On average, your neighbors pay $62 a month.See Your Rates
Missouri is the “Show Me State”. Here at QuoteWizard, we've compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources to show you how to save money on car insurance in Missouri.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Missouri, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide you with both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Missouri, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in Missouri? Drivers here are being rewarded for their safe driving habits. The average cost of car insurance here is much cheaper than what many Americans pay. The average cost of auto insurance in Missouri is $745.04 per year. The national annual average cost of auto coverage is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your driving history and the number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$745.04|
|Price Per Month||$62.83|
The graph below shows the change in average Missouri rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Missouri car insurance rates increased from $674 in 2011 to $745 in 2015, a jump of $70 dollars, or 10.44 percent.
Shopping around and comparing auto insurance quotes is important, but who has the time and energy for it? Well, if you use QuoteWizard, you won’t have to worry about either of those things.
That’s because we'll will connect you to multiple companies that serve Missouri drivers so you can compare car insurance rates and get coverage that fits your needs.
Last year, 61,574 people used QuoteWizard to compare quotes from top companies and find the cheapest car insurance rates in Missouri.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Missouri drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Missouri. Out of the 61,574 Missouri drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 9,461 had no car insurance.
Think you are ready to hop behind the wheel and hit the Missouri streets? Make sure that if you have a vehicle registered in the state, that it retains the legally required levels of insurance. In the state of Missouri, those levels are referred to as the 25/50/10 rule. This means you must have the following elements of a policy purchased for your car:
Make sure that whatever policy you buy contains at least these elements and you will be safe in the eyes of the law, if not on the road.
You wouldn’t leave your house without your driver's license, and you absolutely shouldn’t leave without your proof of insurance either. Missouri law enforcement officers have the right to request proof of insurance, and if they do you must provide it. This typically comes if the form of a card issued by your provider, and it must include the following information:
Missouri uses a unique driver point system. Different infractions carry different weight, and points accumulate as you commit those infractions. If a driver accumulates 8 or more points in 18 months, driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days for a first offense.
More serious infractions and point totals can result in a driver's license being revoked for 1 year, and require the driver to re-take the driver's test. Below are the point infractions that will result in a revoked license.
After having your license revoked or suspended, all drivers start their reinstated records with 4 points. It takes one full year to begin to remove points, and they are removed as follows:
If you are found operating a vehicle in Missouri without proof of insurance, law enforcement will issue you a ticket for “failure to provide proof of insurance”. After that there three potential steps that may be taken against the driver.
First, four points will be assigned to his or her record. Second, the court will alert the Vehicle Bureau to ensure that the driver will maintain insurance for 3 years. Finally, a suspension of the license will be placed. In order to lift a suspension proof of insurance must be shown and a fee must be paid. It is $20 for your first suspension, $200 for a second suspension, and $400 for any subsequent suspension that occurs.
Missouri drivers who have large numbers of points on their records, have been issued DUIs, or caught driving without insurance must file an SR-22. This is a form from your insurance company that shows your vehicle has the state required liability insurance.
In most cases, an SR-22 must be carried on your record for two years, but for drivers who were convicted of false insurance coverage are required to carry an SR-22 for three years.
In order to help prevent accidents caused by drivers making calls or attempting to text on their phone, Missouri has implemented a statewide ban on texting for any novice drivers and/or drivers under the age of 18.
Missouri’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the Missouri with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
All young passengers must be secured in an approved child safety seat when driving in Missouri. Children under the age of 4, or weighing less than 40 pounds, must be secured in an approved child safety seat. Any child age 4 - 7, who is also between 40 - 80 pounds, and under 4 feet 9 inches tall, must be secured in either a child safety seat or a booster seat. Children age 8 and over, or weighing at least 80 pounds, or who are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall are required to be secured by a safety belt, or buckled into an appropriate booster seat.
The fine for violating this law is $50, but is downsized to $10 for any passenger over 80 pounds or taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
Missouri has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license program beginning with a learner's permit and ending with full driving privileges once all conditions are met. At the age of fifteen and a half years old, Missouri residents can get a learner's permit. Before they can go from a learner's permit to a license, they must wait 6 months and accrue a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving, 10 hours of which must be at night.
At the age of 16 they are able to take a test and if they pass they will receive a provisional license. They will now be able to drive without supervision. There is still a restriction on when they can drive, however. They are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. They are also unable to have passengers under the age of 18 for their first six months of driving with a provisional license. After that, the passenger restriction is lifted.
The driving hour restriction is lifted and full driving privileges are granted once a driver turns 18.
Every Missouri driver is required by law to renew their license every 6 years. For any driver over the age of 70 the renewal window is cut in half, with the renewal period being every 3 years.
The average cost of car insurance in Missouri in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $745.04, much lower than the national average of $889.01. Missouri is ranked as the 34th most expensive state for car insurance.
The Federal government taxes fuel at a rate of 18.4 cents per gallon for regular gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon of diesel. Missouri adds on a state tax of 17.3 cents per gallon for both unleaded and diesel.
That’s a total of 35.7 cents in taxes per unleaded gallon, and 41.7 cents in taxes per diesel gallon.
In 2012 it was estimated that 13.5% of all drivers on Missouri roads had no car insurance. This number is well above the national average of 12.6% and ranks Missouri 18th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2014, 766 traffic-related fatalities were recorded in the state of Missouri. This was only a 1% increase from 2013, which saw 757 deaths on the road.
Missouri experienced 16,357vehicle thefts in 2014, almost identical to 2013 which saw 16,44 thefts. Missouri sits squarely at 269.8 thefts per 100,000 cars. This is above the national average, which is 216.2 thefts per 100,000 cars.
Is your car a target for theft? Check out the list below for the 10 most stolen cars in Missouri.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|7||3.26%||Progressive Casualty Insurance|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.