On average, your neighbors pay $68 a month.See Your Rates
Oklahoma drivers used to drive around in surreys (horse-drawn carriages for those who haven’t seen the musical, "Oklahoma!"). These days Oklahomans drive cars and trucks, which need to be insured.
Check out the information below to learn the rules of insurance for your car in the great state of Oklahoma. From insurance laws to average rates to driver tips, we’ve got you covered.
How much is car insurance in Oklahoma? Average premiums in Oklahoma are slightly lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Oklahoma is $823.51 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of insurance claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$823.51|
|Price Per Month||$68.62|
The graph below shows the change in average Oklahoma rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Oklahoma car insurance rates increased from $716 in 2011 to $823 in 2015, a jump of $107 dollars, or 14.98 percent.
Looking for car insurance in Oklahoma that provides the best coverage for an affordable rate? Shop around. Compare rates from a number of insurance companies.
QuoteWizard can help with that. We’ll connect you to top auto insurance companies so you can find a policy that protects you and your loved ones without breaking the bank.
Last year, 47,693 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Oklahoma from multiple companies.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Oklahoma drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Oklahoma. Out of the 47,693 Oklahoma drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 5,528 had no car insurance.
Oklahoma drivers are required by law to have insurance coverage for all registered vehicles on the road. While different companies do have various policies available, there is a minimum coverage requirement known as the 25/50/25 rule.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Of course, these are only the minimum requirements, and different companies will be able to provide additional benefits and plans to better fit your vehicle and lifestyle. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll typically require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
Not only are you required by law to have insurance for your vehicle, but you must be ready to show your identification card to law enforcement upon request. Your insurer will give you this card when you purchase a policy.
The card must have the following elements:
Be aware that when registering your car in the state of Oklahoma, a copy of your insurance must be provided to the state department upon registration. More importantly, insurance companies are required by law to include the following statement on all insurance policy cards that they issue.
“Examine policy exclusions carefully. This form does not constitute any part of your insurance policy.”
Oklahoma is unusual in that it implements an electronic verification system for all individual driver policies. For each vehicle plan that is purchased, Oklahoma drivers are required to register it with the Department of Public Safety. In most cases, your insurance provider will be able to assist with this quick registration, but make sure that you are registered before wrapping up your insurance policy purchase.
Car insurance is required by law in Oklahoma, but insurance companies are allowed to refuse service to any driver they view as high risk. In order to ensure that all drivers have the opportunity to purchase the levels of insurance required by law, Oklahoma offers a state sanctioned plan.
To see if you qualify for this option, either call (405)842-0844, or visit their website below.
Operating a vehicle without the minimum insurance coverage required will result in a $250 fine. Additional punishments include suspension of your license and vehicle registration, as well as the potential for up to 30 days in jail.
In most states, an SR-22 is normally required for drivers who have had penalties related to infractions like DUI convictions or driving without insurance. Oklahoma does not require an SR-22.
Any driver moving to Oklahoma with an SR-22 from another state is required to keep the SR-22 on their record for the required length of time designated by the state that assigned it.
Oklahoma does not have any law in place to directly prevent the use of a handheld device while operating a motor vehicle. Before you pick up that phone while you are behind the wheel though, be aware that Oklahoma law enforcement can pull you over for “distracted driving” and issue citations. So while you are free to use your phone, don’t be surprised if you are still pulled over and ticketed if it is impacting your driving ability.
A special note to any novice driver still driving with a learner's permit or intermediate license, laws are in place that make it illegal to use your handheld device while driving. Both texting and talking on your phone is cause enough to be pulled over and ticketed.
Oklahoma’s Implied Consent law requires that all drivers submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, saliva or urine when arrested for suspicion of DUI. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Oklahoma with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
Oklahoma requires that all passengers who are under the age of 5, or who weigh less than 40 pounds be seated in an approved child safety seat. Additionally, until the age of 12 children are required to be placed in the back seat with safety belts on at all times. Failure to comply with this law will result in a $50 fine and up to $207 in court costs.
Once drivers reach age 15, they may enroll in a driver's education course, but this is the only circumstance in which new drivers younger than 15 1/2 can legally drive. After reaching age 15 1/2, passing a written test, a vision test, and enrolling in or completing driver's education (the minimum age is 16 without driver's education), they are eligible to receive their learner permit. Before obtaining an intermediate license, drivers must accrue 50 hours of supervised driving (with ten of those hours at night) and must hold a learner permit for a minimum of 6 months.
After completing these requirements, young drivers are then eligible to receive an intermediate license. They are now allowed to drive on their own, albeit with nighttime driving restrictions from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. They are also allowed to carry no more than 1 passenger, with the exception of immediate family.
Full driving privileges are awarded once a driver has held their intermediate license for six months without incident. Drivers will also get their license if they have held their intermediate license for twelve months without incident.
There are no driving restrictions for senior drivers in Oklahoma. License renewal occurs every 4 years for drivers across the board, with a reduced license fee for drivers between the ages of 62 to 64, and with the fee waived entirely for drivers over the age of 65.
Oklahoma protects its citizens by ensuring that all passengers comply with the state's mandatory seatbelt law while on the road. All individuals in the front seats (driver and passengers) must be over the age of 13 and wearing a seatbelt at all times. Failure to comply with this law will result in a $20 fine.
While you may be in Oklahoma, if you are visiting from another state or are just moving in and your vehicle is still registered in that state you are required by law to meet the mandatory insurance requirements of your state of origin.
The most recent data from 2015 indicates that Oklahoma drivers paid an average of $823.51 annually for car insurance coverage. That's a bit below the national average of $889.01. This makes Oklahoma the 25th most expensive state for car insurance.
Oklahoma has a 17 cents per gallon tax on gasoline, as well as a 14 cents per gallon tax on diesel. On top of that is the federal tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. Total taxes in Oklahoma amount to 35.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 38.4 cents per gallon on diesel fuel.
In 2014, 669 motor vehicle related deaths were recorded in Oklahoma, down from 678 in 2013.
In 2014, 10,583 vehicles were reported stolen in Oklahoma, a 6.2% decrease over the 11,282 vehicle thefts reported in 2013.
How does this compare to other states? The nationwide average vehicle theft rate in 2014 was 216.2 thefts per 100,000 cars. In Oklahoma, they saw a slightly higher 272.9 thefts per 100,000 cars.
Curious if the car you drive makes you a target for theft? Check out the list of the most stolen cars in Oklahoma below.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Oklahoma residents estimated to be driving without insurance is a whopping 25.9%. That ranks Oklahoma as #1 among all US states and the District of Columbia. Even though uninsured driver coverage is not required in Oklahoma, it would be a very good idea to purchase it given how many uninsured drivers share the road with you.
|3||4.7%||Oklahoma Farm Bureau|
|5||3.6%||CSAA General Insurance|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.