On average, your neighbors pay $84 a month.See Your Rates
Maryland is known as The Old Line State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which you can use to find the cheapest car insurance rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Maryland, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Maryland, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Maryland? Drivers here pay more on average for car insurance than most US driverss. High crime, and the frequency of car accidents per capita are only some of the factors contributing to the elevated insurance rates. On average, auto insurance in Maryland costs $1,016.81 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on your limits, coverage, zip code and the total number of claims filed.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,016.81|
|Price Per Month||$84.73|
The graph below shows the change in average Maryland rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Maryland car insurance rates increased from $956 in 2011 to $1,016 in 2015, a jump of $60 dollars, or 6.35 percent.
If you want car insurance in Maryland that offers reliable coverage at an affordable price, you need to shop around. To do this, you have to compare quotes from multiple insurance companies. But that can be a hassle if you do it on your own. Thankfully, QuoteWizard makes it a lot easier.
We’ll help you by introducing you to a number of top insurance companies. Then you can compare rates and decide which coverage options are the best for your situation. That means less legwork and, better yet, lower costs.
Last year, 43,040 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Maryland from multiple companies.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Maryland drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Maryland. Out of the 43,040 Maryland drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 3,776 had no car insurance.
Nearly all US drivers are legally required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but those levels vary significantly from state to state. In Maryland, drivers need to follow what is known as the 30/60/15 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Maryland also requires its residents to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This additional mandatory coverage protects you and your passengers from injuries sustained in crashes involving:
Maryland requires residents to maintain uninsured motorist coverage levels equal to the minimum liability requirements:
In 2012, it was estimated that 12.2% of Maryland drivers had no car insurance.
In an effort to protect its motorists from rising medical costs, Maryland requires drivers to include $2,500 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) per person on their car insurance policies. PIP pays medical bills, loss of income, and helps defray other costs regardless of fault in an accident.
Personal Injury Protection generally covers the following:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Unlike most states, Maryland only requires proof of insurance under certain circumstances including:
The only proof of insurance accepted by the MVA is a Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19). Identification cards from your insurer and copies of your policy will not be accepted as proof of insurance. Signing this form is a promise to maintain the state’s minimum insurance for the duration of your vehicle’s registration period.
Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19) Facts:
If you’re convicted of operating a vehicle in Maryland without insurance, you could face the following penalties on top of any punishment or fines imposed by a court of law:
While many states require an SR-22, Maryland residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other serious violations may be required to file a Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19).
To combat distracted driving on state roadways, Maryland has enacted legislation that limits driver use of cell phones and electronic communication devices. These limitations include:
Maryland reports that in 2011 a total of 29,050 people were injured and 231 lost their lives in distracted driver-related crashes.
Maryland’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when stopped by law enforcement if they reasonably believe that you’ve been driving while impaired (DWI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DWI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Maryland with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.07%, you are guilty of Driving While Impaired (DWI).
The penalties for a first offense DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DWI conviction are more severe:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Maryland with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). This is a criminal offense with severe penalties.
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
In 2010, Maryland reported 177 deaths in crashes involving alcohol or drugs. These fatalities represent 36% of the 496 total deaths on Maryland roadways. Each year, over 8,000 impaired driving crashes occur on Maryland roadways and 35% of these result in injury.
Any minor less than 21 years of age convicted of operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher will have face the same penalty as adults for a first offense DUI:
The number of Maryland drivers under 21 who were involved in crashes with alcohol in their systems decreased by 11 percent since implementation of the state’s Zero Tolerance law.
To protect the lives of children and young passengers, the state of Maryland requires that:
Drivers are responsible for making sure children are properly secured. A first time violation is punishable by a fine of $50.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Maryland has implemented a graduated driver's license program for teen drivers that consists of 3 levels, beginning with the learner’s permit phase and ending with a full driver’s license once all conditions are met.
Teens can begin the process and apply for a learner’s permit when they are 15 years and 9 months old if they meet the following conditions:
Learner’s permits allow minors to drive when supervised by a qualified supervising driver at least 21 years of age that has held a driver’s license for at least 3 years. Supervising drivers must be seated next to the new driver at all times. No other passenger may be in the front seat. The use of cell phones for any reason is prohibited for drivers under 18.
Learner’s permit holders under the age of 25 must:
Teens may apply for a provisional license once they’ve satisfied the following requirements:
Provisional licenses allow teens and other novice drivers to operate motor vehicles on state roadways with the following restrictions:
Once a driver turns 18, they can convert their provisional license into a full Maryland driver’s license.
In Maryland, between 2007 and 2011, young drivers were involved in an average of 15,801 crashes per year resulting in an average of 9,546 injuries. In this same period, an average of 87 people died each year in crashes involving drivers between the ages of 16 and 20. These numbers represent 20% of all Maryland traffic injuries and 16% of all fatalities.
The driver’s license renewal cycle in the state of Maryland is every 5 years. When driver’s turn 40, they must pass a vision test at their next renewal and every subsequent renewal.
Maryland requires the use of seat belts for all drivers and passengers 16 years of age or older. The maximum fine for seat belt violations is $83.
In 2012, Maryland estimated that 91.1% of drivers and passengers used seat belts, a decrease of 3.1% compared to 2011 when it was estimated that 94.2% wore seat belts.
When you drive a vehicle in Maryland that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state.
The average cost of car insurance in Maryland in 2015, was $1,016.81 compared to a national average of $889.01. Maryland is ranked the 11th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Maryland taxes gasoline at 32.60 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Maryland can expect to pay a total of 51 cents per gallon at the gas station in taxes. Maryland taxes diesel fuel at 33.35 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Marylanders will pay 57.75 cents per gallon in taxes for diesel fuel.
In 2014, there were 442 traffic fatalities in Maryland, a 5% decrease from the state’s 465 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Maryland had 13,102 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.3% decrease compared to 2013 when 13,417 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 219.2 per 100,000, a decrease of 3% from the 2013 rate of 225.9 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Maryland is slightly higher than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 12.3% of drivers on Maryland roads had no car insurance. This number is nearly equal to the national average of 12.6% and ranks Maryland 22nd in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|8||1.7%||Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF)|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.