Start spreading the news! This is the best single site on the Web for information about car insurance in New York.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in New York, provide information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in New York State? Drivers shouldn't be surprised to hear car insurance costs more there than it does in many other parts of the US. Average insurance rates in New York are a much higher than the national average. (That said, prices vary depending on zip code and coverage.)
The average cost of auto insurance in New York is $1,181.86 per year. The national average annual cost is $841.23.
|Total Cost Per Year||$1,181.86|
|Price Per Month||$98.49|
Finding a dependable auto insurance provider in New York is important these days. But how do you determine which one is right for you?
One way is to compare rates from a number of different car insurance companies. Let QuoteWizard help you do that. We’ll get you all the info you need, and connect you to a handful of agents, so you can find a policy that you, your vehicle, and your wallet will love.
Last year, 119,963 people used QuoteWizard to get an auto insurance quotes comparison in New York from top companies and find the cheapest rates.
These are the 10 vehicles owned by New York drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
This is our list of the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of New York last year. Out of the 119,963 New York drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 11,791 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in New York, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following:
New York is one of the 12 US states that have a no-fault insurance system. In no-fault states, accident victims can collect benefits from their own insurance companies, regardless of whether the other party is insured. Liability coverage is meant to help pay for other peoples’ medical and repair bills if you're found at fault in a car accident. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is intended to pay for your medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who was at fault.
Any time you drive in New York, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You'll get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
Driving without insurance in New York is a traffic infraction that carries a civil penalty of $150 to $1500 (depending on the severity) and/or jail time of up to 15 days.
New York is one of the few states that doesn't require drivers to file an SR-22 to prove that they have legally adequate car insurance. If, however, you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it as long as that state requires it.
New York prohibits drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving. Drivers in New York are also banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving.
In 2014, New York Police reported the following vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers:
|Cell Phone (hand held)||587||0.2|
|Cell Phone (hands free)||57||<0.1|
|Eating or Drinking||104||<0.1|
New York’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, urine, or saliva when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of New York with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). If you're a commercial driver, a BAC of 0.04% and higher violates the DWI law. This is a criminal offense with severe penalties.
In addition to DWI, the following are also considered alcohol and drug-related violations in the State of New York:
Click here to see the Penalties for alcohol or drug-related driving violations in New York
The New York DMV reports that in 2014 there were a total of 7,849 alcohol-related vehicle crashes. 270 of these were fatal crashes in which 292 people lost their lives. That same year alcohol was a factor in 3,974 non-fatal personal injury crashes.
New York’s child restraint law requires that:
New York has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner's permit for young drivers and ending with an operator’s license with full driver privileges.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner's permit once they’re 16 years old. Drivers with learner’s permits are required to drive 50 hours under supervision, with 15 of those hours being at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16 1/2, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a provisional license will be issued.
Drivers with provisional licenses are not allowed to drive between the hours of 9 pm and 5 am. They're also prohibited from having more than 1 passenger under the age of 21 in their vehicle while. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 17 (if they have completed a driver’s education class) or 18 (if they haven’t).
All New York drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 8 years. There are no special provisions for senior drivers.
New York requires that all drivers and passengers in a moving vehicle under the age of 16 wear seat belts in a moving vehicle. It also requires that any drivers or passengers in the front seats of a moving vehicle wear a seat belt, regardless of age. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $50.
When you drive a vehicle in New York that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
In 2013, the average cost of car insurance in New York was $1,181.86 compared to a national average of $841.23. According to the Insurance Information Institute (iii.org), New York is the 3rd most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of New York taxes gasoline at 42.64 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 42.10 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on gasoline in New York is 61.04 cents per gallon; the total tax on diesel fuel is 66.50.
In 2014, New York Police reported 966 fatal car crashes in which 1,026 people lost their lives.
In 2014, there were a total of 15,736 vehicle thefts in the State of New York. This represents a 1.6 percent increase from the 15,483 cars reported stolen in 2013.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|8||2.5%||NYCM Insurance Group|
|9||1.8%||Hartford financial Services|
The percentage of New York residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 5.3%. That ranks New York as #49 among US states and the District of Columbia, far better than average. Only Maine and Massachusetts are better.
The Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee archives many types of crash data on this website: http://www.safeny.ny.gov/hsdata.htm
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.