On average, your neighbors pay $65 a month.See Your Rates
The Beehive State has some unusual insurance regulations. Have no fear – QuoteWizard has compiled data from a variety of state, federal, and insurance industry sources to help you understand them.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Utah, provide information about the cost of driving including average insurance rates, and share some insights about insurance risk to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Utah? Premiums in Utah are generally lower than the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Utah is $784.10 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
|Total Cost Per Year||$784.10|
|Price Per Month||$65.34|
The graph below shows the change in average Utah rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Utah car insurance rates increased from $712 in 2011 to $784 in 2015, a jump of $71 dollars, or 10.01 percent.
Buying car insurance in Utah should be easy. Unfortunately, it can be the opposite when you shop for it on your own.
Instead of spending hours researching insurers by yourself, let QuoteWizard lend a helping hand. We’ll connect you to the top car insurance companies in the country so you can compare rates. In the end, you’ll not only save time, but also money!
Last year, 21,266 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Utah from multiple companies to find the cheapest rates.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Utah. Out of the 21,266 Utah drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 2,236 had no car insurance.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Utah drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Utah, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/65/15.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Utah is one of the 12 US states that have a no-fault insurance system. In no-fault states, accident victims can collect benefits from their insurance companies, regardless of whether the other party is insured. Liability coverage is intended to help pay for other peoples’ medical and repair bills if you're found at fault in a car accident. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is intended to cover your medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who was at fault.
Any time you drive in Utah, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy.
The insurance ID card must include all of the following:
Driving without insurance in Utah is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a minimum fine of $400 for a first offense. You will also have your driver’s license suspended, at least until you are able to show proof of insurance upon request.
Utah residents that have had their driver’s licenses suspended due to drunk driving convictions or other violations must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22 form. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law.
Utah law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 36 consecutive months. If a driver fails to renew their policy 15 days before expiration, a letter is sent to the state resulting in suspension of their license. Once renewed, the license will be reinstated, but this can be a time-consuming process.
Drivers under the age of 18 may not use cell phones while driving in Utah. The state also prohibits school bus drivers from using cell phones while driving. All drivers are banned from sending or receiving text messages while driving in Utah.
Utah’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, oral fluids (saliva), or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Utah with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
Children under 8 years old, and less than 57” in height must be restrained in an approved car seat. Children age 8 and up and 57” in height or taller may use adult seat belts. The maximum fine for failing to properly restrain children in Utah is $45 for a first offense.
Utah has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license system beginning with a learner permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
All Utah drivers are required to renew their driver’s licenses every 5 years. Drivers ages 65 and above must pass a vision test in order to renew their licenses.
Utah requires that all passengers in a moving vehicle ages 16 and above wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $45.
When you drive a vehicle in Utah that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in Utah in 2014, the most recent year for which data was available, was $784.10 compared to a national average of $889.01. Utah is the 29th most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of Utah taxes gasoline and diesel fuel at 29.41 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. Total taxes on a gallon of gasoline in Utah are 47.81 cents per gallon. For diesel fuel the taxes total up to 53.81 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 256 traffic fatalities in Utah, an 16% increase from the state’s 220 traffic fatalities in 2013.
Utah had 7,296 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.6% decrease compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 248 per 100,000, a decrease of 3.9% over the 2013 rate of 258.1per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Utah is slightly below the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of Utah residents estimated to be driving without insurance is only 5.8%. That ranks Utah as #48 among US states and the District of Columbia, far better than average.
|1||10.78%||Mid Century Insurance Co.|
|2||6.54%||Allstate (Fire & Casualty)|
|3||3.81%||Progressive Classic Insurance Co.|
|4||3.62%||Geico Casualty Co.|
|5||3.58%||Progressive Direct Insurance Co.|
|6||3.45%||American Family Mutual Insurance Co.|
|7||2.65%||Allstate Insurance Co.|
|8||2.28%||Farm Bureau Pro & Cas Co.|
|9||2.23%||Geico General Insurance Co.|
The Utah Department of Public Safety archives crash statistics on this website: Utah Crash Statistics
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.