Bare Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements by State
Find out if your car insurance policy meets your state's minimum liability coverage requirements. We have the minimum car insurance requirement for each state.
Different states require different minimum amounts of liability coverage. Some states have much higher levels than others. For example, the laws in Maine are much stricter than those in Florida. However, all of them (except for New Hampshire, which doesn’t require liability coverage) include these three basic components:
- Individual Bodily Injury Liability (BIL): This is the most your insurer pays for one person injured in a car accident. It applies only to people named on your policy. State minimums range from $10,000 to $50,000.
- Total Bodily Injury Liability: This is the most your insurance company pays for everyone injured in a car accident. It applies to you and people not named on your policy. State minimums range from $20,000 to $100,000.
- Property Damage Liability (PIL): This is the most your insurance company pays for property damage caused by a car crash. This includes all physical damage such as vehicle damage and damage to road fixtures. So, if you hit a telephone pole or road sign, you’re covered. State minimums range from $5,000 to $25,000.
Each insurer has its own way of calculating rates. That's why it's so vital to compare quotes from multiple companies when shopping for insurance. Doing so is the only way to guarantee that you’re getting the best possible rates.
Is state minimum insurance enough?
Many states’ minimum insurance levels are low, in some cases way too low. Typically, this is because they haven’t been updated in decades. While medical costs and vehicle prices have gone up a lot, state minimum liability coverage often hasn’t kept pace. Raising auto insurance costs by increasing the liability insurance minimums is not a good way to get re-elected. So, this trend isn't going away anytime soon.
That means that it’s important to buy more than the bare minimum liability coverage if you want to be protected. For example, some states only require $5,000 Property Damage Liability. But, most cars are worth much more than that and many car crashes cause far more than $15,000 in damages. The same goes for Bodily Injury Liability requirements. It’s worth paying a bit more for higher coverage. It's better than finding out after an accident that your insurance coverage isn’t enough.
It might sound like a lot, but insurance companies recommend 100/300/100 for most drivers. That means $100,000 and $300,000 in BIL and $100,000 for PIL. With today’s expensive legal and medical costs, paying a little extra for much more protection is a smart decision. It’s one that could save you a huge headache and a lot of cash down the road.
QuoteWizard will connect you with licensed insurance experts who can help you find the lowest rates on the best coverage.
Minimum Liability Car Insurance Levels by State
|District of Columbia||25/50/10|
Get a quote and compare liability auto insurance from multiple companies to find an affordable policy.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.