On average, your neighbors pay $55 a month.See Your Rates
Here at QuoteWizard, we strive to help Wisconsinites save on their insurance. Sometimes, the best rates are hidden. We help residents of the Badger State find them. On, Wisconsin!
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Wisconsin, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Wisconsin? Drivers here are safe, with so few accidents, that Wisconsin insurance rates are much lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Wisconsin is $664.81. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your own driving record, zip code, limits, and coverage.
|Total Cost Per Year||$664.81|
|Price Per Month||$55.40|
The graph below shows the change in average Wisconsin insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Washington's car insurance rates increased from $600 in 2011 to $664 in 2015, a jump of $64, or 10.76 percent.
Finding the right car insurance company and policy in Wisconsin just got easier. Say goodbye to countless hours of researching offerings and comparing rates. With QuoteWizard’s help, you can do both in a matter of minutes--even seconds.
We’ll connect you to a number of top auto insurance companies so you can quickly compare quotes and find the coverage you need for a price you can afford.
Last year, 49,039 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quotes comparison in Wisconsin from multiple companies.
These are the top vehicles owned by Wisconsin drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Wisconsin. Out of the 49,039 Wisconsin drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 8,603 were uninsured.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Wisconsin, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10, plus uninsured/underinsured coverage. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following:
Any time you drive in Wisconsin, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
Failure to show valid proof of insurance at an accident or traffic stop may result in a fine of up to $10 and the suspension of your driver’s license. Operating a vehicle without the required coverage may be punishable by a fine of up to $500. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage may result in a fine of up to $5,000.
Wisconsin residents that have had their driver’s licenses suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Wisconsin state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state that may result in the suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Using a cell phone while driving is against the law in Wisconsin for novice drivers. Full-fledged drivers may use hand-held cell phones while driving. All drivers are banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for an OWI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the Wisconsin with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of OWI.
Wisconsin requires that all children less than 4 years of age or weighing less than 40 pounds ride in federally approved child safety seats. Children under 8 years of age must ride in federally approved booster seats until they weigh more than 80 pounds, or exceed 4 feet 9 inches in height.
In addition, children:
If you're pulled over by law enforcement and it's discovered that your child isn't lawfully secured, you can face the following penalties:
Wisconsin has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with an instruction permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for an instruction permit once they’re 15 1/2 years old, pass a vision and written test, and enroll in an approved driver's education course. Drivers with instruction permits are required to drive 30 hours under supervision to advance to the next step in the process. Ten of those hours must be at night.
Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a probationary license is issued.
Drivers with probationary licenses cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am. For the first nine months of driving, drivers with probationary licenses cannot have more than one other person in the car (excluding immediate family members). These restrictions go away once a driver completes all of the above requirements, and is age 16 3/4. Wisconsin drivers are eligible for a full, regular license once they turn 19.
Wisconsin has no special provisions for senior drivers, but all drivers are required to renew their driver's licenses every 8 years.
Wisconsin requires that all passengers in moving vehicles wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats. The maximum penalty for failing to comply is $10 for the first offense.
When you drive a vehicle in Wisconsin that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Wisconsin in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $664.81 compared to a national average of $889.01. Wisconsin is only the 44th most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Wisconsin taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 32.9 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on gasoline amounts to 51.3 cents per gallon. For diesel fuel, the total tax in Wisconsin is 57.3 cents per gallon.
The percentage of Wisconsin residents estimated to be driving without car insurance is 11.7%. That ranks Wisconsin as #25 among US states and the District of Columbia - almost exactly average.
In 2014, there were 507 traffic fatalities in Wisconsin, a 7% decrease from the state’s 543 traffic fatalities in 2013.
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation maintains a website with crash data here: Crash Data
Wisconsin had 9,919 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 34.2% increase compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 172.3 per 100,000, a increase of 33.9% from the 2011 rate of 128.7 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Wisconsin is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
|4||2002||Chrysler Town & Country|
|6||1999||Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee|
|8||2000||Chevrolet Pickup ( Full Size)|
|2||9.0%||Artisan & Truckers|
|6||3%||West Bend Mutual|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.