Rideshare Insurance in California
You need rideshare insurance if you’re a Lyft or Uber driver in California. Here's how much you need and how much it costs.
If you’re an Uber or Lyft driver in California, you have to buy rideshare insurance. Or you have to add a transportation network company (TNC) endorsement to an existing car insurance policy.
You’ll learn why you need a rideshare insurance policy or endorsement in this article. You’ll also find answers to these questions:
- What kind of car insurance do you need as a California rideshare driver?
- How much rideshare coverage do you need in California?
- Which insurance companies cover California Lyft and Uber drivers?
- How much does rideshare insurance cost in California?
What Kind of Car Insurance Do You Need as a Rideshare Driver in California?
You need to carry at least the state minimum amount of auto liability coverage if you drive for Lyft or Uber in California.
That won’t fully protect you if you get into an accident as a California rideshare driver, though. For example, it won’t cover you if you’re injured or if your car is damaged in a crash. It’ll only cover:
- Damage done to another vehicle
- Injuries sustained by the passengers of that vehicle
The same is true of the third-party liability coverage most rideshare companies provide these days.
To be fully protected as an Uber or Lyft driver in California, you need full coverage car insurance. And that means carrying comprehensive and collision as well as liability coverage.
Buying your own comprehensive and collision coverage is a good idea for another reason, too. It lets you access contingent coverage most rideshare companies offer. You must pay a deductible of at least $1,000 to take advantage of it, but it could be a lifesaver if you’re ever in a serious accident.
How Much Rideshare Insurance Do You Need in California?
California law says you need a personal or commercial car insurance policy that provides at least this much coverage when you’re not logged in to a rideshare app:
- $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $5,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident
And when you’re logged in to a rideshare app but waiting for a ride request (this is usually called period one), California state law says you need at least:
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $30,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident
Also, you need at least $1 million of bodily injury and property damage liability coverage during periods two and three. Period two begins when you receive a ride request. Period three begins when a passenger gets in your car and ends when you drop them at their destination.
Don’t worry if your rideshare policy or endorsement doesn’t meet California’s coverage requirements for periods one, two, and three. State law says companies like Lyft and Uber must provide it for you. It also says they must provide $200,000 of excess liability coverage for especially bad accidents.
Which Insurance Companies Cover Rideshare Drivers in California?
A number of companies now offer rideshare insurance policies in California.
California rideshare insurance companies and rates
|Allstate||$20 / year|
|Esurance||Get a quote|
|Farmers (as Foremost)||$15 / month|
|MetLife||Cost per mile|
|Mercury||$.20 / day|
|State Farm||$20 / month|
|USAA||$6 / month|
A few companies that offer rideshare insurance policies in other states don’t do so in California, sadly. GEICO and Progressive are two examples.
You should be able to find rideshare-friendly coverage in California if you look hard enough for it, though. Shop around and compare quotes from several insurance companies to get the best rates.
What if I can’t find Lyft or Uber car insurance in my area?
Can't find car insurance that covers you as a California rideshare driver? Consider buying a commercial policy.
Before you go this route, though, talk it over with an agent. Make sure you’re clear how and when the policy will and won’t cover you while driving for Lyft, Uber, or another company.
How Much is Rideshare Insurance in California?
California rideshare insurance rates average about $10 per month based on available estimates.
For example, our own research found that Allstate, Mercury, and USAA offer the best rates on rideshare coverage in California. Allstate’s costs as little as $2 a month.
You’ll pay more than that if you buy coverage from Farmers or State Farm. Farmers charges around $15 per month for a rideshare-friendly policy. State Farm charges around $20 per month.
Keep in mind these are estimated costs. You may pay more or less than the amounts listed above. What you pay for rideshare insurance depends on several factors, including:
- Where you buy it
- Your vehicle’s make and model
- Your driving record
- Your age
- Where you live
Want to find the cheapest rideshare insurance in California? Compare rideshare auto insurance quotes from multiple providers.
QuoteWizard.com LLC has made every effort to ensure that the information on this site is correct, but we cannot guarantee that it is free of inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. All content and services provided on or through this site are provided "as is" and "as available" for use. QuoteWizard.com LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the operation of this site or to the information, content, materials, or products included on this site. You expressly agree that your use of this site is at your sole risk.