On average, your neighbors pay $63 a month.See Your Rates
New Mexico is known as the Land of Enchantment. Here at QuoteWizard, we’ve compiled useful insurance information from industry and government sources which New Mexicans can use to find the best car insurance rates.
This page will show you which types of coverage are legally required in New Mexico, inform you about important insurance laws, and provide both information about the cost of driving, and some insights about insurance risk in New Mexico, all to help protect you and your family.
How much is car insurance in New Mexico? Insurance premiums in New Mexico are lower than both the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in New Mexico is $762.56 a year. But you can be sure that rates in Albuquerque are much higher than the state average. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$762.56|
|Price Per Month||$63.54|
The graph below shows the change in average New Mexico rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, New Mexico car insurance rates increased from $691 in 2011 to $762 in 2015, a jump of $70 dollars, or 10.24 percent.
Finding the right car insurance in New Mexico for your needs and budget doesn’t have to be stressful. Then again, you want to make sure that whichever company you choose is the right fit, and that means comparing car insurance rates.
Comparing auto quotes can be time-consuming. With a little help from QuoteWizard, you’ll have a policy in no time. We’ll connect you with top auto insurance companies so you can find the best coverage at the best price.
Last year, 20,748 people used QuoteWizard to compare auto insurance quotes in New Mexico from multiple companies.
These are the most common vehicles owned by New Mexico drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of New Mexico. Out of the 20,748 New Mexico drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 2,486 had no car insurance.
Legally, nearly all US drivers are required to carry a minimum level of insurance, but these minimums vary from state to state. In New Mexico, drivers need to follow what is known as the 25/50/10 rule when it comes to their insurance policies.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Remember, you can purchase more inclusive plans that cover more, but if you want the bare minimum required to keep you legal on the road, make sure your policy has the above protection. And, if you’ve financed your car through a lender, they’ll require that you purchase collision and comprehensive coverage to protect their investment.
New Mexico's "Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act" requires that all drivers carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. You'll get this proof in the form of an identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The insurance ID card must include all of the following:
If you can't prove that you meet the minimum New Mexico insurance requirements, your vehicle registration could be suspended by the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
An SR-22 is a form of proof of car insurance. New Mexico does not require its drivers to obtain an SR-22 after being convicted of a DUI. If, however, you have an SR-22 from another state, you must maintain it as long as that state requires it.
New Mexico prohibits novice drivers from using cell phones while driving. All drivers are prohibited from sending or receiving text messaging while driving.
New Mexico’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when arrested by law enforcement for suspicion of driving while under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol. Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties as well as those for a DUI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in New Mexico with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you are guilty of Driving While Under the Influence (DUI).
The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are:
The penalties for a second offense DUI conviction are more severe:
After a third DUI conviction the penalties increase to:
After a fourth DUI conviction the penalties are raised to:
5th DUI Offense: If convicted of a fifth DUI, you'll be guilty of a class E felony, be fined between $3,500 and $10,000, and be imprisoned for between 3 and 5 years.
6th DUI Offense: If convicted of a sixth DUI, you'll be guilty of a class D felony, be fined between $5,000 and $10,000, and be imprisoned for between 5 and 8 years.
7th DUI Offense: If convicted of a seventh DUI, or any subsequent offense, you'll be guilty of a class C felony, be fined between $10,000 and $15,000, and imprisoned for between 10 and 15 years.
All occupants must be properly restrained in all seating positions. Violators must pay a $25 fine plus court fees (which vary by jurisdiction) and receive 2 driver's points on their driving record.
Proper use of child safety seats reduces fatalities by 71%
New Mexico has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver license program beginning with an instructional permit and ending with a license with full driving privileges.
Teens are allowed to apply for an instructional permit once they’re 15 years old. Young drivers in the instructional permit stage are required to drive at least 50 hours under supervision, with 10 of those hours being at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 15 1/2, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a provisional license is issued.
Drivers with provisional licenses are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 am. They're also prohibited from having more than 1 passenger under the age of 21 in their vehicle while in the intermediate stage. Drivers may apply for a full, unrestricted driver's license once they complete the above requirements and have had a provisional license for at least one year.
New Mexico drivers have a choice of how frequently they renew their driver’s licenses. They can renew their driver’s licenses every 4 years, or every 8 years. Drivers over the age of 75 are required to renew their licenses every year.
New Mexico requires that all drivers and passengers in a moving vehicle age 18 or over wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats as described above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $25.
When you drive a vehicle in New Mexico that is required to be registered in another state, you must have the type of insurance required by that state. You must be able to provide proof of this insurance to law enforcement if requested.
The average cost of car insurance in New Mexico in 2015 was $762.56 compared to a national average of $889.01. New Mexico is the 32nd most expensive state for car insurance.
The state of New Mexico taxes gasoline at 18.88 cents per gallon and diesel fuel at 22.88 cents per gallon. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. Total taxes on regular gasoline in New Mexico amount to 37.28 cents per gallon; for diesel, the total is 47.28 cents per gallon.
In 2014, there were 383 traffic fatalities in New Mexico, a 2.3% increase from the state’s 311 traffic fatalities in 2013.
New Mexico had 6,290 vehicle thefts reported in 2014, a 5.1% increase compared to 2013. In 2014, the vehicle theft rate was 301.6 per 100,000, an increase of 5.2% from the 2013 rate of 286.7 per 100,000.
The vehicle theft rate in the State of New Mexico is slightly higher than the overall US vehicle theft rate, which was 216.2 per 100,000 in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is a target on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
The percentage of New Mexico residents estimated to be driving without insurance is a whopping 21.6%. That ranks New Mexico as #4 among US states. Only Oklahoma, Florida, and Mississippi have a larger percentage of uninsured drivers. Even though uninsured driver coverage is not required in New Mexico, it would be a very good idea to purchase it given how many uninsured drivers are around.
The Traffic Safety Bureau of the New Mexico Department of Transportation has archived numerous reports, multiple types of crash data, and other assorted traffic safety information here: http://dot.state.nm.us/en/Traffic_Safety.html
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.