On average, your neighbors pay $69 a month.See Your Rates
Mississippi is known as the Magnolia State. We’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which you can use to make your car insurance savings blossom.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Mississippi, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Mississippi, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Mississippi? Premiums here are cheaper tha in most of the country. On average, Mississippi drivers pay 9% less for auto insurance than the average American. The average cost of car insurance in Mississippi is $827.31 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your car, driving record, zip code, limits, and the number of claims filed in your neighborhood.
|Total Cost Per Year||$827.31|
|Price Per Month||$68.94|
The graph below shows the change in average Mississippi rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Mississippi car insurance rates increased from $740 in 2011 to $827 in 2015, a jump of $87 dollars, or 11.78 percent.
Buying car insurance in Mississippi should be easy. Unfortunately, it can be the opposite when you shop for it on your own.
Instead of spending hours researching insurers by yourself, let QuoteWizard lend a helping hand. We’ll connect you to the top car insurance companies in the country so you can compare rates. In the end, you’ll not only save time, but also money!
Last year, 38,746 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in Mississippi from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Mississippi drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Mississippi. Out of the 38,746 Mississippi drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 7,771 had no car insurance.
Legally, nearly all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but the required coverage levels vary from state to state. In Mississippi, drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/25 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Any time you drive in Mississippi, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
If you’re convicted of operating a vehicle in Mississippi without insurance, you could face the following penalties on top of any punishment or fines imposed by a court of law:
If convicted of a DUI, an SR-22 is required when a driver seeks to reinstate their license. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law. An SR-22 is not an insurance policy; it's evidence that you have a policy.
Mississippi’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Mississippi with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense DUI conviction are:
Mississippi has fairly relaxed laws concerning distracted driving. Drivers are forbidden from texting while driving, but otherwise are free to use their cell phones in the car.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
Mississippi has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Learner’s permit minimum requirements:
Unlike most states, obtaining an intermediate license does not require a minimum number of supervised hours of driving. However, it does require the driver to:
Unlike most states, Mississippi has no restrictions in the intermediate license phase, such as a limit to the number of young people in the car, or a minimum number of hours that must be driven under supervision.
To obtain a full driver's license you must:
Mississippi residents may renew their driver's license every 4 or 8 years, at the option of the driver.
Anyone in the front seat of a moving vehicle, age 7 or older is legally required to wear a seat belt. The maximum fine for failing to do so is $25.
The average cost of car insurance in Mississippi in 2014 was $796.99, which ranks as the 25th most expensive in the United States. The national average in 2014 was $866.31.
As of January 2016, Mississippi taxes gasoline at 18.79 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 18.40 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. This works out a total tax on regular fuel of 37.19 cents per gallon, and a total tax on diesel fuel of 42.80 cents per gallon.
In 2014, Mississippi recorded 607 traffic fatalities, an 1% decrease from the 613 traffic fatalities in the state in 2013.
Mississippi reported 4,519 vehicles stolen in 2014 (150.9 per 100,000 people). 2013 saw a 3% increase in vehicle thefts with 4,387 (146.6 per 100,000 people).
Mississippi was significantly below the national average rate of vehicle theft which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|4||5.8%||Berkshire Hathaway (GEICO)|
In 2012, an estimated 22.9% of Mississippi drivers were uninsured, which was the 3rd highest percentage in the nation! The national average was 12.6%. Given how many drivers in the state are uninsured, Mississippi drivers should seriously consider adding uninsured/underinsured coverage to their car insurance policy.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.