On average, your neighbors pay $69 a month.See Your Rates
Home of the famous Oregon trail. But residents of this Northwest state have turned in their dust-covered wagons for cars and trucks. Now they travel in comfort as they drive around the beautiful mountains and valleys that Oregonians call home.
Below you will find a variety of resources to keep you up-to-date about insuring your car in Oregon. From required coverage levels and average insurance costs to some of the more unique laws surrounding your car, you’ll find the answers here.
How much is car insurance in Oregon? Average insurance premiums here are slightly lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Oregon is $828.03 per year. The national average annual cost is $889.01.
Prices will vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$828.03|
|Price Per Month||$69.00|
The graph below shows the change in average Oregon rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Oregon car insurance rates increased from $723 in 2011 to $828 in 2015, a jump of $104 dollars, or 14.41 percent.
When it comes to car insurance in Oregon, finding a policy that fits your needs and budget can be tough. Comparing companies and rates makes things a lot easier.
With QuoteWizard, you can compare quotes from top car insurance companies that serve Oregon drivers and discover which one is best for you. All it takes is a few clicks, and you’ll have all the information and help you need!
Last year, 36,483 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Oregon from multiple companies to find the cheapest rates.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Oregon. Out of the 36,483 Oregon drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 5,020 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Oregon drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you are looking to drive a vehicle registered in Oregon, drivers must retain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/20. What does this mean? It means every driver needs to have at least the following coverage:
All car insurance policies in Oregon must include personal injury protection, in addition to the coverage above. This pays for a driver's medical expenses up to 1 year from an accident, regardless of who was at fault. The minimum required amount of coverage is $15,000.
Whenever you hit the road in Oregon, drivers must be ready to show their car insurance identification cards to law enforcement. Your car insurance company will provide you with this card when you purchase a policy.
The card must include all of the following:
Failure to show proof of your insurance is grounds for a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance coverage is viewed as a misdemeanor in the state of Oregon.
Operating a vehicle without the required coverage above will result in a fine of at least $427. Any involvement in an accident without the minimum coverage will result in a 1-year suspension of your Oregon license.
Drivers in Oregon that have had their licenses revoked must be able to provide proof of future responsibility. This is done by filing an SR-22. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by law.
Oregon law mandates that an SR-22 is to be filed and carried on your record for a full 3 years. If a driver fails to have a SR-22 filed when they are required to, an immediate suspension of driving privileges will follow. It can be a long road to recover from an SR-22 on your record, so it’s best to stay up to date on regulations and sober behind the wheel.
With distracted driving and accidents on the rise over the last decade, the state of Oregon has banned the use of any handheld devices while operating a motor vehicle. All drivers are prohibited from talking or texting on their phone without the use of a hands-free device, such as a headset. With the exception of emergency situations, the ticket a police officer will be handing you for breaking this law is $142.
A special note to any Oregon drivers under the age of 18, even the use of a hands-free device is not allowed while driving. Focus on learning the rules of the road before taking those calls!
This law requires that drivers submit to alcohol or drug testing. It tests blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Oregon with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
In order to better protect young children in the event of an accident, Oregon has established the following child restraint laws. Children are required to be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they weigh 40 pounds, or the maximum weight allowed by their forward-facing car seat. Children that weigh more than 40 pounds are required to be restrained in an approved booster seat until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall, or age 8. A rear-facing child safety seat is required for any child weighing less than 20 pounds or under the age of 1. Failure to comply with this law will result in a minimum fine of $110 per child.
Young Oregonians are allowed behind the wheel at the age of 15. After passing a written test, they're issued an instruction permit. They must operate with for a full 6 months before receiving additional license privileges. Drivers with an instruction permit are required to have at least 50 hours of supervised driving under their belt, plus an extra 10 hours of night driving if the student doesn’t go through a driver's education program.
Once new drivers have accrued the required hours, reach age 16, and pass a driver's test, they are eligible to receive a provisional license. They will now be able to drive on their own, with the exception of a curfew from 12 am - 5 am. For newly licensed drivers' first six months of driving, no passengers under the age of 20 are allowed in the car, with the exception of immediate family members. The following six-month period still restricts drivers with provisional licenses from having more than 3 passengers under the age of 20 in their vehicle at any time. It isn’t until those drivers are over the age of 17 and have had a provisional license for a year that they are able to freely drive without passenger restrictions. In another year, when they turn 18, they will be eligible for a full Oregon driver's license.
All drivers in Oregon must renew their license every 8 years, except for drivers who are over the age of 50. They are required by law to complete an eye exam in order to successfully renew their license.
Oregon looks to keep drivers safe by requiring all passengers in a moving vehicle to be wearing seat belts at any given time. Children are required to be restrained in a child safety seat appropriate for their size and weight. Failure to comply will result in a $130 fine for the first offense.
Whether you are visiting or just moved in, when you drive a vehicle in Oregon that is registered in another state you must have the type of insurance required by that state. If requested by law enforcement, you are required to provide the appropriate proof of insurance.
The most recent price data shows the average cost of car insurance coverage in Oregon comes in at $828.03. While this may seem high, Oregon is actually just a bit below the national average of $889.01, and is ranked as the 23rd most expensive state for car insurance.
Oregon taxes gasoline at 31.10 cents per gallon, and diesel at 30.35 per gallon. That’s in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, as well as a 24.4 cents per gallon tax on diesel.
Total taxes on gasoline in Oregon come out to 49.50 cents per gallon. For diesel fuel, the total taxes are 54.75 cents per gallon.
In 2014, 357 motor vehicle related deaths were recorded in Oregon, a 14% increase from the previous year.
In 2014 Oregon drivers filed 9,549 stolen vehicle reports, a 3.7% decrease from the 9,912 stolen cars and trucks in 2013.
How does this stack up on the national level? Nationwide, vehicle thefts in 2014 occurred at a rate of 216.2 per 100,000 people, and the average in Oregon came in slightly higher, at 240.5 per 100,000 people.
Wondering if your car makes you a target for theft in Oregon? Check out the list of the most stolen cars in the state below.
|5||1999||Ford Pickup (Full Size)|
|7||1999||Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)|
|8||1993||Jeep Cherokee/ Grand Cherokee|
|9||1995||Chevrolet pickup (Full Size)|
In 2012, it was estimated that 9.0% of all drivers on Oregon roads were driving without car insurance. This number is well below the national average of 12.6% and ranks Oregon 36th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.