SR-22 and FR-44 Car Insurance in Florida
Find out about SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida, including why you need it and how much it costs.
Florida drivers who receive a citation for violations like DUI or driving without a license may be required by law to get an SR-22 or FR-44. These filings offer proof of coverage for Florida’s minimum liability insurance requirements. SR-22 and FR-44 forms also allow high-risk drivers to reinstate their license after suspension.
Drivers who file an SR-22 or FR-44 are considered risky to insure, so companies will likely charge you more for a policy. Filing fees are inexpensive (usually around $15), but the severity of the citation means you may pay significantly more for insurance if you must file an SR-22 or FR-44 in Florida. Learn more about filing these policies in this article, including:
SR-22 vs. FR-44 in Florida
SR-22 and FR-44 insurance have similar purposes in Florida. They’re auto insurance policies that serve as endorsements from your car insurance company that you have a policy. These policies were created so that high-risk drivers could maintain the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements. Drivers typically need to file these forms with the DMV in order to reinstate their license.
The difference between SR-22 and FR-44 is that FR-44 is exclusively filed for drivers who are guilty of driving under the influence (DUI). That’s why FR-44 is sometimes referred to as "DUI insurance." SR-22 is meant for high-risk drivers who have other violations on their record (like driving without insurance) and need their license reinstated. Usually, FR-44 insurance results in more expensive rates than SR-22 insurance because of the severity of DUI conviction. Find out more about these policies below.
What is an FR-44 policy?
If you’re cited for a DUI in Florida and your license is suspended or revoked, your insurance company must file an FR-44 with the DMV to reinstate your license. The purpose of an FR-44 is to ensure the state that you carry the minimum auto insurance requirements. In Florida, those minimum requirements are 100/300/50. By filing an FR-44, your insurer is endorsing you. If there are any lapses in coverage, your insurer will notify the state and you will lose your license reinstatement.
Requirements for FR-44 are higher than requirements for SR-22 because of the severity of a DUI/DWI. A DUI/DWI conviction results in stricter consequences (like more expensive rates) than other high-risk driving behavior, like driving without insurance. In Florida, these are the liability requirements for FR-44 insurance:
- $100,000 for injury per person
- $300,000 for injuries per accident
- $50,000 for property damage per accident
How long is an FR-44 required in Florida?
Florida usually requires drivers to carry FR-44 insurance for three years from a conviction. However, the amount of time you need to keep your FR-44 depends on your specific situation. For example, if your DUI was from over three years ago, you may still be required to carry an FR-44 filing.
You must also avoid any lapses in coverage when carrying FR-44 insurance, otherwise your licence reinstatement will be lost and you’ll need to start that time period over again.
What is an SR-22 policy?
If you’re a high-risk driver in Florida, you may be required to purchase SR-22 insurance in order to get your license reinstated. Some reasons you may be considered a high-risk driver include:
- Driving without a valid license and/or insurance
- Being involved in an accident while uninsured
- Having too many points on your record
Because of Florida’s minimum insurance requirements, you need an adequate insurance policy before you can get on the road again. Once you purchase a policy that meets the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements, your insurance company will file an SR-22 with your DMV. These are the state’s minimum liability requirements for SR-22 insurance:
- $10,000 for injury per person
- $20,000 for injuries per accident
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
Your SR-22 offers proof that your insurance meets these minimum requirements. Filing an SR-22 also allows for your license to be reinstated.
How long do you need an SR-22 in Florida?
Similar to an FR-44, how long you need to keep an SR-22 on file depends on your specific situation. Generally, it’s three years, but you must check with your DMV. You must hold the SR-22 for that time period, and if there’s a lapse or cancellation you’ll have to restart the process.
Cost of SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida
The actual cost of filing the forms is a $15 fee, but there’s no additional price tag attached to SR-22 and FR-44 insurance. The expensive side of these policies is the result of your insurer bumping up your rates due to the severity of the driving citation.
If you’re required to get SR-22 or FR-44 insurance, you’ve been cited for a serious violation like a DWI or driving without insurance. Those violations cause insurers to consider you a high-risk driver, which may significantly increase your car insurance rates. This is what drivers with a DUI on their record can expect:
|Average cost of auto insurance (no DUI) per year||Average cost of auto insurance (with DUI) per year|
|Average rates are based on non-binding estimates provided by Quadrant Information Services. Your rates may vary.|
According to our data, a standard car insurance policy in Florida costs an average $3,313 per year. After a DUI, that cost increases to $6,253. That means FL drivers saw an average 89% increase in their car insurance premiums after a DUI citation. Drivers convicted of a DUI will have to file an FR-44 in Florida.
In Florida, there are different restrictions surrounding payment for SR-22 vs. payment for FR-44. You can pay for your SR-22 monthly, but you may have to pay for FR-44 at least six months at a time. However, that restriction may lessen as you renew your policy.
Cheap SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida
Because it’s the traffic violation that causes your rates to skyrocket, the best way to get cheap SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Florida is to shop around for quotes. If your insurance company is charging too much for your budget after a violation, compare companies online to find the best deal. It’s also important to make payments on time so you don’t have to start the process again and continue to pay high rates.
How to get SR-22 and FR-44 insurance without a car
You can purchase a non-owner car insurance policy if you need to file a SR-22 or FR-44 to reinstate your license but don’t own a car. Your insurance company can add these endorsements to a non-owner car insurance policy, which fulfills the requirement to get your license reinstated. A non-owner policy costs significantly less than a standard policy, but only requires liability insurance, not personal injury protection.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.