On average, your neighbors pay $56 a month.See Your Rates
The common image of Nebraska to outsiders is flat corn fields stretching to the horizon. However, there’s much more to Nebraska. Big cities, rolling hills, and a mountain over a mile high in elevation, for example. These are all landscapes that can be treacherous for drivers, which is why Nebraska drivers should be concerned about car insurance.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Nebraska. It also provides information about the cost of driving including average rates and shares some insights about insurance risk.
How much is car insurance in Nebraska? Drivers here are helping their pocketbooks by driving defensively. Insurance premiums in Nebraska is much lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Nebraska is $681.54 a year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$681.54|
|Price Per Month||$56.79|
The graph below shows the change in average Nebraska rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Nebraska car insurance rates increased from $602 in 2011 to $681 in 2015, a jump of $79 dollars, or 13.14 percent.
When it comes to car insurance in Nebraska, finding a policy that fits your needs and budget can be tough. Comparing companies and rates makes things a lot easier.
With QuoteWizard, you can compare quotes from top car insurance companies and discover which one is best for you. All it takes is a few clicks, and you’ll have all the information and help you need.
Last year, 15,843 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Nebraska from top companies, and find the cheapest rates.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Nebraska drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Nebraska. Out of the 15,843 Nebraska drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 1,724 had no car insurance.
Legally, nearly all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but the minimum coverage levels vary from state to state. In Nebraska drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/25 rule when it comes to their insurance policy.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember you can purchase plans that cover more. But if you want bare minimum liability insurance make sure your policy has the above protection. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Nebraska, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Nebraska also requires its residents to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This additional mandatory coverage protects you and your passengers from injuries sustained in crashes involving:
Nebraska requires residents to maintain uninsured motorist coverage levels equal to the minimum liability requirements:
In 2012, it was estimated that 6.7% of Nebraska drivers had no car insurance.
If you can't provide proof of insurance when asked by law enforcement, you have 10 days to produce proof of current and effective liability insurance or proof of financial responsibility. Another option is proving you had the required minimum liability coverage at the time of the request.
If you're unable to produce proof of car insurance or financial responsibility, you are guilty of a Class II misdemeanor that carries the following penalties:
Nebraska residents that have had their driver’s licenses suspended due to drunk driving convictions, or other violations, must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Nebraska State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Nebraska bans novice drivers from using cell phones in any way while driving. All drivers are forbidden to send or receive text messages while driving in Nebraska.
Nebraska’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when stopped by law enforcement if they reasonably believe that you’ve been driving under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Nebraska with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08%, you are guilty of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
All children age five and younger must ride correctly secured in a federally-approved child safety seat. Children age six and up must ride secured in a safety belt or child safety seat.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Nebraska has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner's permit and ending with a driver's license with full driver privileges.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner's permit once they’re 15 years old and pass written and vision tests. Young drivers in Nebraska are required to drive for 50 hours under supervision, with 10 of those hours occurring at night. This requirement does not apply to drivers that have completed a Driver’s Education course. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, they obtain a provisional operator’s permit.
Drivers with a provisional operator’s permit are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 am, unless they have a parent or legal guardian with them. In addition, they are forbidden from having more than one passenger in the car under the age of 19, who is not an immediate family member. Drivers are eligible for an operator's license with full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 17.
All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 5 years. Drivers age 72 and up are not allowed to renew their driver’s license electronically.
Nebraska requires that everyone in the front seats of a vehicle, age 18 or older, must wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as mentioned above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $25.
When you drive a vehicle in Nebraska that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Nebraska in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $681.54 compared to a national average of $889.01. Nebraska ranks 41st out of all US states for car insurance expense.
The state of Nebraska taxes gasoline at 27.7 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 27.1 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. This works out to a total of 46.1 cents in taxes per gallon of regular fuel, and 51.5 cents per gallon of diesel fuel.
In 2014, there were 192 traffic fatalities in Nebraska, a 16% decrease from the state’s 229 traffic fatalities in 2013.
The Nebraska Department of Transportation maintains a website with vehicle crash statistics here: http://dot.nebraska.gov/safety/crash/
Nebraska had 4,455 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a .1% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 236.8 per 100,000, a .8% decrease over 2013.
The vehicle theft rate in Nebraska is slightly higher than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2012.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Nebraska residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 6.7%. That ranks Nebraska 44th among US states and the District of Columbia, much better than average.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.