Arizona is called the Grand Canyon State. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which you can use to send your car insurance rates plunging down a deep chasm, figuratively speaking of course.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Arizona, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide you with both information about the cost of driving including average rates, and some insights about insurance risk in Arizona, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is auto insurance in Arizona? The average cost of auto insurance in Arizona is slightly lower than the rest of the US. According to the most recent available data from the Insurance Information Institute, in 2014, the average auto insurance premium in the state of Arizona was $837.24, compared to a national average of $866.31
|Arizona Annual Average||$781.71||$811.45||$837.24|
|Arizona Price Per Month||$65.14||$67.62||$69.77|
|US Annual Average||$814.63||$838.49||$866.31|
|US Cost Per Month||$67.88||$69.87||$72.19|
Shopping for car insurance in Arizona can seem like a lot of work. From researching companies to comparing rates, it’s easy to get overwhelmed.
Let QuoteWizard help. Fill out our easy to use (and easy to understand) form and you’ll be well on your way to finding cheap car insurance. How? We’ll put you in touch with top insurance companies so you can compare quotes and get the cheapest rates.
Last year, 59,596 people used QuoteWizard to compare quotes from top companies and find cheap auto insurance rates in Arizona.
These are the top 10 most common vehicles owned by Arizona drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard last year.
This is our list of the top 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Arizona last year. Out of the 59,596 Arizona drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 6,846 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Arizona, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 15/30/10. This means that you must have at least:
Arizona also allows residents the option of obtaining a certificate of deposit of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer.
Residents of other states driving on Arizona roadways are required to have coverage from insurers licensed to do business in Arizona.
Arizona requires all residents to provide proof of insurance to law enforcement at traffic stops or immediately following accidents. You’re also required to show proof of insurance when you register your car.
Insurance companies doing business in Arizona provide the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) with data on all policy cancellations, non-renewals, and new policies. If the Arizona DOT receives a notification that your policy is inactive, they’ll send a form for you to fill out and return to verify your insurance status.
Proof of insurance can take the form of:
If you’re caught driving in Arizona without proof of insurance, you will be subject to a fine of at least $250 for the first offense. In addition, your driver's license/registration will be revoked for a period of 3 months.
Filing an SR-22 form may be required under the following circumstances:
Arizona residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to these or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
In Arizona, the minimum amount required to prove financial responsibility is:
Arizona state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for a minimum of 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy before expiration, a letter is sent to the state and the situation could result in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
The state of Arizona does not prohibit most drivers from cell phone use while driving. School bus drivers, however, are prohibited from using cell phones while operating a vehicle.
The cities of Phoenix and Tucson prohibit all drivers from texting.
Arizona’s Implied Consent law requires that you submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Arizona with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for third and subsequent offense DUI convictions are:
Arizona is very strict when it comes to the safety requirements of children riding in cars. All children less than 5 years of age must be secured in a federally-approved child safety seat regardless of their height or weight.
Children who are between the ages of 5 and 7 and shorter than four feet nine inches must also be secured in an approved child safety seat, typically a booster seat.
Teens can apply for a six-month learner's permit when they’re 15 ½ years old. Young drivers are required to practice driving for at least 30 hours under supervision, with 10 of those hours taking place at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a license is issued and the driver enters the intermediate stage.
Intermediate drivers between the ages of 16 and 17 can’t drive alone between the hours of 12 am and 5 am. For the first six months after being issued a driver’s license, young drivers can’t have more than one passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle. Young drivers can receive full driving privileges at the age of 16 ½.
When Arizonans reach the age of 65 they must renew their driver license every 5 years. Those choosing to renew by mail are required to prove passage of an eye exam within the last 3 months.
At age 70, drivers can no longer renew their license by mail.
Arizona requires the use of seat belts for all passengers riding in the front seat of motor vehicles. Passengers riding in the back seat of moving vehicles are not required to wear seat belts unless they’re 15 years old or younger. The maximum fine for seat belt violations is $25.
When you drive a vehicle in Arizona that’s required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement upon request.
The average cost of car insurance in Arizona in 2013, the most recent year for which data was available, was $811.45 compared to a national average rate of $841.23. Arizona is ranked the 18th most expensive state for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Arizona taxes gasoline at 19 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Arizona can expect to pay a total of 37.40 cents per gallon in taxes at the gas station. Arizona taxes diesel fuel at 27 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Arizonans will pay 51.40 cents per gallon in taxes at the pump for diesel fuel.
In 2014, there were 770 traffic fatalities in Arizona, this number was somewhat lower than the 849 fatalities reported in 2013.
Arizona had 17,587 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.2% increase compared to 2013 when 16,966 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 216.2 per 100,000, a decrease of 2.3% from the 2013 rate of 221.3 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Arizona is well above the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 261.3 per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
In 2012 it was estimated that 10.6% of drivers on Arizona roads had no car insurance. This number is just under the national average of 12.6% and ranks Arizona 29th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
|1||7.6%||Travelers Companies Inc.|
|2||5.9%||CopperPoint Mutual Insurance Co.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.