On average, your neighbors pay $57 a month.See Your Rates
Montana’s state nickname is “Big Sky Country”. With the research and insights that QuoteWizard has compiled about car insurance in Montana on this page, it could be "Big Savings Country".
We’ll show you which types of coverage are legally required in Montana, provide information about the cost of driving, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Montana? Drivers here are doing something right. The average cost of car insurance in Montana is much cheaper than what many Americans pay.
|Total Cost Per Year||$692.50|
|Price Per Month||$57.70|
The graph below shows the change in average Montana rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Montana car insurance rates increased from $654 in 2011 to $692 in 2015, a jump of $38 dollars, or 5.80 percent.
Looking for car insurance in Montana that provides the best coverage for an affordable rate? Shop around and compare rates from a number of insurance companies.
QuoteWizard can help with that. We’ll connect you to top auto insurance companies so you can find a policy that protects you and your loved ones without breaking the bank.
Last year, 9,034 people used QuoteWizard to compare quotes from top companies and find the cheapest auto insurance rates in Montana.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Montana. Out of the 9,034 Montana drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 1,363 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Montana drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Montana, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/20. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Montana, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Montana residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Montana law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in the suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Montana is one of the few states that place no restrictions whatsoever on the use of cell phones while driving.
Montana’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Montana with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
In Montana, children that are less than six years old, and who weigh less than sixty pounds must be secured with an approved child safety seat. The maximum fine for a first offense of not properly restraining a child is $100.
Montana has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner's license and ending with a driver’s license with full driver privileges.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner's license once they’re 14 1/2 years old. Drivers in the learner's license stage are required to drive 50 hours under supervision, with at least 10 of those hours taking place at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 15, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a restricted license is issued.
Drivers in this intermediate license stage are not allowed to drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am. They're also prohibited from having more than 1 passenger under the age of 18 in their vehicle during the first six months that they are in this stage. This limit increases to 3 passengers under the age of 18 the following six months. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the one-year restricted driver's license period, or turn 18, whichever comes first.
Montana drivers have a choice of how frequently they renew their driver’s license. They can renew their driver’s license every 8 years in person, or every 4 years by mail. Drivers over the age of 75 are required to renew their license every 4 years.
Montana requires that all passengers in a moving vehicle aged 6 and up must wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $20.
When you drive a vehicle in Montana that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Montana in 2015, was $692.50 compared to a national average of $889.01. Montana is the 40th most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Montana taxes gasoline at 27.75 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 28.50 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. Total taxes on a gallon of regular fuel amount to 46.15 cents. The total tax on a gallon of diesel fuel is 52.9 cents.
In 2014 there were 192 traffic fatalities in Montana, this is a 16% decrease from the state’s 229 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Montana had 2,043 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, for a vehicle theft rate of 199.6 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in the state of Montana is slightly lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Montana residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 14.1%. That ranks Montana as #15 among US states and the District of Columbia for percentage of uninsured drivers.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.