required every 2 years.
Iowa requires that all passengers riding in the front seats of moving vehicles wear seat belts at all times. Failure to comply will result in a fine of $127.50 plus court costs.
When you drive a vehicle in Iowa that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state.
The average cost of car insurance in Iowa in 2015 was $599.03 compared to a national average of $889.01 Iowa is ranked the 50th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Iowa taxes gasoline at 32.00 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Iowa can expect to pay a total of 50.40 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill their tanks. Iowa taxes diesel fuel at 33.50 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Iowans will pay 57.90 cents per gallon in taxes on diesel fuel.
In 2013, there were 317 traffic fatalities in Iowa, a 13% decrease from the 365 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Iowa had 4,151 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.4% decrease compared to 2013 when 4,255 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 133.6 per 100,000, an decrease of 2.9% over the 2013 rate of 137.6 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Iowa is far lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2012.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at risk.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012, it was estimated that 9.7% of all drivers on Iowa roads had no car insurance. This number is slightly lower than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Iowa 32nd in the nation for uninsured motorists.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.