On average, your neighbors pay $62 a month.See Your Rates
There is a famous saying that “Virginia is for Lovers”. Well, this page is for lovers of car insurance savings. If you want to make sure that you’re getting the best deal on car insurance, you’ll love this site.
Find out how your rates stack up, how to get better rates, and more.
How much is car insurance in Virginia? You may be surprised to learn that the average cost of car insurance in Virginia is slightly lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Virginia is $750.85 per year. The national average price is $889.01
Prices for premiums will vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$750.85|
|Price Per Month||$62.57|
|Source: Facts + Statistics: Auto insurance|
The graph below shows the change in average Virginia rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Virginia car insurance rates increased from $679 in 2011 to $750 in 2015, a jump of $71 dollars, or 10.48 percent.
Looking for car insurance in Virginia that provides the best coverage for an affordable rate? Shop around. Compare rates from a number of insurance companies.
QuoteWizard can help with that. We’ll connect you to top auto insurance companies so you can find a policy that protects you and your loved ones without breaking the bank.
Last year, 58,605 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Virginia from multiple companies.
This is our list of the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Virginia last year. Out of the 58,605 Virginia drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 5,361 were uninsured.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Virginia drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Virginia, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/20 plus uninsured/underinsured coverage. This means that you must have a policy with at least the following:
Alternatively, you could pay a $500 annual Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee and legally drive a vehicle in Virginia without insurance. However you will have no protection of any kind. QuoteWizard urges motorists instead to purchase at least Virginia’s legal minimum insurance coverage.
Virginian weather presents a wide array of perils for drivers. Not all threats on the road come from other cars. Extreme storms, flooding, and hurricanes can all cause serious damage to your vehicle. In order to protect yourself, get comprehensive insurance. It not only covers damage caused by natural disasters, but also from theft, vandalism, and fire.
There are some hard limits to what minimum coverage can do. It provides you with the required coverage for the vehicle to be road legal, which helps cover damages you cause to other drivers. However, it doesn’t cover your costs. Furthermore, a severe accident could easily go over the payout amount that minimum liability provides. In light of this, we recommend:
Any time you drive in Virginia, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
The Virginia DMV monitors insurance coverage through their Insurance Verification Program. If a vehicle is found to have become uninsured at any point, the license and registration of the driver will be suspended until the driver:
Virginia residents that have had their driver’s license suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Virginia state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process
Using a cell phone while driving is against the law in Virginia for any driver under the age of 18. All drivers are banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in Virginia.
This law says drivers suspected of impaired driving must consent to a blood test. Refuse the test and you’ll face license suspension.
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Virginia with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
Children age 7 or younger must be restrained in a federally approved car seat, in rear seat if possible. If the car seat is in the front seat, any passenger-side airbags must be deactivated. Children age 8 and up may use adult seat belts. The minimum fine for failing to properly restrain a child is $50 for a first offense.
Virginia has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teens are allowed to apply for a learner’s permit once they’re 15 1/2 years old. Before applying for a driver's license, drivers with learner’s permits are required to: hold a learner's permit for 9 months, take a road test, and drive at least 45 hours while under supervision. Fifteen of those hours must occur at night. Once these requirements are complete, the driver is eligible for a certificate. This certificate, combined with a learner's permit, acts as a valid driver's license for six months.
There are several restrictions for minor drivers in Virginia. Drivers under age 18 cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 4 am. For the first twelve months after beginning driving, new drivers cannot have more than one other person in the car (excluding family) under the age of 21. After twelve months, this limit rises to a maximum of three people under the age of 21. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 18.
Car insurance rates often increase around the time drivers turn 65. It's a small increase for drivers with clean records.
All drivers are required to renew their driver’s license every 8 years. Beginning at age 75, drivers must complete a request to renew their driver’s license in person every five years, and must complete a vision test, or provide the results of a recent vision test.
Virginia requires that all drivers wear seat belts, as well as passengers 18 or older in the front seat(s). Adults in the back seat are not required to wear seat belts. Minors are required to use approved child seats as mentioned above. The maximum penalty for failing to wear a seat belt as required is $25.
Do you drive a car in Virginia that's registered in another state? If so, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement.
The average cost of car insurance in Virginia in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $750.85 compared to a national average of $889.01. Virginia is the 33rd most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Virginia taxes gasoline at 22.33 cents per gallon, and taxes diesel fuel at 26.03 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on regular gasoline is 40.73 cents per gallon; for diesel fuel the total taxes are 50.43 cents per gallon.
The percentage of Virginia residents estimated to be driving without insurance is 10.1%. That ranks Virginia as #31 among US states and the District of Columbia, slightly better than average.
In 2014, there were 703 traffic fatalities in Virginia, a 5% decrease from the state’s 740 traffic fatalities in 2013.
The Virginia DMV produces an annual report that provides crash statistics for the commonwealth: Virginia Crash Statistics
Virginia had 7,665 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 11.1% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 92.1 per 100,000, a decrease of 11.7% over the 2013 rate of 104.3 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in the Commonwealth of Virginia is well below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2012.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|1||6.36%||United Services Automobile Association (USAA)|
|2||5.04%||Allstate (Property & Casualty)|
|3||4.44%||Geico General Insurance Co.|
|4||4.08%||Geico Indemnity Co.|
|5||3.90%||USAA Casualty Insurance Co.|
|8||3.38%||Erie Insurance Exchange|
|9||3.29%||Progressive Advanced Insurance Co.|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.