On average, your neighbors pay $66 a month.See Your Rates
Kentucky residents looking to learn more about insurance coverage for their horse trailers have come to the right place! For the majority of Kentucky residents, who don’t have horses, this page will still be helpful.
It will inform you of obscure but important insurance laws, provide valuable information about the cost of driving including average rates, and share some insights about insurance risk. It will help ensure that when you ‘pony’ up for insurance, you’ll have the right coverage.
How much is car insurance in Kentucky? Residents shouldn't be surprised to learn average car insurance rates in Kentucky are slightly below the national average. The average cost of auto insurance in Kentucky is $801.97 per year. The national average price is $889.01.
Prices may vary depending on your limits, coverage, and the total number of claims filed in your zip code.
|Total Cost Per Year||$801.97|
|Price Per Month||$66.83|
The graph below shows the change in average Kentucky rates from 2011 to 2015, the most recent year the data is available. According to the III, Kentucky car insurance rates increased from $744 in 2011 to $802 in 2015, a jump of $57 dollars, or 7.71 percent.
When it comes to car insurance, finding a policy in Kentucky that fits your needs and budget can be tough. Comparing companies and rates makes things a lot easier.
With QuoteWizard, you can compare quotes from top car insurance companies and discover which one is best for you. All it takes is a few clicks, and you’ll have all the information and help you need!
Last year, 48,698 people used QuoteWizard to compare car insurance quotes in Kentucky from multiple companies.
These are the 10 most common vehicles owned by Kentucky drivers requesting car insurance quotes through QuoteWizard in the past year.
Last year, these were the 10 most common car insurance companies reported by QuoteWizard users living in the state of Kentucky. Out of the 48,698 Kentucky drivers that used QuoteWizard to request insurance quotes last year, 6,105 had no car insurance.
If you drive a vehicle registered in Kentucky, you must maintain a minimum level of insurance coverage of 25/50/10.
This means that any policy must include the following:
Kentucky is one of the 12 US states that have a no-fault insurance system. In no-fault states, accident victims can collect benefits from their insurance companies, regardless of whether the other party is insured. Liability coverage is meant to help pay for other peoples’ medical and repair bills if you're found at fault in a car accident. Personal Injury Protection coverage is intended to pay for your medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who was at fault.
In addition to the coverage above, Kentucky requires drivers to purchase $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection coverage.
Any time you drive in Kentucky, you must be prepared to show your car insurance identification card to law enforcement upon request. You will get this identification card from your car insurance company when you buy a policy. The card must include all of the following:
Driving without proof of insurance will result in a first offense fine of $500-$1,000 and/or up to 90 days in jail. Subsequent offenses within five years can result in a fine of between $1000-$2,500 and/or 180 days in jail.
Kentucky doesn’t require an SR-22 for DWI offenses. However, if you do have an SR-22 from another state and move to Kentucky, you must maintain your SR-22 in the state where it’s required.
Kentucky bans texting while driving. The state also bans drivers under the age of 18 from using cell phones at all while driving. However, there is no ban on cellphone use, even handheld cell phone use, for adult drivers.
Kentucky’s Implied Consent law requires that any driver submit to testing to determine the alcohol or drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when stopped by law enforcement if they reasonably believe that you’ve been driving while intoxicated (DWI). Refuse the test and you’ll face the following penalties in addition to the penalties for a DWI:
If you drive or operate a motor vehicle in the State of Kentucky with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08%, you are guilty of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
The penalties for a first offense DWI conviction are:
The penalties for a second DWI conviction are more severe:
After a third DWI conviction the penalties increase to:
Any driver that's under 21 years of age and caught operating a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher can be cited for a DWI.
For the protection and safety of young passengers, the state of Kentucky requires that:
Kentucky has implemented a 3-tier graduated driver’s license program beginning with a learner’s permit and ending with full driver privileges once all conditions are met.
Young drivers must be 16 years old to get a learner's permit and are required to drive 60 hours under supervision. Ten of those hours must be at night. Once these conditions are satisfied, and the driver has reached at least the age of 16 1/2, they can take the driver’s test. If they pass the test, a provisional license is issued.
Drivers in the provisional license stage cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6 am. In addition, they are forbidden to have more than one passenger in their vehicle under the age of 20, unless they are supervised by an instructor. Drivers obtain their full driving privileges once they complete the above requirements and turn 17.
All drivers are subject to Kentucky’s point system. A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points, or a driver age 18 and over who accumulates 12 points may have their driving privileges suspended.
All Kentucky drivers are required to renew their driver’s licenses every 4 years. Kentucky has no special provisions for senior drivers.
Kentucky requires that all passengers in a moving vehicle age 7 or older above wear seat belts. Children are required to use approved child seats and seat belts as described above. The maximum fine for a first offense is $25.
The average cost of car insurance in Kentucky in 2015 was $801.97, compared to the national average of $889.01, which ranks Kentucky as the 27th most expensive state in the US for car insurance.
As of January 2016, the state gas tax in Kentucky is 26 cents per gallon for gasoline, and 23.00 cents per gallon for diesel. This is in addition to the Federal fuel tax of 18.4 cents per gallon on gasoline, and 24.4 cents per gallon on diesel. The total tax on regular gasoline works out to 44.40 cents per gallon. The total tax on diesel fuel is 47.40 cents per gallon.
The percentage of Kentuckians estimated to be driving without insurance in 2012 was 15.8%. That ranks Kentucky 12th among US states and the District of Columbia, significantly worse than the national average of 12.6%.
In 2014, Kentucky recorded 672 traffic fatalities, a 5% increase from the 638 traffic fatalities in 2013.
In 2014, 6,318 vehicle thefts were reported in Kentucky (143.2 per 100,000 people) which was a 3.8%increase from 2013, which saw 6,069 (137.9 per 100,000 people). The vehicle theft rate of 143.2 per 100,000 people is well below the national average of 216.2 per 100,000 people in 2014.
Some cars are more prone to theft than others, so be sure to check the list below to see if your car is at an elevated risk on the streets.
Source: National Insurance Crime Bureau - Hot Wheels Report 2014
|1||18.1%||Kentucky Farm Bureau|
|5||6.5%||Geico (Berkshire Hathaway)|
|8||2.1%||State Auto Insurance|
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.