On average, your neighbors pay $51 a month.See Your Rates
Maine’s state animal is the moose and you want to be sure that you have adequate insurance coverage if you ever run into one on the road. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources you can use to make sure your car insurance rates and coverage are what they should be.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Maine, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Maine, all to help protect you and your family.
Congratulations Maine! Car insurance in Maine is far cheaper than it is in most of the country. On average, Maine drivers pay 30% less for auto insurance than the average American. It's not a coincidence that Maine is ranked second for lowest number of uninsured motorists. The average cost of car insurance in Maine is $617.73 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$617.73|
|Price Per Month||$51.47|
The graph below shows the change in average Maine rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Maine car insurance rates increased from $577 in 2011 to $617 in 2015, a jump of $40 dollars, or 6.99 percent.
Finding the right car insurance company and policy in Maine just got easier. Say goodbye to countless hours of researching offerings and comparing rates. With QuoteWizard’s help, you can do both in a matter of minutes--even seconds.
We’ll connect you to a number of top auto insurance companies so you can quickly compare quotes and find the coverage you need for a price you can afford.
Last year, 11,011 people used QuoteWizard to compare quotes from top companies and find the cheapest car insurance in Maine.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Maine drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Maine. Out of the 11,011 Maine drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 968 were uninsured.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Maine, you must maintain a minimum level of liability insurance coverage of 50/100/25. If you move to Maine from another state, you have 30 days to register your vehicle and show proof of insurance with no less than the following minimum liability coverage:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection plan. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Maine also requires its residents to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This additional mandatory coverage protects you and your passengers from injuries sustained in crashes involving:
Maine requires residents to maintain uninsured motorist coverage levels equal to the minimum liability requirements:
This coverage only pays for medical expenses related to accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists. It will not help you recover losses from property damages.
Maine does allow you the option of requesting uninsured motorist coverage levels lower than your liability insurance coverage. Just ask your insurer for a rejection form, then sign it and return it to them before your policy goes into effect.
In 2012, it was estimated that 4.7% of Maine drivers had no car insurance.
In an effort to protect its motorists from rising medical costs, Maine requires drivers to include $2,000 of medical payment coverage on their car insurance policies. This coverage covers medical expenses for you, your passengers, and any family member driving your car. It also covers you and your family members for medical costs resulting from injuries sustained in accidents in vehicles other than your own or as a pedestrian.
Medical payments coverage covers any of the following:
Any time you drive in Maine, you must be prepared to show proof of insurance to law enforcement when stopped for a moving violation or if you’re involved in an accident.
Any of the following are accepted as proof of insurance:
Failure to provide proof of insurance to law enforcement can result in a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $500. If you can produce evidence of liability insurance or financial responsibility in a timely manner, the court may dismiss the violation. If you’re convicted of failing to maintain the minimum liability coverage required by the state, you will face the following suspensions within 30 days:
Maine residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions, reckless driving, driving uninsured or other serious violations may be required to file an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver is covered by car insurance and meets the minimum coverage requirements.
Maine will only accept an SR-22 from a company licensed to sell insurance in the state.
State law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 3 years. Subsequent violations could result in additional penalties.
To combat distracted driving on state roadways, Maine has enacted legislation that limits driver use of cell phones and electronic communication devices. These limitations include:
Maine’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence (OUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for an OUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Maine with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Operating Under the Influence (OUI). This is a criminal offense with severe penalties. If you submit to a blood test and the results indicate a BAC higher than 0.08%, the Secretary of State will suspend your driver’s license immediately prior to any court appearance.
Other penalties for OUI convictions can include:
If you kill someone while driving under the influence, the penalty is up to 30 years in prison and permanent suspension of driving privileges.
In 2012, Maine reported 7,014 arrests for operating under the influence and 45 alcohol-related crash fatalities.
For the protection and safety of younger passengers, the state of Maine requires that:
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Any minor less than 21 years of age found operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle with any alcohol in their system will have their driver’s license suspended for 1 year. If a passenger is in the vehicle, the suspension will be at least 18 months. An extra 6 months will be added to the suspension if a passenger under 21 years of age is in the vehicle.
Maine has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver license (GDL) program for teen drivers beginning with the learner’s permit phase and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met. Teens can begin the process and apply to the Office of the Secretary of State for a learner’s permit on their 15th birthday if they meet the following conditions:
Learner’s permits allow minors to drive when supervised by a parent, guardian, or licensed adult at least 20 years of age. Learner’s permits must be held for at least 6 months before applying for an intermediate driver’s license. Applicants for intermediate licenses are also required to have a minimum of 70 hours driving practice, with at least 10 of them occurring at night. During the learner’s permit phase, using a cell phone to talk or text is prohibited.
Once a young driver has held a Learner’s Permit for at least 6 months, is at least 16 years of age, and has satisfied all other requirements, they may apply for an intermediate driver’s license.
Intermediate licenses allow teens to operate motor vehicles on state roadways with the following restrictions:
Once a driver turns 18, they can convert their intermediate license into a full Maine driver’s license after passing a mandatory road skills test.
In 2011, 27 people were killed in crashes involving teen drivers in Maine
The license renewal cycle in the State of Maine is every 6 years until a driver’s 65th birthday when it’s reduced to every 4 years. When drivers turn 40, they must pass a vision test at their next renewal and every second renewal thereafter until age 62 when a vision test is required at every renewal.
Maine requires the use of seat belts for all drivers and passengers riding in motor vehicles. The maximum fine for seat belt violations is $50.
In 2012, Maine estimated that 84.4% of drivers and passengers used seat belts, an improvement of 2.8% compared to 2011 when it was estimated that 81.6% wore seat belts.
When you drive a vehicle in Maine that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Maine in 2015, was $617.73 compared to a national average of $889.01. Maine is ranked the 48th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Maine taxes gasoline at 30.01 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Maine can expect to pay a total of 48.41 cents per gallon in taxes at the gas station. Maine taxes diesel fuel at 31.21 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Mainers will pay 55.61 cents per gallon in taxes on diesel fuel.
In 2014, there were 131 traffic fatalities in Maine, a 9% decrease from the state’s 144 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Maine had 799 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 12.3% decrease compared to 2013 when 911 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 60.1 per 100,000, a decrease of 12.4% from the 2013 rate of 68.6 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Maine is significantly below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 4.7% of drivers on Maine roads had no car insurance. This number is far below the national average of 12.6% and ranks Maine 50th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|1||13.8%||Progressive Insurance Group|
|2||13.8%||Liberty Mutual Group|
|4||8.0%||Allstate Insurance Group|
|5||5.1%||Concord Group Insurance Companies|
|6||4.1%||USAA Insurance Group|
|8||3.4%||Quincy Mutual Group|
|9||3.2%||Travelers Companies Inc.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.