Where to Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas
USAA and Auto-Owners offer the cheapest car insurance rates in Kansas, according to a QuoteWizard survey of companies serving the state.
Kansas drivers pay an average of $254 per year when they buy the minimum amount of auto insurance the state requires from USAA. And our data shows they pay an average of $730 per year for a full-coverage policy when they buy it from the same company.
Auto-Owners offers similarly cheap car insurance to Kansans. Drivers in this state pay an average of $280 per year when they get state-minimum coverage from Auto-Owners, and an average of $837 per year when they get full coverage from the provider.
These rates are notably cheaper than the state averages for such auto insurance policies. Based on our research, a typical Kansas driver spends $434 per year on minimum coverage and $1,246 per year on full coverage.
In this article, we’ll tell you all you need to know about:
- Where to find cheap car insurance in Kansas
- Best auto insurance companies in Kansas
- Most popular car insurance companies in Kansas
- Kansas auto insurance laws
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Kansas?
USAA offers the cheapest car insurance rates to Kansas drivers who want full coverage, with a $730 average annual premium. USAA offers the cheapest rates in the state for minimum car insurance, too, with a $254 average annual premium.
These rates are based on quotes we gathered for an average driver in Kansas.
Several other insurers also offer affordable car insurance to the Sunflower State, our research shows. Auto-Owners is one of them. The average premium it offered our sample driver for a full-coverage policy was just under $9 per month more than what USAA offered — and $34 per month less than the state average.
State Farm, Progressive and Farm Bureau are three more companies offering full-coverage car insurance that is cheaper than the state average. The average premium State Farm sent our sample driver was $869 per year. Progressive’s and Farm Bureau’s were $940 per year and $1,014 per year, respectively. The state average for this kind of policy — which usually provides liability, collision and comprehensive coverage — is $1,246 per year.
Auto-Owners, Farm Bureau, Progressive and State Farm are among the cheapest insurance companies in Kansas when it comes to state-minimum car insurance as well.
For example, the average premium Auto-Owners offered our sample driver for a state-minimum policy was only about $2 per month more than what USAA offered. The average premium Progressive offered our driver for minimum coverage was $4.50 per month more than USAA’s average premium.
Many rate factors determine how much you pay for car insurance, including your age, gender and marital status. Because of that, the quotes these and other companies send you may be cheaper or more expensive than the ones this article highlights.
What are the best car insurance companies in Kansas?
USAA and Auto-Owners are the best car insurance companies in Kansas if you want cheap coverage, according to our survey of the state’s providers. Progressive and State Farm are great options, too.
USAA: best car insurance rates in Kansas
USAA is our choice as best car insurance company in Kansas because it offered our sample driver the lowest rates for both full-coverage and state-minimum policies.
USAA offered our sample driver an average rate of $254 per year for the minimum amount of auto insurance Kansas requires. This is $180 per year cheaper than the state average for such coverage.
Also, USAA offered our sample driver an average rate of $730 per year for full coverage. This is $516 per year cheaper than the state average.
Auto-Owners: runner-up for best car insurance rates in Kansas
You should get quotes from Auto-Owners while shopping for cheap car insurance in Kansas for two reasons. One is that it offered our sample driver some of the lowest rates in the state for both minimum and full-coverage policies. Another is that more people can buy coverage from Auto-Owners than from USAA. USAA only insures active military, veterans and certain family members.
At any rate, Auto-Owners offered our driver an average premium of $280 per year for state-minimum coverage. And it offered our driver an average premium of $837 per year for full coverage. Those average premiums are only $2 per month and $9 per month more expensive than USAA’s average premiums, respectively.
Progressive: another good option for cheap state-minimum car insurance in Kansas
Progressive provided our sample driver an average annual premium of $308 for state-minimum car insurance coverage. This is $126 per year cheaper than the Kansas average. That’s a difference of $10.50 per month.
So, if you can’t or don’t want to get car insurance from Auto-Owners or USAA, check out Progressive for this kind of policy.
State Farm: another good option for cheap full-coverage car insurance in Kansas
State Farm provided our sample driver an average annual premium of $869 for full-coverage car insurance. This is $377 per year, or $31 per month, cheaper than the state average for this amount of coverage.
Like Progressive, State Farm is a good backup option if USAA and Auto-Owners aren’t possibilities for you.
What are the most popular auto insurance companies in Kansas?
State Farm is Kansas’ most popular car insurance company, writing 19% of the state’s auto policies.
USAA, our pick for best car insurance rates in Kansas, is the state’s fifth-largest insurer in terms of market share. It writes 7% of auto coverage here.
|Insurance company||Kansas market share|
|Source: S&P Global|
Our runner-up for cheapest rates in Kansas, Auto-Owners, writes just under 1% of the state’s car insurance policies. That puts it in 17th place as far as the most popular insurers in Kansas are concerned.
What is Kansas state-minimum auto insurance?
Kansas requires all car insurance policies sold in the state to include a minimum of 25/50/25 coverage. This means they must have at least:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person.
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
- $25,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Vehicle owners and drivers in Kansas need at least the following amounts of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, too:
- $25,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person.
- $50,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident.
A no-fault state, Kansas also requires its drivers to carry a certain amount of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. The minimums in this case are:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses.
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses.
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses.
- $900 per month (for up to one year) for disability or loss of income.
- $25 per day for in-home services.
SR-22 insurance in Kansas
You may need to file an SR-22 in Kansas for 12 months if the state:
- Catches you driving without insurance or without enough insurance.
- Suspends your license because you failed to show proof of insurance.
- Declares you a “habitual violator” after convicting you of three or more serious traffic offenses within a five-year period.
We conducted a comprehensive study of auto insurance rates in Kansas through Quadrant Information Services. The quotes we collected were for a single, 35-year-old male who has an excellent credit score and a clean driving record. He owns a 2012 Honda Accord and drives it an average of 15,000 miles a year. His car insurance policy has 100/300/50 coverage limits and a $1,000 deductible, where applicable.
Car insurance by city
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.