On average, your neighbors pay $55 a month.See Your Rates
Since Indiana’s state motto is “The crossroads of America”, we figured that driving was an important aspect of the Hoosier state. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which Hoosiers can use to save money on their insurance premiums.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in Indiana, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide you with both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in Indiana, all to help you protect yourself and your family.
How much is car insurance in Indiana? Drivers here are pretty good behind the wheel and insurance companies have noticed. Average car insurance rates in Indiana are much lower than the national average. On average, auto insurance in Indiana costs $666.24 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your zip code thanks to traffic congestion, weather conditions and crime rates.
|Total Cost Per Year||$666.24|
|Price Per Month||$55.52|
The graph below shows the change in average Indiana insurance rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Indiana car insurance rates increased from $621 in 2011 to $666 in 2015, a jump of $44 dollars, or 7.22 percent.
Buying car insurance in Indiana should be easy. Unfortunately, it can be the opposite when you shop for it on your own.
Instead of spending hours researching insurers by yourself, let QuoteWizard lend a helping hand. We’ll connect you to the top car insurance companies in the country so you can compare rates. In the end, you’ll not only save time, but also money!
Last year, 65,665 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Indiana from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by Indiana drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Indiana. Out of the 65,665 Indiana drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 1,794 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Indiana, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10. This means that you must have:
The state of Indiana also requires the following minimum insurance coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists:
Unlike most states, drivers in Indiana are not required to carry proof that they meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. High risk drivers, however, may need to have their car insurance company file a Certificate of Compliance (COC) after:
If you are stopped by law enforcement or get into an accident and cannot prove that you meet the minimum Indiana insurance requirements, you could face fines and/or penalties.
Indiana requires the filing of an SR-22 from any driver that has had their driving privileges suspended after failing to provide proof of responsibility or following conviction of major offenses such as a DWI or leaving the scene of an accident. “SR” stands for safety responsibility and it certifies that a driver has the minimum amount of insurance required by state law. Driving privileges will not be restored until the driver’s insurer electronically submits an SR-22.
Indiana state law requires that an SR-22 be carried for 3 years after the end of the suspension of driving privileges. If the BMV receives a notification from your insurer that your insurance was cancelled or it’s found that an SR-22 is not on file during this 3-year period, the driver’s license will be suspended.
Indiana has banned novice drivers from the use of cell phones, both handheld and hands-free while operating a moving vehicle. In addition, all drivers are banned from texting.
Both of these bans are primary laws, which means law enforcement can pull you over and issue a citation for breaking these laws without any other cause.
Indiana’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of operating a vehicle while under the influence (OUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to those for an OUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the state of Indiana with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Operating a Vehicle While Under the Influence (OUI).
The penalties for a first offense OUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense OUI conviction are:
The penalties for a third offense OUI conviction are:
Indiana’s Child Restraint law requires that all children younger than 8 years of age use appropriate child safety seats. Children between the ages of 8 and 15 and weighing 40 or more pounds are allowed to wear lap belts only if no shoulder belt is available. Children under the age of one year and weighing less than 20 pounds must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat.
If you are pulled over by law enforcement and it’s discovered that children are not legally secured, you will be subject to a fine of $25 and points will be added to your driver’s license.
Indiana has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver's license program beginning with the learner’s permit phase and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Teen drivers can apply for a learner’s permit on their 15th birthday if they are enrolled in a state approved driver’s education program. Teens that don’t take driver’s education must wait until they turn 16 to apply for a learner’s permit.
Young drivers are required to remain in the Permit Holding Period for a minimum of 180 days before applying for a probationary license. During this period, teens must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of them taking place at night with either a certified driving instructor, a licensed driver of at least 25 years of age, or a spouse at least 21 years of age.
Once all requirements and prerequisites have been satisfied, teens may apply for a probationary license. This license allows drivers to operate a motor vehicle on the roads of Indiana with the following restrictions:
The license renewal cycle for drivers in Indiana is every 6 years but when drivers reach the age of 70, they can no longer renew their licenses electronically or by mail and must do so in person at the DMV.
As Indiana drivers get older, the renewal cycle becomes even more frequent:
Indiana requires that all passengers 8 years of age and older wear seat belts in both the front and back seats of moving vehicles. Failure to comply will result in a fine of $25 plus court costs.
When you drive a vehicle in Indiana that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state.
The average cost of car insurance in Indiana in 2015 was $666.24 compared to a national average of $889.01. Indiana is ranked the 43rd most expensive state, including the District of Columbia, for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state of Indiana taxes gasoline at 29.89 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon, residents of Indiana can expect to pay a total of 48.29 cents per gallon in taxes every time they fill their tanks. Indiana taxes diesel fuel at 38.81 cents per gallon. When added to the Federal diesel tax of 24.4 cents per gallon, Indianans will pay a total of 63.21 cents in taxes per gallon for diesel fuel.
In 2012 it was estimated that 14.2% of all drivers on Indiana roads had no car insurance. This number is slightly higher than the national average of 12.6% and ranks Indiana 14th in the nation for uninsured motorists.
In 2013, there were 783 traffic fatalities in Indiana, almost identical to the 781 traffic fatalities reported in 2012.
Indiana had 13,861 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 2.3% decrease compared to 2013 when 14,184 vehicles were reported stolen. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 210.1 per 100,000, a decrease of 2.7% from the 2013 rate of 215.9 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in Indiana is slightly lower than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2per 100,000 in 2014.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|1||8.7%||Indiana Farm Bureau|
|8||2.3%||Indiana Farmers Mutual|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.